Jump to content


Aspyr's upcoming projects

Aspyr

  • Please log in to reply
211 replies to this topic

#181 ipickert55

ipickert55

    Honorary Special Snowflake

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 508 posts
  • Steam Name:ipickert55
  • Steam ID:ipickert55
  • Location:Monterey, California

Posted 05 October 2017 - 02:12 AM

Paging Blair, a loooong time back I asked you if aspyr games would go on GOG and you said you guys were negotiating. Is that not happening anymore?
Maybe it really is all cocks in the end.

#182 Mr Pink

Mr Pink

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 490 posts

Posted 06 October 2017 - 05:22 AM

Aspyr, how about Star Wars: Battlefront 2?
Maybe it's time for the Mac to re-join the battle, now that the multiplayer servers for the Windows version are back up.

#183 jeannot

jeannot

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 330 posts

Posted 06 October 2017 - 06:49 AM

Dice once seemed interested in the Mac/Metal, as there was a job offering about porting Frostbite to OpenGL/OS X, and then they demoed Frostbite running on Metal (iPad) at WWDC. Since then, nothing. I suppose they're no longer interested. In since EA don't use porting houses... :unsure:

#184 ipickert55

ipickert55

    Honorary Special Snowflake

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 508 posts
  • Steam Name:ipickert55
  • Steam ID:ipickert55
  • Location:Monterey, California

Posted 06 October 2017 - 05:30 PM

View Postjeannot, on 06 October 2017 - 06:49 AM, said:

Dice once seemed interested in the Mac/Metal, as there was a job offering about porting Frostbite to OpenGL/OS X, and then they demoed Frostbite running on Metal (iPad) at WWDC. Since then, nothing. I suppose they're no longer interested. In since EA don't use porting houses... :unsure:

At least not anymore.

Rest in peace, sweet Dragon Age. Rest in peace.
Maybe it really is all cocks in the end.

#185 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8308 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 07 October 2017 - 08:56 AM

View Postjeannot, on 06 October 2017 - 06:49 AM, said:


Dice once seemed interested in the Mac/Metal, as there was a job offering about porting Frostbite to OpenGL/OS X, and then they demoed Frostbite running on Metal (iPad) at WWDC. Since then, nothing. I suppose they're no longer interested. In since EA don't use porting houses... :unsure:

I think Mr Pink means Star Wars: Battlefront II, not Star Wars: Battlefront II.

These things have become pretty confusing nowadays…

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#186 Mr Pink

Mr Pink

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 490 posts

Posted 07 October 2017 - 09:07 AM

Yes, the 2005 one with colon, EA dropped the colon with the reboots.
A colon can make quite a difference, you know.

#187 Matt Diamond

Matt Diamond

    Uberspewer

  • IMG Writers
  • 2633 posts
  • Location:PA; US
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 07 October 2017 - 05:59 PM

View PostMr Pink, on 07 October 2017 - 09:07 AM, said:

A colon can make quite a difference, you know.

Not having a colon can make an even bigger difference.
www.mindthecube.com

Current setup: macOS 10.11.x/2008 MacPro 3,1 Xeon 2 x 2.8GHz/8GB RAM/NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680 2GB

#188 ipickert55

ipickert55

    Honorary Special Snowflake

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 508 posts
  • Steam Name:ipickert55
  • Steam ID:ipickert55
  • Location:Monterey, California

Posted 07 October 2017 - 06:02 PM

View PostMatt Diamond, on 07 October 2017 - 05:59 PM, said:

Not having a colon can make an even bigger difference.

Ouch.
Maybe it really is all cocks in the end.

#189 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1477 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 08 October 2017 - 06:36 PM

View PostMatt Diamond, on 07 October 2017 - 05:59 PM, said:

Not having a colon can make an even bigger difference.
Worse, we gave you beans for that.
macOS 10.14.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB (testing a Vega 56)

#190 Matt Diamond

Matt Diamond

    Uberspewer

  • IMG Writers
  • 2633 posts
  • Location:PA; US
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 09 October 2017 - 04:59 PM

View PostUmarOMC1, on 08 October 2017 - 06:36 PM, said:

Worse, we gave you beans for that.
Good point. Beans are contraindicated if you lack a colon.
www.mindthecube.com

Current setup: macOS 10.11.x/2008 MacPro 3,1 Xeon 2 x 2.8GHz/8GB RAM/NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680 2GB

#191 DirtyHarry50

DirtyHarry50

    Special Snowflake

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1796 posts
  • Steam Name:DirtyHarry
  • Steam ID:dirtyharry2
  • Location:North Carolina, USA

Posted 10 October 2017 - 04:38 AM

View PostMatt Diamond, on 09 October 2017 - 04:59 PM, said:

Good point. Beans are contraindicated if you lack a colon.

For a brief moment I was just transported back in time... recalling, "Blazing Saddles."
“The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.” — Bertrand Russell

#192 jeannot

jeannot

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 330 posts

Posted 21 December 2017 - 04:21 PM

So Aspyr just released Civ VI for iOS. If they use Metal for this (which seems likely), I wonder if they could update the macOS version to Metal.

#193 jeannot

jeannot

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 330 posts

Posted 20 January 2018 - 02:08 AM

No one has mentioned inner space. I believe aspyr is only the publisher of this one.
https://www.macgamer...ce-mac-release/
There was also some big update to Civ VI.

It's been pretty quiet these days. In fact, it's quiet whenever Feral isn't releasing new games. We can't expect Aspyr to port more than one game per year apparently.

#194 Mr Pink

Mr Pink

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 490 posts

Posted 28 February 2018 - 03:18 PM

So Aspyr are addressing the upcoming Appocalypse and say they're working on updating their most popular games to 64-bit.
Which games and when they will be updated is currently unknown.

#195 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8308 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 28 February 2018 - 04:21 PM

View PostMr Pink, on 28 February 2018 - 03:18 PM, said:

So Aspyr are addressing the upcoming Appocalypse and say they're working on updating their most popular games to 64-bit.
Which games and when they will be updated is currently unknown.
Nice to hear. Based on the still high popularity of these games, I would assume Civ V and possibly Borderlands 2 (and in extension BL: TPS) are among the more likely candidates for 64 bitification.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#196 Cougar

Cougar

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1547 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 28 February 2018 - 05:40 PM

As long as Civ V gets updated  Iím happy as far as Aspyr is concerned.

Whatís going to really suck is Paradox games. The engine they use isnít going to get updated, and their games are not the sort that you play once and finish.

#197 ipickert55

ipickert55

    Honorary Special Snowflake

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 508 posts
  • Steam Name:ipickert55
  • Steam ID:ipickert55
  • Location:Monterey, California

Posted 28 February 2018 - 06:48 PM

I wonder if some companies might also have them update the windows versions to 64 bit?
Maybe it really is all cocks in the end.

#198 Camper-Hunter

Camper-Hunter

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 415 posts
  • Steam Name:Rorqual
  • Steam ID:Rorqual
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted 01 March 2018 - 01:24 AM

ipickert55, why would they bother as long as Windows keeps supporting 32 bit apps?

#199 MrUNIMOG

MrUNIMOG

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Location:Hamburg, Germany

Posted 01 March 2018 - 03:39 AM

View PostJanichsan, on 28 February 2018 - 04:21 PM, said:

Nice to hear. Based on the still high popularity of these games, I would assume Civ V and possibly Borderlands 2 (and in extension BL: TPS) are among the more likely candidates for 64 bitification.
I was surprised that Borderlands 2 + Pre-Sequel and BioShock Infinite even are 32bit, as those seem like fairly recent games to me (I know, 2012 is over 5 years ago, but still).
I agree that they're probably among the most likely candidates.
Devices I play games on:

MacBook Pro (13-inch, Late 2016, 4 TBT3) — 3.1 GHz i5-6287U | Iris 550 | 16 GB RAM | 512 GB Flash | Space Gray
iMac (27-inch, Late 2012) — 3.4 GHz i7-3770 | GTX 680MX | 8 GB RAM | 1 TB Fusion Drive
iMac (Flat Panel) — 700 MHz PPC 7450 (G4) | GeForce2 MX | 640 MB RAM | 40 GB HDD
iMac (5 Flavors) — 333 MHz PPC 750 (G3) | ATI Rage Pro | 512 MB RAM | 6 GB HDD | Tangerine

iPhone X — 256 GB | Silver
iPhone 5s — 32 GB | Space Gray
iPad Pro (10.5-inch) — 256 GB | Space Gray
iPad Air 2 — 64 GB | Space Gray
iPad — 16 GB
iPod touch (3rd generation) — 32 GB
iPod touch — 8 GB
Apple Watch (1st generation) — 42 mm | Stainless Steel (Yes, there's games for watchOS)

#200 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3979 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 01 March 2018 - 05:50 AM

I will never get to anything after High Sierra if they don't release a 64bit upgrade to Civilization IV.

I don't have the game installed now, but that's only so I don't play it. I think I have accumulated around 700 hours in that game so far.
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Aspyr