Jump to content


WTF is wrong with 10.9.5 and drag n drop multiple files?


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4265 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 06 August 2015 - 08:28 AM

So, lemme explain...

I remotely use machines, and one is a 10.9.5 machine (I would never install that on my personal machine), and I have to do a lot of drag n drop of stuff around. One such operation is grabbing two files, and dragging them onto a drop uploader. However, repeatedly, and sporadically, only one file seems to 'drop', despite the OS showing (2) and they are clearly grayed dragging underneath the cursor.

This happens with Transmit, and Interarchy, and different versions of those... so it doesn't seem to be isolated to the program being used.

I'm wondering:

WTF is OS 10.9.5's problem?
-or-
Are the droppers of programs all using the same sort of mechanism, that is just busted under 10.9.5?

I NEVER HAVE THIS PROBLEM ON 10.6.8 machines!

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#2 Hansi

Hansi

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1785 posts
  • Steam ID:hansroberth
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 06 August 2015 - 12:00 PM

I never have this issue on 10.9.5, I assume a botched install or remote desktop may be at fault here.

#3 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4265 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 06 August 2015 - 01:46 PM

Hmm. Ok. Hopefully thats the case. It shur is odd! (annoying as hell). If its not a widespread 'know issue with 10.9', then I guess we can ignore this ranthread.

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#4 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3299 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 06 August 2015 - 02:23 PM

I've never experienced this issue either, although I am using 10.10.
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#5 Hansi

Hansi

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1785 posts
  • Steam ID:hansroberth
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 06 August 2015 - 03:00 PM

Well then it could be a 10.9.5 issue since 10.10 could have fixed it but for reference I've been running 10.9.5 without updates since it was released.

#6 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3299 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 06 August 2015 - 03:32 PM

Out of curiosity, what makes you choose 10.9.5 over 10.10.x ? I understand users staying with Snow Leopard, but staying with Mavericks over Yosemite is not immediately obvious as to why for me.
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#7 Hansi

Hansi

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1785 posts
  • Steam ID:hansroberth
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 06 August 2015 - 04:03 PM

10.10.0 and 10.10.1 both had bugs with stuff I used, then I'd waited so long I wanted the DNS issue to be resolved which wasn't till 10.10.4 so now I'm okay to update but just haven't bothered because I can't think of one thing that I require from 10.10, maybe I'll just wait for a stable 10.11.x...

#8 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4265 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 06 August 2015 - 04:44 PM

Maybe cause 10.10 is ugly spacing wasting hell vs 10.9? :)

Personally I prefer my 10.6.8 mac, but I gotta also use these other versions for various other situations.

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#9 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2029 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 06 August 2015 - 05:05 PM

I'm old. I'm crotchety. I want my buggy whip. Wahhh Wahhh Wahh

:P
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#10 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17381 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 06 August 2015 - 06:12 PM

View Postmacdude22, on 06 August 2015 - 05:05 PM, said:

I'm old. I'm crotchety. I want my buggy whip. Wahhh Wahhh Wahh

:P

Yeah, what a nanite.  Or is that a lucite?  Maybe it's a luddite.  He's one hell of an ite that's for damn sure.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#11 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3299 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 06 August 2015 - 08:26 PM

View PostFrigidman™, on 06 August 2015 - 04:44 PM, said:

Maybe cause 10.10 is ugly spacing wasting hell vs 10.9? :)

Personally I prefer my 10.6.8 mac, but I gotta also use these other versions for various other situations.

There's certainly some outspoken people on here against the OS X 10.10 UI and the iOS 7+ UI. Personally, I like the new UI, but more importantly I like some of the new features like iMessage and phone calls and stuff that's integrated into OS X.
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#12 Matt Diamond

Matt Diamond

    Master Blaster

  • IMG Writers
  • 2453 posts
  • Location:Holland, PA; US
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 07 August 2015 - 05:26 AM

As an experiment, maybe try switching the mice on the two machines? Seems like one may be losing the mouse-down momentarily.
Matt Diamond - www.mindthecube.com
Measure twice, cut once, curse three or four times.

#13 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4265 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 07 August 2015 - 07:40 AM

Mmm. Remotely controlled, 10.9.5 mac has no mouse ;) And my mouse is working. The images in the UI show that 2 are being dragged, so I would imagine if 10.9 was not grabbing both, then it would not say it has both when I let go of the mouse button... ?

Either the case, it seems to be isolated to the situation, and not really a known issue of 10.9. At first I thought it may be a bug with 10.9 and how it's applescript works (since those Droppers for Transmit and Interarchy look to be applescript mini-apps of some sort)... and that was just the issue. But I dunno. Its annoying. To ensure both files get uploaded, I have to do them one at a time... OR drag them both to an open 'listing' of the directory they are to go to... which is equally as time consuming haha.

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#14 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3299 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 07 August 2015 - 08:12 AM

View PostFrigidman™, on 07 August 2015 - 07:40 AM, said:

Mmm. Remotely controlled, 10.9.5 mac has no mouse ;) And my mouse is working. The images in the UI show that 2 are being dragged, so I would imagine if 10.9 was not grabbing both, then it would not say it has both when I let go of the mouse button... ?

Either the case, it seems to be isolated to the situation, and not really a known issue of 10.9. At first I thought it may be a bug with 10.9 and how it's applescript works (since those Droppers for Transmit and Interarchy look to be applescript mini-apps of some sort)... and that was just the issue. But I dunno. Its annoying. To ensure both files get uploaded, I have to do them one at a time... OR drag them both to an open 'listing' of the directory they are to go to... which is equally as time consuming haha.

Would a simple cut and paste work? Eliminating the dragging process
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#15 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4265 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 07 August 2015 - 09:06 AM

Nope, has to be drag n dropped to get the two files to upload :/

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#16 Matt Diamond

Matt Diamond

    Master Blaster

  • IMG Writers
  • 2453 posts
  • Location:Holland, PA; US
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 07 August 2015 - 07:45 PM

View PostFrigidman™, on 07 August 2015 - 07:40 AM, said:

The images in the UI show that 2 are being dragged, so I would imagine if 10.9 was not grabbing both, then it would not say it has both when I let go of the mouse button... ?

I was thinking the one that got dropped might be the one not directly under the cursor. The cursor would pick the file back up that it's directly over when the drag restarted..

I admit it was highly unlikely. But the symptoms themselves are so unlikely that I thought it was worth trying.
Matt Diamond - www.mindthecube.com
Measure twice, cut once, curse three or four times.

#17 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4265 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 07 August 2015 - 09:06 PM

Interesting notion, but I think if it accidentally let go of one, the one file would end up somewhere than where it was. The way I usually do multi-drag is I highlight both first (cmd-click each), then drag from one and it would take both with it... so maybe makes sense, but I would guess the OS wouldn't have that big red circle with a "2" in it if it missed grabbing the other?

I dunno, the whole dragging of stuff around in 10.9 is all wacky froofroo with it shifting things around, changing depending if you are dragging past desktop, or list views, or icon views..... its all jerky. Compared to the very clean and direct grayed out representation that 10.6.8 does. I honestly dont know why they changed it.


ANYWAYS....

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester