Jump to content


The New Titan Is Here – NVIDIA TITAN Xp—Native Mac Drivers in tow!

nvidia titan titan xp mac drivers pascal expensive gpu

  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1434 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 06 April 2017 - 11:31 AM

More Extreme in Every Way: The New Titan Is Here – NVIDIA TITAN Xp

...

Open to Mac Community

Speaking of users, we’re also making the new TITAN Xp open to the Mac community with new Pascal drivers, coming this month. For the first time, this gives Mac users access to the immense horsepower delivered by our award-winning Pascal-powered GPUs.
TITAN Xp is available now for $1,200 direct from nvidia.com, and select system builders soon.
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#2 Tetsuya

Tetsuya

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2172 posts
  • Location:MI

Posted 06 April 2017 - 11:49 AM

.... so in 2018 there will actually be a Mac  that we can put it in...

#3 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3299 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 06 April 2017 - 11:59 AM

eGPU would work I guess, although it would severely bottleneck the card
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#4 devSin

devSin

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 394 posts

Posted 06 April 2017 - 01:09 PM

They don't specifically market it for Macs, but what they are saying is that they're releasing Pascal drivers this month.

Theoretically, that means we can finally use any 10x0-series cards and have them supported (a la Maxwell) when running macOS.

#5 Cougar

Cougar

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1364 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 06 April 2017 - 01:58 PM

View PostTetsuya, on 06 April 2017 - 11:49 AM, said:

.... so in 2018 there will actually be a Mac  that we can put it in...

I'm putting my money on 2019.

View PostdevSin, on 06 April 2017 - 01:09 PM, said:

They don't specifically market it for Macs, but what they are saying is that they're releasing Pascal drivers this month.

Theoretically, that means we can finally use any 10x0-series cards and have them supported (a la Maxwell) when running macOS.

Yes, 9to5Mac specifically asked them this, and any Pascal card will work.

#6 Tetsuya

Tetsuya

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2172 posts
  • Location:MI

Posted 06 April 2017 - 02:19 PM

I mean, it's great news for anyone who wants to build a Hackintosh, i guess.

#7 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1434 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 06 April 2017 - 02:36 PM

You better believe I'm going to try to slap a Pascal card in my MacPro, I'll let you know if I need a new power supply.
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#8 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3299 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 06 April 2017 - 02:45 PM

You shouldn't need a new power supply for a Pascal GPU. It is an extremely efficient architecture. The GTX 1080 probably uses less power then your 970 currently does.
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#9 devSin

devSin

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 394 posts

Posted 06 April 2017 - 04:37 PM

View PostSneaky Snake, on 06 April 2017 - 02:45 PM, said:

You shouldn't need a new power supply for a Pascal GPU. It is an extremely efficient architecture. The GTX 1080 probably uses less power then your 970 currently does.
The problem is that they switched from 2 6-pin connectors (a common 970 configuration) to single 8-pin.

But the 1060 has a single 6-pin connector and is probably faster than the 970 (and cheaper, with more RAM).

#10 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1434 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 06 April 2017 - 04:52 PM

View PostdevSin, on 06 April 2017 - 04:37 PM, said:

The problem is that they switched from 2 6-pin connectors (a common 970 configuration) to single 8-pin.

But the 1060 has a single 6-pin connector and is probably faster than the 970 (and cheaper, with more RAM).
My 970 has both a 6-pin and 8-pin but a 6 to 8 pin adapter that came with the card works fine (I thought I was going to need to buy the adapter before the card arrived).
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#11 AussieMacGamer

AussieMacGamer

    Owner, 2nd Largest Topic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3087 posts

Posted 06 April 2017 - 05:38 PM

View PostTetsuya, on 06 April 2017 - 11:49 AM, said:

.... so in 2018 there will actually be a Mac  that we can put it in...

There might be a Mac we can put it in. No one ever said user accessible PCI-e slots hahaha

Quote

we told the team to take the time to do something really great. To do something that can be supported for a long time with customers with updates and upgrades throughout the years.
It's anyones guess as to how that plays out...

IMG Resident Crackpot
"What you need is a dog or a girlfriend, or both, or one in the same!" -Gary Simmons Aka. The Battle Cat
15" Macbook Pro C2D 2.16Ghz ATI X1600 3Gb Ram w/Samsung 840 SSD R.I.P

2015 Mbp 13", 256gb SSD

Windows popsnizzlebox with a 5400rpm HD and a GTX 1060

Now Playing: Player Unknown's Battlegrounds/CS:GO/Rising Storm 2/The Witcher 3 Blood and Wine/Shenmue 1


#12 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3299 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 06 April 2017 - 08:07 PM

View PostdevSin, on 06 April 2017 - 04:37 PM, said:

The problem is that they switched from 2 6-pin connectors (a common 970 configuration) to single 8-pin.

But the 1060 has a single 6-pin connector and is probably faster than the 970 (and cheaper, with more RAM).

The 1060 is slightly faster than the 970, but definitely not enough to worth spending money on it. Just save a little more and get at least the 1070
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#13 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1434 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 07 April 2017 - 12:22 AM

View PostSneaky Snake, on 06 April 2017 - 08:07 PM, said:

The 1060 is slightly faster than the 970, but definitely not enough to worth spending money on it. Just save a little more and get at least the 1070
Agreed. If I find the Pascal cards' drivers allow full boot screen, etc. I'd go for a 1060, but [honestly] it's going to be 1080 or bust. All the strides are being made in the GPU department. Playing the latest games on an eight year old computer eight years ago would be unthinkable.
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#14 AussieMacGamer

AussieMacGamer

    Owner, 2nd Largest Topic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3087 posts

Posted 07 April 2017 - 01:28 AM

View PostSneaky Snake, on 06 April 2017 - 08:07 PM, said:

The 1060 is slightly faster than the 970, but definitely not enough to worth spending money on it. Just save a little more and get at least the 1070

I want to find a 970 to put in this friends old PC I've been commandeering but they retain their value pretty well compared to AMD cards which is a bummer for my wallet

View PostSneaky Snake, on 06 April 2017 - 11:59 AM, said:

eGPU would work I guess, although it would severely bottleneck the card

From the perspective of someone wanting to do video on a really GPU limited computer it's still an attractive proposition irrespective of the bottleneck. It's just a shame the enclosures are still quite expensive, time will tell I suppose.

IMG Resident Crackpot
"What you need is a dog or a girlfriend, or both, or one in the same!" -Gary Simmons Aka. The Battle Cat
15" Macbook Pro C2D 2.16Ghz ATI X1600 3Gb Ram w/Samsung 840 SSD R.I.P

2015 Mbp 13", 256gb SSD

Windows popsnizzlebox with a 5400rpm HD and a GTX 1060

Now Playing: Player Unknown's Battlegrounds/CS:GO/Rising Storm 2/The Witcher 3 Blood and Wine/Shenmue 1


#15 ikir

ikir

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 875 posts
  • Steam Name:ikir
  • Location:In front of my Mac

Posted 07 April 2017 - 09:54 AM

View PostTetsuya, on 06 April 2017 - 11:49 AM, said:

.... so in 2018 there will actually be a Mac  that we can put it in...
You can do it already with eGPU! I've already ordered my 1070 to replace my 780ti in my MacBook Pro 2016
ikir's personal page
MacBook Pro 13" 2016 i5 2,9Ghz - 8GB RAM - 512GB SSD
Thunderbolt 3 eGPU Radeon Nitro+ RX 480 4GB
LG 34UM95 Ultrawide Thunderbolt
Steelseries Rival 300, Steelseries Siberia v3Prism, Logitech K811

#16 Camper-Hunter

Camper-Hunter

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 329 posts
  • Steam Name:Rorqual
  • Steam ID:Rorqual
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted 07 April 2017 - 12:51 PM

View PostUmarOMC1, on 07 April 2017 - 12:22 AM, said:

If I find the Pascal cards' drivers allow full boot screen,

That can't technically happen only with a driver. You must flash the card's firmware. So, not gonna happen, at least not directly from NVIDIA.

#17 devSin

devSin

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 394 posts

Posted 07 April 2017 - 01:07 PM

View PostUmarOMC1, on 06 April 2017 - 04:52 PM, said:

My 970 has both a 6-pin and 8-pin but a 6 to 8 pin adapter that came with the card works fine (I thought I was going to need to buy the adapter before the card arrived).
90% of the time, I think that would probably be fine.

My worry would be that at least some models route power through the motherboard (5,1 does). The connectors can actually handle the full 150W, but I don't know about the board (given that some people have been able to trigger emergency shutdowns, it seems like the tolerance is somewhere in between).

View PostSneaky Snake, on 06 April 2017 - 08:07 PM, said:

The 1060 is slightly faster than the 970, but definitely not enough to worth spending money on it. Just save a little more and get at least the 1070
The point was just that there are options that aren't completely terrible (a faster 970 with more RAM at half the price) for somebody who doesn't want to gamble with adapters (or try to rig up external power). (I'd personally get a 1070 and try to look for one that comes with a combiner.)

#18 Camper-Hunter

Camper-Hunter

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 329 posts
  • Steam Name:Rorqual
  • Steam ID:Rorqual
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted 07 April 2017 - 01:47 PM

devSin, I used a KFA2/Galax 1070 EX in a Mac Pro 4,1 for a few months without issues. Just buy a 6 to 8 pin adapter and two PCIe cables suited for the Mac's motherboard connector.

#19 Tetsuya

Tetsuya

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2172 posts
  • Location:MI

Posted 07 April 2017 - 06:02 PM

View PostdevSin, on 07 April 2017 - 01:07 PM, said:

90% of the time, I think that would probably be fine.

My worry would be that at least some models route power through the motherboard (5,1 does). The connectors can actually handle the full 150W, but I don't know about the board (given that some people have been able to trigger emergency shutdowns, it seems like the tolerance is somewhere in between).

The point was just that there are options that aren't completely terrible (a faster 970 with more RAM at half the price) for somebody who doesn't want to gamble with adapters (or try to rig up external power). (I'd personally get a 1070 and try to look for one that comes with a combiner.)

I wouldnt worry about it.  The draw on a 1070 is only 150W at full load, and it can get 75W of that through the PCIe bus.  Youll be fine.

#20 devSin

devSin

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 394 posts

Posted 07 April 2017 - 06:28 PM

View PostTetsuya, on 07 April 2017 - 06:02 PM, said:

I wouldnt worry about it.  The draw on a 1070 is only 150W at full load, and it can get 75W of that through the PCIe bus.
Assuming even power draw, which is rarely the case (a lot of cards will only sip from PCI-E and draw most their power from the aux connectors).

View PostTetsuya, on 07 April 2017 - 06:02 PM, said:

Youll be fine.
I'm not in the market for a GPU (if I were, I would just aim for something with a 2x6 to 8 combiner).

We're just talking about Pascal drivers being a good thing for everyone (no Hackintosh or external power supply required).





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: nvidia, titan, titan xp, mac drivers, pascal, expensive, gpu