Jump to content


Use External GPU on Mac Mini 2014


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 the_eli_porter

the_eli_porter

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 25 July 2017 - 11:05 PM

Hey, I was wondering if there I any way to use a external GPU on Mac Mini 2014? Will the Alien ware Graphics Amplifier work on the Mac Mini even though the Mac Mini uses Thunderbolt 2? I have never seen any one connect a external GPU to mac so I'm just curious. If you know if it'll work please let me know!

#2 Cougar

Cougar

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1372 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 26 July 2017 - 11:35 AM

You can't use Alienware's amplifier because it's proprietary, but you can use Thunderbolt 2 eGPUs. See this thread: http://www.insidemac...showtopic=48364

Next year Apple will be providing official support for eGPUs with High Sierra.

#3 ozzy

ozzy

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 432 posts
  • Steam Name:ozzy
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 27 July 2017 - 01:15 AM

Check out the forums and implementation guides on https://egpu.io/.  Short answer is you definitely can, but what eGPU enclosures work with your Mac Mini model and which graphics cards and how easy it is to do in OS X vs. Windows will depend on your specific Mac Mini model, so you should check out what others have done. High Sierra will have official support, but it's not clear yet whether that will extend back to Thunderbolt 1/2 models (which work unofficially now) or whether that will include nVidia graphics cards.

For reference, I'm using an Akitio Node Thunderbolt 3 enclosure, with an Apple Thunderbolt 3 to 1 adaptor, and an nVidia 1070 on my Thunderbolt 1 2012 Macbook Pro Retina. OS X was super easy to setup for me, Windows was a bit of a pain in the ass (mainly due to the internal nVidia 650m card).

#4 ikir

ikir

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 875 posts
  • Steam Name:ikir
  • Location:In front of my Mac

Posted 28 July 2017 - 04:44 AM

I used a Mac mini + eGPU for all 2016. Incredible setup.
Now with High Sierrait is just plug and play. I suggest you to buy an Akitio Node or Mantiz Venus
over www.egpu.io you will find all the info (Italian users check www.egpu.it)

This was taken on my mini https://youtu.be/fxkGXexyrTw

Now my setup is 2016 MacBook Pro 13" with Mantiz Venus and Radeon RX 580 https://youtu.be/A5WQ5OXLkRA

ikir's personal page
MacBook Pro 13" 2016 i5 2,9Ghz - 8GB RAM - 512GB SSD
Thunderbolt 3 eGPU Radeon Nitro+ RX 480 4GB
LG 34UM95 Ultrawide Thunderbolt
Steelseries Rival 300, Steelseries Siberia v3Prism, Logitech K811

#5 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3815 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 28 July 2017 - 10:59 AM

Is that Youtube compression, or are you really playing games at 5 fps? O_o
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#6 ikir

ikir

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 875 posts
  • Steam Name:ikir
  • Location:In front of my Mac

Posted 28 July 2017 - 05:27 PM

View PostThain Esh Kelch, on 28 July 2017 - 10:59 AM, said:

Is that Youtube compression, or are you really playing games at 5 fps? O_o
Do you mean the old Bioshock video? It was in 4K with screen recording and max settings. If I remember correctly it was 40-50fps with the integrated HD4000 it was really running at 5fps with these settings.
It was an hack not ideal performance
ikir's personal page
MacBook Pro 13" 2016 i5 2,9Ghz - 8GB RAM - 512GB SSD
Thunderbolt 3 eGPU Radeon Nitro+ RX 480 4GB
LG 34UM95 Ultrawide Thunderbolt
Steelseries Rival 300, Steelseries Siberia v3Prism, Logitech K811

#7 mindnoise

mindnoise

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 699 posts
  • Steam ID:Exploding-Bob
  • Location:Delusive-Ville

Posted 26 August 2017 - 05:11 AM

Anyone checked out the Sonnettech eGPU box?

this seem pretty rad and compatible with Mac and Win and lots of gfx-cards

http://www.sonnettec...akaway-box.html
hey, don´t worry - it´s only red pixels on your hands...

8 - iPhone SE, 16GB
7- iPad Pro 12.9", WiFi 128GB
6- MacMini 7,1: i5@2.6GHZ, 8GB, Intel Iris (5100)
5- iPad Air, 16Gb
4- MacBook Pro 8,1:  i5@2.3GHz, intel HD3000, 8GB RAM
3- iPad 2, 16GB
2- iPod Touch 4G, 8GB
1- MacBook 1,1, 1,83GHz, intel GMA950, 2GB RAM
-> The (nearly) ultimate intel HD 3000 gaming performance sheet <-

#8 Cougar

Cougar

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1372 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 26 August 2017 - 11:44 AM

View Postmindnoise, on 26 August 2017 - 05:11 AM, said:

Anyone checked out the Sonnettech eGPU box?

this seem pretty rad and compatible with Mac and Win and lots of gfx-cards

http://www.sonnettec...akaway-box.html

That's the same box Apple is selling developers.

#9 mindnoise

mindnoise

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 699 posts
  • Steam ID:Exploding-Bob
  • Location:Delusive-Ville

Posted 27 August 2017 - 06:58 AM

cool didn't know that but Sonnettech never let me down :)
hey, don´t worry - it´s only red pixels on your hands...

8 - iPhone SE, 16GB
7- iPad Pro 12.9", WiFi 128GB
6- MacMini 7,1: i5@2.6GHZ, 8GB, Intel Iris (5100)
5- iPad Air, 16Gb
4- MacBook Pro 8,1:  i5@2.3GHz, intel HD3000, 8GB RAM
3- iPad 2, 16GB
2- iPod Touch 4G, 8GB
1- MacBook 1,1, 1,83GHz, intel GMA950, 2GB RAM
-> The (nearly) ultimate intel HD 3000 gaming performance sheet <-

#10 BifBologna

BifBologna

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 356 posts
  • Location:Vista, CA

Posted 27 August 2017 - 11:08 AM

Slightly off topic, but related...

Is there a way that you could use an eGPU to share a video card between two computers without having to physically swap a cable connection?

#11 edddeduck

edddeduck

    Feral Interactive

  • Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1230 posts
  • Location:London, England, UK

Posted 25 September 2017 - 08:00 AM

View PostBifBologna, on 27 August 2017 - 11:08 AM, said:

Slightly off topic, but related...

Is there a way that you could use an eGPU to share a video card between two computers without having to physically swap a cable connection?

Nope you'll need to plug them into one machine only. This isn't something you can share between machines.