Jump to content


mouse-4 and mouse-5


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 MadDog

MadDog

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 119 posts

Posted 27 May 2014 - 05:41 PM

I used to have a Logitech MX300 mouse.  This has 2 side buttons, and were recognized by the OS and games to be functional as mouse-4 and mouse-5.  The mouse expired after long service and I bought a new Logitech LX* mouse, again with 2 side buttons.  

however, games don't recognize the side buttons as mouse-4 and mouse-5.  Is there a good piece of software that can override whatever blocks there are so I can use these side buttons ?

thanks,

Mad Dog

#2 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6094 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 27 May 2014 - 06:02 PM

You might check what software Logitech has available.

I use their gaming mice (G500s on the PowerMac, G700s on the Tiki), and the G700s has the same issue since it has four buttons. Two automatically register as mouse 4 and 5, but the other two register as nothing. The Logitech gaming software lets you assign or reassign functions as you please.

Might see if the Logitech Control Center for regular mice has similar functions, or if their gaming software might work with non-gaming mice. If your particular mouse supports storing the profile onboard, you can upload what you like and it'll use that profile on whatever machine you connect it to as well.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#3 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3814 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 27 May 2014 - 11:20 PM

USB Overdrive X. It has been my faithfull servant for years before even OSX.
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#4 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3318 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 27 May 2014 - 11:50 PM

USB overdrive has even been handy for me for its profile capability and gamepads in the past for me.
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#5 MadDog

MadDog

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 119 posts

Posted 28 May 2014 - 05:33 PM

My only hesitation for the Logitech software is that between the M300 and my LX8 mouse is that I had a Logitech M705...which I truly hated and the software seemed to never set things correctly.  I will try USB Overdrive X first, I forgot about that software.  I used it many years back.

thanks,

Tom

#6 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6094 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 28 May 2014 - 05:35 PM

The M705 is an odd duck. I had all kinds of tracking issues with it on my PowerMac and my MacBook Pro, to the point I wanted to toss the thing out. Then I plugged it into the 2009 Mac mini I had bought to give to my dad as a birthday gift, and it worked flawlessly with that. Still does. :cool:

So dad got a mouse with his Mac.

Their claims about battery life with it were certainly on the money. That was a couple years ago and he still hasn't charged the batteries yet.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#7 MadDog

MadDog

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 119 posts

Posted 08 June 2014 - 11:49 AM

Logitech is useless.  THe software, at least.   No manual, no clue as to how it works.  Worthless.

I did manage to get USB overdrive to recognize the side buttons.  Under "Any Mouse, Any Application", and I had to set Button 4 and Button 5 to "press key".  At that point I could bind them in TF or other games.

Mad Dog