Jump to content


RIP Nvidia G-Sync?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3301 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 12 May 2014 - 10:29 PM

VESA has added adaptive sync to the DisplayPort standard, meaning that it should be available in pretty much every monitor in the somewhat near future.

I was personally looking forward to G-Sync, but it seems to have stalled in production (there's been no new news on it for months), and I would much rather have an open standard that all platforms can utilize

more info:
http://www.techpower...o-standard.html
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#2 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4265 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 12 May 2014 - 10:37 PM

Agreed, a more open one instead of being locked to nvidia would be better for the industry as a whole. Any hardware having to lock to a singular standard only supported by some other specific hardware is just doomed for failure, no matter how badly they want to monopolize on it.

However the whole idea behind letting the GPU dictate the refresh rate of a monitor is a good one. The whole 'vsync' needs to die, with monitors simply allowing 'dictated refresh based on output frames'.

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#3 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3318 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 13 May 2014 - 12:18 PM

Well, at least this standard will more likely be adopted into future Macs that include displays such as notebooks and iMacs than G-Sync would have.. no?
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#4 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3301 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 13 May 2014 - 03:04 PM

View PostSmoke_Tetsu, on 13 May 2014 - 12:18 PM, said:

Well, at least this standard will more likely be adopted into future Macs that include displays such as notebooks and iMacs than G-Sync would have.. no?

Ya the odds of seeing G-Sync in the iMac were probably about the same as seeing SLI in the iMac. I'm hoping this new tech is something that maybe won't even require drivers (other then support for it in the graphics driver for whatever OS you're using), and would be no different then using other monitor features like 120 Hz, or built in audio (which don't require any special shiny Mac driver).
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#5 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6094 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 13 May 2014 - 07:19 PM

Or maybe not. I got temporarily excited and was just reading about this, but apparently the spec for Adaptive Sync is only for 60 Hz and below, while G-Sync does up to and past 120 Hz. Meh.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#6 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3301 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 13 May 2014 - 08:21 PM

View PostFrost, on 13 May 2014 - 07:19 PM, said:

Or maybe not. I got temporarily excited and was just reading about this, but apparently the spec for Adaptive Sync is only for 60 Hz and below, while G-Sync does up to and past 120 Hz. Meh.

Wouldn't that just be a software thing with adaptive sync? It seems kinda silly that the tech can do up to 60 Hz, but not past it.
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#7 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4265 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 13 May 2014 - 08:57 PM

Adaptive sync works 'ok', its a bit jittery feeling at times when frame rates drop just below 60, but well above 30.

Maybe the hardware sync is just a way to eliminate the guesswork. Since the gpu doesn't actually know what frame the monitor is in the middle of drawing or not, without a way for the monitor to talk back to the gpu... which slows things down. So instead of software trying to guess at a burst that wont 'tear', this new tech would just let the monitor listen to the gpu and display frames as whole, no matter how fast the monitor received them (up till 60 fps/hz).

Kinda silly they didn't bother developing it to at least 90hz. Many people CAN see the difference between 60 frames and like 75, just not everyone.

I'm also surprised it has taken this long for someone to come up with the idea of a monitor that displays a "frame" it would get from a device. Instead of just hz'ing a constant signal. I mean, it IS digital transmission... not vga anymore =p

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#8 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6094 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 13 May 2014 - 10:24 PM

View PostFrigidman™, on 13 May 2014 - 08:57 PM, said:

Kinda silly they didn't bother developing it to at least 90hz. Many people CAN see the difference between 60 frames and like 75, just not everyone.

I don't know where my cutoff for "I can't see faster than this" is, but I know while the difference between 60 fps and 100 fps is definitely FAR less stark than the difference between 30 fps and 60 fps, I can still see it. I know on my CRT, the point where my eyes don't feel any flicker strain over long periods is at ≥85 Hz.

View PostFrigidman™, on 13 May 2014 - 08:57 PM, said:

I'm also surprised it has taken this long for someone to come up with the idea of a monitor that displays a "frame" it would get from a device. Instead of just hz'ing a constant signal. I mean, it IS digital transmission... not vga anymore =p
No kidding. Well, I mean, I'm still on VGA. :P

But I'm honestly aghast it's taken this long to start getting serious about the visual experience of LCDs. The upside is my holding out for OLED is no longer making as much sense, as LCDs are starting to finally approach the CRT experience I'm used to on my FW9011. It might be time to finally go for an LCD monitor soon.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#9 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2045 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 14 May 2014 - 09:42 AM

All I care about is will this finally do away with screen tearing. While I can see the difference between 30 and 60FPS, and somewhat over that. The only thing that grinds my gears on Computer games is I've usually got to dick with the settings to get rid of screen tear. Usually not an issue with console games, either they are locked to 30/60 or they just arn't getting up past that anyway. Granted I could probably solve this issue by not buying 680s and 5970s but I'm dum. I just want to click and go.
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#10 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4265 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 14 May 2014 - 09:46 AM

View Postmacdude22, on 14 May 2014 - 09:42 AM, said:

The only thing that grinds my gears on Computer games is I've usually got to dick with the settings to get rid of screen tear.

On windows side, I use "Bandicam" a lot purely for the purpose of locking a game's framerate to 59, 60, or 61 (depends on the game which works best). No video recording, I just use its extra 'feature' to lock framerates. This thus allows me NOT to use vsync, and also helps eliminate tearing greatly. Doesnt work on all games, but most. Some, it actually causes the game and computer to run better, as the nvidia card isn't screaming off into making 400 frames per second, when the monitor aint going to show it!

On mac, I am forced to use vsync :( Have not found a nice util like Bandicam yet.

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#11 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2045 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 14 May 2014 - 09:53 AM

View PostFrigidman™, on 14 May 2014 - 09:46 AM, said:

On windows side, I use "Bandicam"

Never heard of it but by the lords of kobol if it's pretty much one click cap me at 60 I'll take it!
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#12 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4265 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 14 May 2014 - 11:47 AM

View Postmacdude22, on 14 May 2014 - 09:53 AM, said:

Never heard of it but by the lords of kobol if it's pretty much one click cap me at 60 I'll take it!

Yeah, its a freebie app, no malware/adware. Fairly easy to use. You can even set the cap to a hotkey to turn it on/off in-game to see if it is having any positive effects. Also comes with an on-screen FPS counter you can turn on/off with a hotkey too. Kinda like Fraps, but Fraps never worked well for me.

Oh, you have to make sure you turn OFF video capture ;) Just click a checkbox to disable that. No need to run your disk full with full-length video capture hahaha.

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#13 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6094 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 14 May 2014 - 01:02 PM

View PostFrigidman™, on 14 May 2014 - 09:46 AM, said:

On windows side, I use "Bandicam" a lot purely for the purpose of locking a game's framerate to 59, 60, or 61 (depends on the game which works best). No video recording, I just use its extra 'feature' to lock framerates. This thus allows me NOT to use vsync, and also helps eliminate tearing greatly. Doesnt work on all games, but most. Some, it actually causes the game and computer to run better, as the nvidia card isn't screaming off into making 400 frames per second, when the monitor aint going to show it!

On mac, I am forced to use vsync :( Have not found a nice util like Bandicam yet.
Heh, I started using EVGA Precision X to do just that when I'm playing older games: cap it at 120 FPS.

I was playing some Duke Nukem shortly after getting the Tiki, and playing at 9000 FPS or whatever it was running at was causing some serious coil whine from the TITAN.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#14 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4265 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 14 May 2014 - 01:24 PM

Ha coil whine! I hate that. My 780 does it on games that get rambunctious like that. It doesnt do it on heavy graphics games that run at lower fps, but boy, hit 500fps+ and the coils started going EEEEEEEEEEEEEE.

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester