Macs getting hot after gaming via bootcamp?

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 insane79

insane79

Fan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts

Posted 13 September 2014 - 04:09 PM

Hi Guys,
  I heard running games on windows via bootcamp makes the macs run very hot? is this true?

Thanks..

#2 BifBologna

BifBologna

Heroic

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 356 posts

Posted 13 September 2014 - 08:22 PM

Don't take this as definitive, it's more of a seat of the pants personal observation type thing but, I haven't noticed my late 2013 iMac running any hotter gaming under Win 8 than it does under OS X. I boot Camp fairly regularly to play Defiance. I generally play for at least one to two hours, occasionally longer and I don't recall ever taking off my headset afterwards and noticing the fans screaming at me.

I'm not an expert on these things, but I'm pretty sure that gaming in general turns your graphics "card" into an easy bake oven. I can't see any reason why, given the same hardware, the OS would make a difference. Aren't most temp sensors and fans monitored and controlled by firmware on the motherboard?

If it'll help, I'll force myself to play a couple of hours games under both OS X and Win 8 and then check the temps right afterwards. I'll just tell my wife it has to be done. Science and all.

#3 macdude22

macdude22

Like, totally awesome.

• Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2029 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 13 September 2014 - 08:39 PM

It doesn't get any hotter than games under Mac OS X. eg. Borderlands 2 booted to Windows or Mac OS on my MBP gets the fan going real good.
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#4 insane79