Jump to content


Quick Question on TES IV


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Marshall H

Marshall H

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 24 November 2015 - 12:44 AM

Quick question, using boot camp, will I be able to run TES IV: Oblivion on my Mac mini? 8 GB ram, 2.6 GHz, 1 TB Hard drive specs

#2 Jan

Jan

    Legendary

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 822 posts
  • Steam Name:Jan
  • Steam ID:janfeld
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 24 November 2015 - 05:28 AM

You might not even need Windows at all: Oblivion should run pretty well in a Wineskin wrapper or using CrossOver -- even on a Mac mini. I suppose you've got a 2012 quad core model with an Intel HD 4000. That's not exactly a graphical powerhouse, but it should be sufficient to play Oblivion on medium settings.
Feral Account: Jan

MacBook 12" with Retina Display (Early 2015)
Core M 1,2 GHz | 8 GB RAM | 512 GB Flash
Intel HD5300 1536 MB VRAM
macOS Sierra

Now playing: Mad Max, Zelda: Breath of the Wild, Ultra Street Fighter II, Mario Kart 8 Deluxe

#3 Cougar

Cougar

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1354 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 24 November 2015 - 09:09 AM

I've done it in wineskin with a 320M, so a HD 4000 should definitely work.

#4 Marshall H

Marshall H

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 24 November 2015 - 11:48 AM

That's good news, I'm glad I won't need to pay for Windows then. Thanks guys!


#5 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3299 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 25 November 2015 - 07:51 AM

It's an amazing game. Enjoy!
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#6 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4265 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 25 November 2015 - 08:12 AM

Dont forget to at a minimum grab the Official Unofficial Patch kit for that game off the tes nexus. It fixes about a thousand bugs in the base game... community made, but is one of those 'essentials'.

Any other modding beyond that is simply at your own peril ;) You can lose many sleepless nights modding that game to no end!

I believe the mods work with the wrapping? One of the gurus here will know for shur...

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#7 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8076 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 26 November 2015 - 06:00 AM

View PostFrigidman™, on 25 November 2015 - 08:12 AM, said:

I believe the mods work with the wrapping? One of the gurus here will know for shur...
That's normally no problem. You just run the mod installer in the corresponding CrossOver bottle or WineSkin wrapper.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"