Jump to content


Total War: Rome II is coming for Mac


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8076 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 12 August 2014 - 07:51 AM

According to a post on the official Total War Facebook page, Rome II is coming for Mac, with a public beta starting soon.

Interestingly, the way this was announced and that there will be public beta seems to imply that this might not be Feral's doing, but actually a first-party port.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#2 Cougar

Cougar

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1354 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 12 August 2014 - 11:20 AM

Makes sense, they are porting the Linux version themselves.

#3 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6075 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 12 August 2014 - 06:03 PM

I hope they fixed whatever it was that was causing all the R:TW fans to be wailing and gnashing teeth over R:TW2. That kind of made me uneasy and thus I never got it.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#4 ipickert55

ipickert55

    Honorary Special Snowflake

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Steam Name:Ian
  • Steam ID:ipickert55
  • Location:Monterey, California

Posted 12 August 2014 - 07:19 PM

Yeah I've heard that this game is bad as far as total war games go, ill still try it though.
Maybe it really is all cocks in the end.

GOG: ipickert55 Add me!

Zeus - Intel Core i7-5820K 3.30 Ghz, Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti, 16 GB DDR4 RAM

Poseidon - Retina MacBook Pro Mid 2014, macOS Seirra 10.12.x, 2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3, NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB

#5 dojoboy

dojoboy

    DJJ is the greatest!

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3449 posts
  • Steam ID:dojoboy65
  • Location:Tanasi (USA)
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 13 August 2014 - 03:52 AM

View Postipickert55, on 12 August 2014 - 07:19 PM, said:

Yeah I've heard that this game is bad as far as total war games go, ill still try it though.

That's a bummer. I was hoping it was a true improvement over the first..
"There is no end to sorrow."  ---Van Gogh

#6 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8076 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 17 September 2014 - 12:41 AM

It's available on Steam.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#7 strangemax

strangemax

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 95 posts

Posted 17 September 2014 - 07:49 AM

wow, i've been working too hard this summer. I totally missed this.
_____________________________________
"Who wants a president that will knowingly, repeatedly tell you something that he knows is not true?"
-Bill Clinton, Nov 5, 2012 before a crowd in Philadelphia

#8 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1425 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 28 September 2014 - 11:54 PM

Surprise surprise! Metal Gear Rising for Mac actually surprised me a lot more.
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#9 Am I Tuna?

Am I Tuna?

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 15 October 2014 - 09:40 AM

I've been playing it for the last 4 days now. I really like it, it's something I'll barely say but it's good us mac gamers have had to wait for so long for Rome 2, we haven't had to wade through all of the bugs and patches that pc players have had to put up with over the last year. We've got it now when it's in good shape.

Graphics are lovely, music is the best I've heard in a tw game, unit design and variation is great. I have three gripes

1. is the large number of DLC that could've been in the original game

2. The politics system is very confusing, poorly explained and convoluted at first, but I've gotten the hang of it now and it's actually quite interesting

3. The interface is ugly and quite intrusive on screen, but it's all full of important features and nothing seems pointless

#10 Sargiel

Sargiel

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 909 posts
  • Location:West Sussex, England

Posted 16 October 2014 - 01:50 PM

I agree with Am I Tuna about the benefit of the wait. The early state of the game sounded like a horror show so it's good it's being brought to the Mac when a lot of those problems have been fixed. My impression from various reviews is that while there are still some issues with the core game it's now in a decent state.

Am I Tuna: what system are you running it on? A lot of initial comments/reviews have been negative regarding the Mac release and I am wary seeing that Feral are not involved. Also a big shame we don't have cross platform multiplayer.

#11 Am I Tuna?

Am I Tuna?

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 17 October 2014 - 07:15 AM

Hey Sargiel. I'm running it on OS X Lion (I think!) Says, version 10.9.4. Running it on a macbook pro retina 2012 so it's able to stand up to the hefty demands of Rome 2, only running it on medium graphics settings though it still looks very nice.

I've been playing it and honestly, bar a few A.I hiccups (that every total war game gets, even Shogun 2) I haven't seen any major problems. There was one time the entire enemy army routed and left the map, didn't say I'd won and I couldn't quit the battle without losing, but that only happened once and never seen it since. My biggest gripe is that when on the steam overlay whatever you type in chat still affects what is happening on screen. So after typing a message I've zoomed into the floor in cinematic mode, closed all the screen tabs and told my army to sprint up a mountain lol. But if I press esc then return to Rome after typing in the steam overlay the mouse cursor has dissappeared. Had a minor panic attack when that first happened playing mp and I couldnt get rid of the esc menu and a unit of cataphracts were charging my general. You also can't control the cinematic camera like it says you can which I know a lot of mac players have had that problem.

HOWEVER, other than that issue I haven't had any problems with the game, I've found it an absolute blast

Also if you guys want to play mp with Mac players (due to the irritating no cross platform mp) then there's this steam group that was created about 5 days ago, already pushing 30 members which is nice.

http://steamcommunit.../groups/twriimm

#12 Sargiel

Sargiel

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 909 posts
  • Location:West Sussex, England

Posted 02 November 2014 - 08:28 AM

Belated thanks for the comments.

I did purchase the game via macgamestore and finally finished downloading it today. Unfortunately my system struggles. I have a Mac Pro 4,1 with a 2.93 Ghz quad core Xeon, 16gb RAM and a 4870 (which is my weak point as that card only has 512mb VRAM).

With this setup I was only getting about 12 fps on the forest benchmark and this was with everything on low... So while yes it starts the graphics and performance are pretty shocking. I started the prologue training but gave up. I will come back to the game once I've upgraded my graphics card.

What is the most cost effective graphics card upgrade for a 4,1 Mac Pro - anyone have any thoughts?

#13 ipickert55

ipickert55

    Honorary Special Snowflake

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Steam Name:Ian
  • Steam ID:ipickert55
  • Location:Monterey, California

Posted 02 November 2014 - 07:15 PM

View PostSargiel, on 02 November 2014 - 08:28 AM, said:

Belated thanks for the comments.

I did purchase the game via macgamestore and finally finished downloading it today. Unfortunately my system struggles. I have a Mac Pro 4,1 with a 2.93 Ghz quad core Xeon, 16gb RAM and a 4870 (which is my weak point as that card only has 512mb VRAM).

With this setup I was only getting about 12 fps on the forest benchmark and this was with everything on low... So while yes it starts the graphics and performance are pretty shocking. I started the prologue training but gave up. I will come back to the game once I've upgraded my graphics card.

What is the most cost effective graphics card upgrade for a 4,1 Mac Pro - anyone have any thoughts?

I have an AMD Radeon Radeon HD 7950 with 3GB of vram. I can max out most stuff, and when I can't its usually because the AMD drivers for OSX are baloney sandwich. The other option I had was an Nvidia GTX 680, with 2GB of vram, but that one was more expensive, so I went with the 7950.
Maybe it really is all cocks in the end.

GOG: ipickert55 Add me!

Zeus - Intel Core i7-5820K 3.30 Ghz, Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti, 16 GB DDR4 RAM

Poseidon - Retina MacBook Pro Mid 2014, macOS Seirra 10.12.x, 2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3, NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB

#14 Sargiel

Sargiel

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 909 posts
  • Location:West Sussex, England

Posted 05 November 2014 - 09:48 AM

Thanks ipickert55. Looking at the prices I see what you mean about the 680 - it's pretty pricey.. Something like the 7950 looks preferable. Was yours a Mac Edition 7950 or a flashed card?

#15 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6075 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 27 November 2014 - 05:01 PM

Rome II Emperor Edition is currently 15 bucks on Steam. I couldn't resist grabbing it for that price!
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#16 ipickert55

ipickert55

    Honorary Special Snowflake

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Steam Name:Ian
  • Steam ID:ipickert55
  • Location:Monterey, California

Posted 27 November 2014 - 07:20 PM

View PostFrost, on 27 November 2014 - 05:01 PM, said:

Rome II Emperor Edition is currently 15 bucks on Steam. I couldn't resist grabbing it for that price!

Could you let me know how it runs? I've heard the performance is horrible on OS X

I

View PostSargiel, on 05 November 2014 - 09:48 AM, said:

Thanks ipickert55. Looking at the prices I see what you mean about the 680 - it's pretty pricey.. Something like the 7950 looks preferable. Was yours a Mac Edition 7950 or a flashed card?

Sorry for the late reply. Yeah I got the official mac edition, I don't mess around with the flashed stuff.
Maybe it really is all cocks in the end.

GOG: ipickert55 Add me!

Zeus - Intel Core i7-5820K 3.30 Ghz, Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti, 16 GB DDR4 RAM

Poseidon - Retina MacBook Pro Mid 2014, macOS Seirra 10.12.x, 2.5 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3, NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB

#17 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6075 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 27 November 2014 - 08:51 PM

My Mac can only run the original R:TW, so I couldn't tell you.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#18 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6075 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 30 November 2014 - 01:05 AM

Damned dirty Gauls. How many armies can they possibly throw against a small trading harbor town? All my plans and resources have been diverted into just holding that beachhead west of (modern) Marseilles.

I'm about ready to bring in a second Legion and raze/enslave that whole frakking province. All I wanted to do was open some trade routes to them, and they're going Attila the Hun on my ass. The Aedui and Allobroges were smart and made friends with me. Them and a little enclave of guys who got butchered by the Volcae just for talking to me.

The rest of these murderous assholes? They do NOT know who they are frakking with. They may have bottled me up in that harbor town, but the Roman Navy can keep me supplied there forever. I may be nice and merciful, but Crassus' nephew leading that reinforcement legion I'm calling in? He's bringing the lumber, and it's not to build houses with if you know what I mean. They better sue for peace before he gets here.

I ain't no merchant with a big purse to slit. The reckoning is coming.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#19 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6075 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 07 December 2014 - 06:49 PM

Rome II may have sucked at launch, but it definitely doesn't now. I am enjoying the hell out of this game. It's like someone combined Legion and Legion Arena, then turned it up to 11.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#20 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1425 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 18 December 2014 - 04:05 AM

Emperor Edition is 73% Off list price right now ($15 from $55) at Gamers Gate. Expires in 10 hours 55 minutes from this writing. I jumped on it yesterday.
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB