Jump to content


Stellaris released today!


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 dojoboy

dojoboy

    DJJ is the greatest!

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3449 posts
  • Steam ID:dojoboy65
  • Location:Tanasi (USA)
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 09 May 2016 - 07:19 AM

Paradox Interactive's grand strategy game, Stellaris, set in space is released today. I'm here at work stuck behind the firewall.  :angry:  Would love to fire it up during lunch.
"There is no end to sorrow."  ---Van Gogh

#2 nick68k

nick68k

    Notorious

  • IMG Writers
  • 245 posts
  • Location:Not here. But close.

Posted 09 May 2016 - 10:48 AM

My calm and considered reply to this is oh boy oh boy oh boy :w00t: :teehee:
You must gather your party before venturing forth.

#3 Spike

Spike

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas, NV

Posted 09 May 2016 - 01:01 PM

Yay. (then reads that it requires steam and all excitement turns to disappointment).

#4 Cougar

Cougar

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1354 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 09 May 2016 - 01:38 PM

This game looks amazing, but I am going to hold off for a couple of years. Wait for the torrent of DLC that will inevitably vastly improve the game. Hell, I still have yet to start EU4.

View PostSpike, on 09 May 2016 - 01:01 PM, said:

Yay. (then reads that it requires steam and all excitement turns to disappointment).

Not sure if this is applicable to Stellaris, but it is possible to run EU4 without Steam.

#5 clocknova

clocknova

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 998 posts
  • Location:Charleston, SC

Posted 09 May 2016 - 03:08 PM

I don't think I can wait four or five years for the "complete" edition with all the DLC for a reasonable price, but can someone buy this and let us know if it can be run without Steam?  If not, then I'll wait four or five years for the DRM-free GOG edition.
There they were, sitting in the van with all those dials, and the cat was dead.
-V. Marchetti, CIA

#6 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2028 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 10 May 2016 - 06:01 AM

Am need moar time.
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#7 dojoboy

dojoboy

    DJJ is the greatest!

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3449 posts
  • Steam ID:dojoboy65
  • Location:Tanasi (USA)
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 10 May 2016 - 08:57 AM

I played it for three hours last night, which is HUGE, since I'm married with children. Very impressed thus far. I do fear that exploration (surveying systems) may become tedious.
"There is no end to sorrow."  ---Van Gogh

#8 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17376 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 10 May 2016 - 09:24 AM

View Postdojoboy, on 10 May 2016 - 08:57 AM, said:

I played it for three hours last night, which is HUGE, since I'm married with children.

Posted Image
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#9 nick68k

nick68k

    Notorious

  • IMG Writers
  • 245 posts
  • Location:Not here. But close.

Posted 10 May 2016 - 12:08 PM

View Postdojoboy, on 10 May 2016 - 08:57 AM, said:

I played it for three hours last night, which is HUGE, since I'm married with children. Very impressed thus far. I do fear that exploration (surveying systems) may become tedious.

From reading the early reviews the picture I'm getting is; amazing start, tedious mid-game, average to good endgame.
You must gather your party before venturing forth.

#10 DirtyHarry50

DirtyHarry50

    Special Snowflake

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1515 posts
  • Steam Name:DirtyHarry
  • Steam ID:dirtyharry2
  • Location:North Carolina, USA

Posted 10 May 2016 - 12:20 PM

View Postthe Battle Cat, on 10 May 2016 - 09:24 AM, said:

Posted Image

Al Bundy is the man!
“The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.” — Bertrand Russell

#11 clocknova

clocknova

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 998 posts
  • Location:Charleston, SC

Posted 10 May 2016 - 02:07 PM

Soooooooo. . .  can it be run without launching Steam, or what?
There they were, sitting in the van with all those dials, and the cat was dead.
-V. Marchetti, CIA

#12 dojoboy

dojoboy

    DJJ is the greatest!

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3449 posts
  • Steam ID:dojoboy65
  • Location:Tanasi (USA)
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 11 May 2016 - 09:13 PM

View Postclocknova, on 10 May 2016 - 02:07 PM, said:

Soooooooo. . .  can it be run without launching Steam, or what?

Don't know. Happy to check, but I installed through Steam. Would I be able to check for this?
"There is no end to sorrow."  ---Van Gogh

#13 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3780 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 11 May 2016 - 11:53 PM

Reviews are so-so as far as I can see, but game looks interesting.
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#14 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8075 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 12 May 2016 - 12:42 AM

View Postdojoboy, on 11 May 2016 - 09:13 PM, said:

Don't know. Happy to check, but I installed through Steam. Would I be able to check for this?
Just dig through the SteamApps folder (~/Library/Application Support/Steam/SteamApps/common/), locate the application itself and try to run it. That definitely works for many previous Paradox games.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#15 dojoboy

dojoboy

    DJJ is the greatest!

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3449 posts
  • Steam ID:dojoboy65
  • Location:Tanasi (USA)
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 12 May 2016 - 03:42 AM

View PostJanichsan, on 12 May 2016 - 12:42 AM, said:

Just dig through the SteamApps folder (~/Library/Application Support/Steam/SteamApps/common/), locate the application itself and try to run it. That definitely works for many previous Paradox games.

Yep, it fired up. No message saying "this game requires...". I had initially loooked in the wrong place for the executable.
"There is no end to sorrow."  ---Van Gogh

#16 dojoboy

dojoboy

    DJJ is the greatest!

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3449 posts
  • Steam ID:dojoboy65
  • Location:Tanasi (USA)
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 12 May 2016 - 03:50 AM

View PostThain Esh Kelch, on 11 May 2016 - 11:53 PM, said:

Reviews are so-so as far as I can see, but game looks interesting.

Stop watching mainstream news outlets!!!

That said, I've got three different games going atm. Each is a different size universe: tiny, small, and medium. I'm finding the one in the tiny universe to be more interesting. Might need an option to automate system surveys in larger universes.
"There is no end to sorrow."  ---Van Gogh