Jump to content


Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance released for Mac

metal gear rising revengeance metal gear transgaming konami

  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1423 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 25 September 2014 - 08:18 PM

Announcement;

TRANSGAMING AND KONAMI DIGITAL ENTERTAINMENT ANNOUNCE DEBUT OF METAL GEAR ON THE MAC WITH METAL GEAR RISING: REVENGEANCE NOW AVAILABLE

Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance Steam and Mac App Store



Edit: Mac Game Store, too!
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#2 mindnoise

mindnoise

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 691 posts
  • Steam ID:Exploding-Bob
  • Location:Delusive-Ville

Posted 26 September 2014 - 02:25 AM

This game is the Bomb! I'd say the best MGS game since the first two ones.
Though it's an ultrafast hack n slash game that has absolutely no time for stealth.
hey, don´t worry - it´s only red pixels on your hands...

8 - iPhone SE, 16GB
7- iPad Pro 12.9", WiFi 128GB
6- MacMini 7,1: i5@2.6GHZ, 8GB, Intel Iris (5100)
5- iPad Air, 16Gb
4- MacBook Pro 8,1:  i5@2.3GHz, intel HD3000, 8GB RAM
3- iPad 2, 16GB
2- iPod Touch 4G, 8GB
1- MacBook 1,1, 1,83GHz, intel GMA950, 2GB RAM
-> The (nearly) ultimate intel HD 3000 gaming performance sheet <-

#3 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3318 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 26 September 2014 - 02:48 AM

What I like is it's the first cider wrapped game that I've noticed has full multichannel surround sound so I get full positional 5.1 surround sound out of it. On the other hand it's not perfect as in-game dialog tends to get routed to the front left and right when it should be in the center which is something that happens to one degree or another with quite a few games.... and only some games have gotten it right (such as the native version of Batman Arkham Asylum, City.. most recent LEGO games and Alan Wake in Wine). Most other sounds get specialized correctly including in-game comm chatter and the characters own voice during non-cinematic in-game scenes.

But either way I'm happy that cider now supports it and hell yeah the game is fast. Except theres a bit of slowdown if I turn on MSAA. I tried using FXAA injection dll's like I did with the leaked beta but they didn't work with the final. FXAA Tool caused z-order bugs with the models and SweetFX caused the game to crash.

Also, I was having a little problem again with it not showing the correct button prompts at first.. when I originally tried it when it was leaked it was showing the playstation buttons instead of the x360 ones I expect but this time it was at first showing the generic numbered PC gamepad prompts. So then I tried fixing that with x360cemu which is what I use with some of my wineskin wrapped games and that didn't work. But when I removed the files for that from the install folder in the bundle it started working.. strange, that...
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#4 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1423 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 26 September 2014 - 03:03 PM

Interesting. I haven't tried it yet but am wondering if it supports NVIDIA's native TXAA
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#5 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3318 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 26 September 2014 - 04:02 PM

Not in-game no as far as I can see. Unless you have a utility that can force it from the outside. Like the drive control panel which doesn't exist on the Mac.
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#6 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1423 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 27 September 2014 - 12:02 AM

I just played a little... wow! Amazingly fluid! Switching to my screen's native 1680x1050 caused an offset anomaly but that was rectified by a restart. Detected and works flawlessly with my PS3 DualShock.



Edit: I noticed reference to the Havok Engine being used and remembering that setting it to utilize all available, actual CPU cores really bumped up performance in BioShock but can't find any config files that have reference to a setting therein and can't find anything online.
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#7 Trautman

Trautman

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Location:Japan

Posted 28 September 2014 - 03:21 AM

METAL GEAR RISING REVENGEANCE is region locked in Japan.

#8 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1423 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 28 September 2014 - 11:59 PM

View PostTrautman, on 28 September 2014 - 03:21 AM, said:

METAL GEAR RISING REVENGEANCE is region locked in Japan.
Odd. I checked out the package contents and it appears to have been localized for Japanese (contains a Japanese.lproj directory). Can you open the Info.plist and change <string>English</string> to <string>Japanese</string> to see if that works or could you simply not purchase/install it?
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#9 mindnoise

mindnoise

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 691 posts
  • Steam ID:Exploding-Bob
  • Location:Delusive-Ville

Posted 29 September 2014 - 01:04 AM

View PostTrautman, on 28 September 2014 - 03:21 AM, said:

METAL GEAR RISING REVENGEANCE is region locked in Japan.

