Jump to content


Aspyr's upcoming projects

Aspyr

  • Please log in to reply
190 replies to this topic

#141 Cougar

Cougar

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1354 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 06 October 2016 - 02:22 PM

View PostMr Pink, on 06 October 2016 - 01:45 AM, said:

There're no Mac depots on Steam for Jade Empire yet and it might stay like that.
Aspyr only mentions iOS/Mac App Store on their FAQ page for Jade Empire.

That sucks, I hope not. The PC version on Steam hasn't been maintained so I'd rather not play that.

#142 Jeyl

Jeyl

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Steam Name:Jeyl
  • Steam ID:jeyl1984
  • Location:Asheville, NC. USA

Posted 06 October 2016 - 04:59 PM

Glad to see Jade Empire on another storefront. Will purchase!
Processor: 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Memory: 14 GB 800 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Vid Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 285
Mac OS X Version 10.7.3

#143 DirtyHarry50

DirtyHarry50

    Special Snowflake

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1515 posts
  • Steam Name:DirtyHarry
  • Steam ID:dirtyharry2
  • Location:North Carolina, USA

Posted 07 October 2016 - 10:52 PM

View PostCougar, on 06 October 2016 - 02:22 PM, said:

That sucks, I hope not. The PC version on Steam hasn't been maintained so I'd rather not play that.

I wasn't aware of that. Has there been a version upgrade not applied to the Steam version or did you just mean the game itself has not seen further updates in many years now? I played the Steam version probably a year or so ago, maybe even two years ago and so it must have been on Windows 7 I'd guess. At that point at least, it ran flawlessly for me. I don't recall encountering any bugs or problems during my complete play through of the game.

I am looking forward to another play through, this time as Closed Fist (tough guy) whereas I went Open Palm (Mr. Nice Guy) last time around. I'm sure given how linear the game is that the experience won't be a lot different but the quests and NPC interactions along with the story should offer enough differences to make seeing it again this way a good time.
“The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.” — Bertrand Russell

#144 Mr Pink

Mr Pink

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 377 posts

Posted 22 December 2016 - 10:42 AM

Aspyr announced on their social media sites, that they will be bringing Mafia III to the Mac soon.

#145 Mr Pink

Mr Pink

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 377 posts

Posted 07 April 2017 - 02:38 PM

Aspyr now lists the minimum system requirements for Mafia III:

OS: macOS 10.12.4
Processor: Intel Core i5 with 3.2 GHz
Memory: 8GB
Video: 2GB AMD Graphics Card (Intel & nVidia are not supported)

That limits the supported Macs down to:
  • MacBook Pro 15" (mid 2015 with AMD & 2016)
  • iMac 5K 27" (late 2014, mid 2015, late 2015)
  • Mac Pro (late 2013)


#146 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8075 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 07 April 2017 - 02:59 PM

View PostMr Pink, on 07 April 2017 - 02:38 PM, said:

Video: 2GB AMD Graphics Card (Intel & nVidia are not supported)

What the frak?? :huh:

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#147 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2028 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 07 April 2017 - 03:26 PM

Seems like it should probably run on Intel Iris Pro Graphics 540/550. I'm not really interested in this game soooooo not going to buy it and try it.

I've been hoping Feral and Aspyr would go back and port some more older games like Jade Empire and Railroads. Something like F.E.A.R. or Far Cry or Vampire or ooo Dungeon Siege.
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#148 Cougar

Cougar

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1354 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 08 April 2017 - 11:44 AM

View PostMr Pink, on 07 April 2017 - 02:38 PM, said:

Aspyr now lists the minimum system requirements for Mafia III:

OS: macOS 10.12.4
Processor: Intel Core i5 with 3.2 GHz
Memory: 8GB
Video: 2GB AMD Graphics Card (Intel & nVidia are not supported)

That limits the supported Macs down to:
  • MacBook Pro 15" (mid 2015 with AMD & 2016)
  • iMac 5K 27" (late 2014, mid 2015, late 2015)
  • Mac Pro (late 2013)

Lol. At that point, why bother? They're gonna sell five copies.

I'm not sure if I'm goIng to bother with Mafia III. The story sounds incredible but the gameplay sounds monotonous and boring. Maybe if it appears in a Humble...

#149 elowel

elowel

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

Posted 08 April 2017 - 06:30 PM

NOTICE: NVIDIA and INTEL video cards are NOT SUPPORTED to run Mafia III Mac

NOTICE: The game requires a minimum 2GB AMD video card.  Theses are the ONLY qualified Mac models:
  • AMD FirePro D300, dual AMD FirePro D500, or dual AMD FirePro D700 (late 2013 MacPro)
  • AMD Radeon R9 M290X or Radeon R9 M295X (late 2014 iMac)
  • AMD Radeon R9 M290 (mid 2015 iMac)
  • AMD Radeon R9 M380, M390, M395, or M395X (late 2015 iMac)
  • AMD Radeon R9 M370X (mid 2015 and 2016 MBP)
  • AMD Radeon Pro 450, 455, or 460 (late 2016 MBP)

Implying that the game will run on the woefully underpowered M370X - but not on a 2013 27" iMac with a 780M GTX - suggests this might be a driver or OpenGL issue.


#150 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3780 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 08 April 2017 - 11:57 PM

"Not run" and "Not supported" are two completely different things. It may run completely without a hitch.
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#151 jeannot

jeannot

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 221 posts

Posted 09 April 2017 - 02:24 AM

Does the game support Metal? If not, it doesn't seem very forward-thinking from Aspyr.
Note that the PC version also requires a 2GB discrete GPU.

#152 elowel

elowel

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

Posted 09 April 2017 - 04:15 AM

View Postjeannot, on 09 April 2017 - 02:24 AM, said:

Does the game support Metal? If not, it doesn't seem very forward-thinking from Aspyr.
Note that the PC version also requires a 2GB discrete GPU.

iirc this was asked on the Facebook announcement post and Aspyr said no.

Also, I don't think people are questioning the 2GB graphics requirement, just the "not nVidia" requirement.

#153 Mr Pink

Mr Pink

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 377 posts

Posted 10 May 2017 - 05:23 AM

According to MacGamerHQ Mafia III releases tomorrow, and it does support Metal.
The system requirements remain unchanged, which means nVidia & Intel Graphics Cards will not be supported.

#154 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 828 posts

Posted 10 May 2017 - 05:47 AM

Typical isn't it, no sooner do I replace my Radeon 7950 with a GTX680 because that is unsupported in F1, the next game lists AMD only....

If anyone does try it and find it works (given that this card does support metal) please drop a comment so we all know.
Mac Pro 09 (now a 5.1, 2 x 3.06GHz Xeon X5675, 24GB, R9 280X 3GB, 480SSD, 16TB HD, MacOS 10.12.6

#155 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8075 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 10 May 2017 - 12:20 PM

View PostMr Pink, on 10 May 2017 - 05:23 AM, said:

According to MacGamerHQ Mafia III releases tomorrow, and it does support Metal.
:huh: Interesting. I remember that when they first announced Mafia III back in December, they somewhere pretty clearly stated it would be using OpenGL.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#156 jeannot

jeannot

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 221 posts

Posted 10 May 2017 - 03:19 PM

Apparently, the game isn't very popular and performs extremely poorly on Windows. Hopefully, Metal will help performance of the macOS version. If not, I'm not sure if there is a single Mac that could run this game properly. :unsure:

#157 Mr Pink

Mr Pink

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 377 posts

Posted 12 May 2017 - 02:26 PM

Well, Mafia III is out on Steam, MGS & MAS. As announced, it only works with AMD Graphics Cards.
Aspyr says, there's an 'instability issue at the moment' with nVidia drivers.

#158 elowel

elowel

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

Posted 12 May 2017 - 11:07 PM

Driver instability - albeit strange - is at least plausible, considering they're still happy to list it as playable on the el crapo M370X from the MBP.

I own Mafia 3 on PC. I'll download it (41GB *sadface*) and give it a shot on my 780M GTX. Not expecting much, but I'll report back.

Update:

I played for about 45 minutes before having unrecoverable graphics issues, it was impossible to save or even switch to another application, needed to Command + Q to quit. The game also looks absolutely horrendous at 1080p on Low. FPS was about what I expected, 30fps at said settings. This is demanding game.

#159 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 828 posts

Posted 13 May 2017 - 03:38 AM

"at the moment" sounds like one day it might get fixed. Maybe with 10.13....
Mac Pro 09 (now a 5.1, 2 x 3.06GHz Xeon X5675, 24GB, R9 280X 3GB, 480SSD, 16TB HD, MacOS 10.12.6

#160 henryfakesmile

henryfakesmile

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Steam Name:henryfakesmile
  • Steam ID:henrycc265
  • Location:Hong Kong

Posted 16 May 2017 - 03:19 AM

View Postelowel, on 12 May 2017 - 11:07 PM, said:

Driver instability - albeit strange - is at least plausible, considering they're still happy to list it as playable on the el crapo M370X from the MBP.

I own Mafia 3 on PC. I'll download it (41GB *sadface*) and give it a shot on my 780M GTX. Not expecting much, but I'll report back.

Update:

I played for about 45 minutes before having unrecoverable graphics issues, it was impossible to save or even switch to another application, needed to Command + Q to quit. The game also looks absolutely horrendous at 1080p on Low. FPS was about what I expected, 30fps at said settings. This is demanding game.

lol i am not gonna hurt my eyes by playing it on LOW





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Aspyr