Jump to content


Freedom Force for Mac works on an iMac G3 600Mhz running MacOSX 10.4.11 Tiger!


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 mlvaliant

mlvaliant

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Location:CA

Posted 10 December 2015 - 02:14 AM

I just set up my iMac G3 SE 600Mhz, 1GB RAM, Rage 128 Pro Ultra 16MB VRAM,

running MacOSX 10.4.11 & MacOS9.2.2.

And I reinstalled my old games.

Freedom Force by MacPlay states that it requires a PowerMac G4 400Mhz an a 32MB Radeon or  Nvidia GeForce 2MX GPU, 192MB RAM, running Mac OS X 10.1 Puma.

But the game loads and plays fine on my iMac G3!

I wonder if it is because I am on Mac OS X 10.4.11 Tiger, which is faster that MacOSX 10.1 Puma, which is slower and because i have 1GB vs the 192MB RAM requirement.

Going to enjoy me retro gaming Mac!
----------
My Systems:
Mac mini: Quad Core i7 Ivy Bridge 2.3Ghz w/ HyperThreading, Mac OSX 10.10, 16GB RAM, Intel 4000 HD, 1TB HD, 2TB External HD (HFS+), 1TB External HD (NTFS)), Samsung USB 2 External Blu-Ray burner, External USB 2 DVD Writer

MacBook Pro 15.4": Quad Core i7 Ivy Bridge 2.3 GHz w/ Hyperthreading, Mac OSX 10.9.5, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GT 650 512MB, SuperDrive, Windows 8.1 Pro, 500GB HD

iPad 2: A5 dual core CPU, 16GB, iOS 8.1

#2 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3779 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 10 December 2015 - 05:20 AM

A 600 Mhz G3 is way faster than a 400 Mhz G4. The early G4s only had an FPU advantage over the G3s.
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#3 Camper-Hunter

Camper-Hunter

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Steam Name:Rorqual
  • Steam ID:Rorqual
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted 10 December 2015 - 07:45 AM

View PostThain Esh Kelch, on 10 December 2015 - 05:20 AM, said:

The early G4s only had an FPU advantage over the G3s.
And Altivec, which is also of no interest for games.

#4 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8075 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 10 December 2015 - 11:57 AM

View PostCamper-Hunter, on 10 December 2015 - 07:45 AM, said:


And Altivec, which is also of no interest for games.
Not for many. There were some that used it (e.g. Quake 3).

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#5 Matt Diamond

Matt Diamond

    Master Blaster

  • IMG Writers
  • 2452 posts
  • Location:Holland, PA; US
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 11 December 2015 - 10:37 PM

I was just thinking about FF last month for some reason. I wouldn't mind a remake of that one-- seems like the audience for a superhero-themed RTS or RPG would be pretty good these days, especially if it used a Marvel license (although I think rolling your own superhero would be more interesting, game-wise, than relying solely on the licensed characters.)
Matt Diamond - www.mindthecube.com
Measure twice, cut once, curse three or four times.