Yes, frakking Konami, they have their heads full of Sh*t big time!!!

I wondered if I should mention this in the first place but since some one has a problem already:

MGR is the first title that incorporated "cross-country gifting restrictions" a new Steam feature. That means even if you buy it from another site, you cannot activate it with a Japanese account. And since you also cannot buy it in Japan you are completely locked out.
So I have to play it with my second German account. At least Europe is seen as one region (Bought from a UK site)

I even cannot lend it from my German account to my Japanese family member account when I am in Japan
but can do so when I am in Germany. At least I can play it from my German account when I am in Japan.


@UmarOMC1
Yes, it has Japanese localization, too. As I said Konami...
hey, don´t worry - it´s only red pixels on your hands...

8 - iPhone SE, 16GB
7- iPad Pro 12.9", WiFi 128GB
6- MacMini 7,1: i5@2.6GHZ, 8GB, Intel Iris (5100)
5- iPad Air, 16Gb
4- MacBook Pro 8,1:  i5@2.3GHz, intel HD3000, 8GB RAM
3- iPad 2, 16GB
2- iPod Touch 4G, 8GB
1- MacBook 1,1, 1,83GHz, intel GMA950, 2GB RAM
-> The (nearly) ultimate intel HD 3000 gaming performance sheet <-

#10 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1423 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 29 September 2014 - 03:04 AM

This is annoying to read. Would you consider contacting Konami or Steam to inquire further? I don't even see MGR on the list of PC games on Konami's Japanese site. It's on Amazon (PC version) but it does include a "U.S. only" note.
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#11 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3318 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 29 September 2014 - 03:32 AM

Must be a conspiracy to keep Japanese gamers off of western platforms. :unsure: :cool: ;)
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#12 Trautman

Trautman

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Location:Japan

Posted 29 September 2014 - 04:30 AM

PC Games of many Japanese publishers are region-locked in Japanese Steam Store.
Probably, they want to sell CS Games to Japanese people.

#13 mindnoise

mindnoise

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 691 posts
  • Steam ID:Exploding-Bob
  • Location:Delusive-Ville

Posted 29 September 2014 - 06:30 AM

View PostSmoke_Tetsu, on 29 September 2014 - 03:32 AM, said:

Must be a conspiracy to keep Japanese gamers off of western platforms. :unsure: :cool: ;)
Yeah, basically Japan is a Console country. It has to do with CERO, the japanese Version of ESRB/ PEGI. Most Japanese Publishers just don't care to resubmit their Console ports to get the PC Version approved in Japan. Something like this, I read somewhere.

I could however buy lots of Jap. titles from other sites and activate them in my Jap. account, no problem with that. At least until MSR:R.
hey, don´t worry - it´s only red pixels on your hands...

8 - iPhone SE, 16GB
7- iPad Pro 12.9", WiFi 128GB
6- MacMini 7,1: i5@2.6GHZ, 8GB, Intel Iris (5100)
5- iPad Air, 16Gb
4- MacBook Pro 8,1:  i5@2.3GHz, intel HD3000, 8GB RAM
3- iPad 2, 16GB
2- iPod Touch 4G, 8GB
1- MacBook 1,1, 1,83GHz, intel GMA950, 2GB RAM
-> The (nearly) ultimate intel HD 3000 gaming performance sheet <-

#14 Ichigo27

Ichigo27

    NSFW o_O

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2241 posts
  • Location:pingas

Posted 01 October 2014 - 06:01 PM

Now all they need to do is make a cider version of silent hill 2. I'd love to play something that is close to a native port and isn't as buggy as the HD rerelease on consoles.
What is a man?

#15 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3318 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 01 October 2014 - 09:22 PM

Unless they fix the bugs the PC version has a cider version wouldn't have less bugs. These days I've seen that PCSX2 with SweetFX modding actually gives better results than playing the PC version (SweetFX can apply better film grain than the built in grain function since it's higher res for example). It's possible to use a DX8 to DX9 converter with the PC version and then sweetfx on top of that but generally speaking the PC version has problems with the cut scenes and sound with multicore systems... which isn't easily worked around on Mac. If Transgaming would do that job then more power to them! Especially if they enable the "3D sound" options (up to 7.1 channels) the game supports.

On the other hand there are some new utilities lately that I haven't tried yet such as this: https://github.com/emoose/sh2proxy
Don't have SH2 installed right now so I'd have to reinstall it with an unofficial wrapper and give that a try. (I'd run that and see if I can get SweetFX going and that one person's profile for SH2).

Anyway, you can see here in this thread: http://www.neogaf.co...t=488899&page=7

As for me right now the SH I've been playing is SH1 in OpenEMU with NTSC filter applied. It's a lot more primitive than SH2 of course but to date I actually never got around to completing it. I mean look..

Posted Image
Welcome to the 90's. :) Still I'm having the nostalgia feels.

I just hope the upcoming Silent Hills is:

1) Good
2) Comes to PC (some people assume it's PS4 exclusive because the Playable Teaser was)
3) Gets picked up for porting to Mac.
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#16 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6075 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 01 October 2014 - 11:22 PM

View Postmindnoise, on 29 September 2014 - 01:04 AM, said:

I even cannot lend it from my German account to my Japanese family member account when I am in Japan
but can do so when I am in Germany. At least I can play it from my German account when I am in Japan.

View PostSmoke_Tetsu, on 29 September 2014 - 03:32 AM, said:

Must be a conspiracy to keep Japanese gamers off of western platforms. :unsure: :cool: ;)

You'll have to forgive them, their head of digital publishing was a Japanese holdout and thinks the war is still on.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#17 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3318 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 01 October 2014 - 11:50 PM

I was testing Silent Hill 2 PC with a fixed .exe in Wineskin with the ENB Series DX8 to 9 converter and SweetFX but it has an unhandled exception with the DX8 to 9 wrapper. On the other hand.. the log file for SweetFX claims success..

[23:37:35] Redirecting CreateDevice : successful (width: 2560, height: 1440)
[23:37:35] Initializing FXAA (width: 2560, height: 1440)...
[23:37:37] FXAA enabled

Yes, I used the old hex editing trick mentioned in the thread I linked to earlier to enable 2560x1440 in SH2 just like I have done before. I'm hoping to get this working sometime especially to get the new SweetFX film grain rather than the built in low res film grain the game has. Right now it launches only without the DX8 wrapper though.... and that DX8 wrapper was made especially for SH2. Could be a Wine bug.. who knows...

BTW, Transgaming told me that they where working on getting 3D Sound with dsound working in Cider so if they made a SH2 port it may end up having that which would be great. Mainstream Wine has had it disabled for dsound for a while now and the last dsound game I played with multichannel was Dead Space on an older Wine engine.
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#18 Ichigo27

Ichigo27

    NSFW o_O

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2241 posts
  • Location:pingas

Posted 02 October 2014 - 12:23 AM

Considering how sound effect work on silent hill 1 sounds very primitive compared to silent hill 2. Even compared to other playstation 1 games.

Still though, silent hill 2 looks better than homecoming and downpour. I guess part of it has to do with team silent having a better understanding of designing lifelike characters compared to the other developers outside of konami's internal studios. It was almost like the double helix and etc  deliberately made the characters look low poly or like poorly made clay figurines.
What is a man?

#19 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3318 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 02 October 2014 - 12:29 AM

I was just playing some SH2 in Wineskin and it's remarkable how big a leap it is from SH1 in every conceivable way. From the graphics to the controls.. I noticed SH1 had some analog thumbstick support but it was nowhere nearly as robust and smooth as the support in SH2!

It could just use a little more work to make the PC version the definitive way to play it. Like if Konami went back in and upgraded the renderer to DX9 and added modern post processing effects to replace the low res post processing it had.. and also update the controls for modern gamepads...

Then transgaming (if they are the ones to port it) can enable 3D sound for dsound or Konami could update the game to use the same sound API that games like Alan Wake use (most likely xact or xaudio)... Then it would be perfect.

Also it could use a frame rate limiter because it's turning my Mac into a wind tunnel like Tomb Rader (2013) does even though it's not a demanding game by now.

Also even with the fixed .exe some of the in-engine cut scenes aren't playing and I have to skip them.. unfortunately.
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#20 Ichigo27

Ichigo27

    NSFW o_O

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2241 posts
  • Location:pingas

Posted 02 October 2014 - 12:36 AM

As long as they used the source code from that game verses the code base for HD Revelations. It's still a trip how there isn't really a huge difference in the graphics department comparing the PS2, Xbox, and PC versions. I guess it was team silent doing what they could at the time to get the most out of the ps2s limited hardware and it's GPU only containing 4 mb of vram.
What is a man?





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: metal, gear, rising, revengeance, metal gear, transgaming, konami