Jump to content


High Sierra vs Bootcamp Partition


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3303 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 26 September 2017 - 08:00 AM

Has anyone had any issues with their boot camp partition after upgrading to High Sierra? I installed the High Sierra beta on my MacBook a few months ago and it totally frakked my Bootcamp partition. Was getting driver errors, registry errors, etc. I then wiped the whole computer and went to regular Sierra and re-installed Bootcamp.

Have people's upgrades been going smoothly? I assume it was just a beta issue, but I rely on my boot camp partition a great deal, so would like minimal downtime.
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#2 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6095 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 27 September 2017 - 12:14 PM

I'm upgrading today and rely on my Bootcamp partition as well, so I'll let you know how it goes.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#3 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6095 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 29 September 2017 - 08:25 PM

Update: Zero issues here booting natively into Bootcamp. Installed latest Bootcamp software, plus NVIDIA and Logitech drivers and a Windows update, and still no trouble. Next I'll give VMware Fusion 10 a try since I just upgraded my license from Fusion 8.

Update 2: Spoke too soon. Installed another Windows update and now when I use the restart in Mac OS utility, it informs me it can't locate the Mac boot volume. FFS. So, have to go back to MacOS by holding option on restart.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#4 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1442 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 30 September 2017 - 07:33 PM

Is this because you formatted to APFS?
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#5 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8102 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 01 October 2017 - 12:15 AM

View PostUmarOMC1, on 30 September 2017 - 07:33 PM, said:

Is this because you formatted to APFS?
As the same problem seems to rear its ugly head randomly every time Apple releases a major OS X/macOS update, I don't think there's a connection. I had the problem when Mavericks was released, and if I recall correctly, tBC had it with either 10.10 or 10.11.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#6 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1442 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 01 October 2017 - 01:33 PM

Being that my video card isn't flashed, if I get stuck in that situation it'll require my swapping in my backup GTX680 to see anything before the login screen. :glare: I'm going to have to really in the mood for some Far Cry 3 or Skyrim time.
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#7 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6095 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 01 October 2017 - 07:04 PM

View PostUmarOMC1, on 30 September 2017 - 07:33 PM, said:

Is this because you formatted to APFS?

Unless I missed something, there's no option not to switch to APFS if you're on a SSD (I am).

View PostJanichsan, on 01 October 2017 - 12:15 AM, said:

As the same problem seems to rear its ugly head randomly every time Apple releases a major OS X/macOS update, I don't think there's a connection. I had the problem when Mavericks was released, and if I recall correctly, tBC had it with either 10.10 or 10.11.

It appears this applies to everybody this time: https://support.appl.../en-us/HT208123

VMware Fusion 10 also can't start off my Bootcamp partition now. Ugh.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#8 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8102 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 02 October 2017 - 11:33 AM

View PostFrost, on 01 October 2017 - 07:04 PM, said:

Unless I missed something, there's no option not to switch to APFS if you're on a SSD (I am).
No, you missed nothing: the switch to APFS is obligatory on SSDs.

Quote

It appears this applies to everybody this time: https://support.appl.../en-us/HT208123

VMware Fusion 10 also can't start off my Bootcamp partition now. Ugh.
*sigh* Apple really liked to mess up things recently.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#9 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 837 posts

Posted 02 October 2017 - 12:33 PM

I don't use bootcamp myself (so my boot SSD changing to APFS hasn't really mattered) but I was reading many posts during the betas about how there is no way for Windows to recognise the presence of an APFS disk so booting back to MacOS from within the OS isn't possible at this time.

The best solution at the moment would probably be to install High Sierra, make a clone on another disk, erase the disk (it must be an SSD as mechanical disks aren't changed during installation anyway) - and reformat it as HFS+ and clone back.

HFS+ support won't be disappearing anytime soon so you can get the other improvements without using the new file system.
Mac Pro 09 (now a 5.1, 2 x 3.06GHz Xeon X5675, 24GB, RX580 8GB, 480SSD, 16TB HD, MacOS 10.13.1

#10 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8102 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 03 October 2017 - 10:44 AM

View PostFrost, on 01 October 2017 - 07:04 PM, said:

VMware Fusion 10 also can't start off my Bootcamp partition now. Ugh.
By the way, I found that there's a fix for that.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"