Jump to content


World's First 6TB Time Capsule


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6094 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 14 March 2014 - 06:57 PM

I have done it! I've built the world's first 6TB Time Capsule. Works flawlessly!

Now I've got a compelling new addition for enterprise customers. :D

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#2 Hansi

Hansi

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1785 posts
  • Steam ID:hansroberth
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 14 March 2014 - 07:32 PM

Yeah, I'm pretty sure a sufficient amount of people have done it via QNAP and other similar solutions: http://www.qnap.com/...g=en-uk&sn=7285

#3 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6094 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 14 March 2014 - 08:55 PM

Yeah, definitely, since it's been available to OEMs and enterprise for a couple months or so. But in a time capsule? :)
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#4 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3301 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 14 March 2014 - 10:20 PM

Is that a single 6 TB drive? How much did that cost?
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#5 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6094 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 15 March 2014 - 01:23 AM

Yep, single drive with 6TB. As far as how much, it wasn't cheap. I got it from my supplier for a little under $700. They're running around $800 retail. WD has a monopoly on >4TB drives at the moment, and they know it.

That being said... the thing is extremely quiet compared to noisy air-breathing enterprise drives, it has probably half or less the vibration of a 4TB Constellation, and it runs about 5 degrees cooler at all times. Haven't measured power, but reportedly it pulls a good deal fewer watts too. I believe it. Especially when you consider running two of them gives you the same space as three 4TB enterprise drives with less power usage than two.

Time Capsules with enterprise drives in them have done pretty well with small businesses and photographers around here... hoping this one will appeal to ones with bigger budgets/storage needs. It's only been a few hours and I already have one interested, so that's a good sign.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#6 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3301 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 15 March 2014 - 08:40 AM

Seems like a pretty big win in storage (other then the price). Is the 6 TB drive just 5400rpm, since speed isn't really the main concern on massive backup drives?
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#7 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2045 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 15 March 2014 - 09:38 AM

I spy a Synology. I've got a DS1512+.
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#8 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6094 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 15 March 2014 - 03:55 PM

View PostSneaky Snake, on 15 March 2014 - 08:40 AM, said:

Seems like a pretty big win in storage (other then the price). Is the 6 TB drive just 5400rpm, since speed isn't really the main concern on massive backup drives?
Believe it or not it's a full 7200 rpm. The only "downside" is the cache is 64MB versus the 128MB on the previous king, Seagate's 4TB Constellation ES.3. And yeah, it's pricey, although not TOO pricey considering it's going toward enterprise customers. If total cost of ownership is your main concern instead of price of entry, the UltraStar He6 is probably going to drop your operating costs significantly. I know Netflix is moving to these drives en masse right now, explaining the shortage.

It also thankfully doesn't use SMR yet, which I'm kind of dubious on to start given how much that is going to multiply background writes. (IIRC Seagate's current 4TB desktop drives use SMR, and that might be one reason they fall so far behind their own 3TB Barracudas on performance.) It can just pack the platters and heads more tightly since they're operating in a helium environment instead of oxygen/nitrogen and air turbulence is negligible in comparison. According to WD's literature, this tech combined with HAMR and SMR in the near future should be able to produce 20TB in a 3.5" drive.

View Postmacdude22, on 15 March 2014 - 09:38 AM, said:

I spy a Synology. I've got a DS1512+.
Yeah, I picked up the DS213+ and put a couple 3TB Barracudas in it last year. Been GREAT for network storage and backup, although I'm running low on space. I thought of moving to a four bay model, but with this new drive and wanting to see if it would work in a Time Capsule, I'm killing two birds with one stone. I'm going to keep my prototype I just built and use it for backups, while the DS213+ keeps pulling duty for everything else.

After 10 months of use I love Synology. Great product, and fantastic support the one time I needed them. RAID sync files somehow got out of sync, and the tech was super responsive and walked me through forcing it to boot with one drive's system files, then helped him log in via SSL and he fixed it. Saved me from days of restoring terabytes of backups.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#9 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 835 posts

Posted 15 March 2014 - 04:33 PM

Finally a bigger single disk than 4TB - hope these get affordable soon as I would like something bigger for Time machine with SATA performance. It could take a while as I expect the demand from consumers rather than enterprise is small.

I did try a Drobo to get more capacity via several disks before but FW800 I found was just too slow for copying Terabytes of data and it was loud. I like to also have clones of each internal drive so that always limits me to the maximum capacity of a single disk.
Mac Pro 09 (now a 5.1, 2 x 3.06GHz Xeon X5675, 24GB, RX580 8GB, 480SSD, 16TB HD, MacOS 10.13.1

#10 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6094 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 15 March 2014 - 06:27 PM

My guess is they'll probably drop by a couple hundred, but they might stay up there for a while until there's real competition. The rumor is Seagate might have a 5TB SMR drive out 2H 2014, but who knows. That drive was supposed to be out 2H 2013 and it's still vaporware. Meanwhile the UltraStar He6 is sitting there eating 100% of the >4TB market. Western Digital got the jump on everybody and my guess is they're going to milk this cow for everything it's worth until they need to start competing.

Realistically though, I don't know about them making a consumer version, at least near-term... this works only because it's hermetically sealed and filled with helium and uses top shelf parts running VERY close together. They might not be able to loosen tolerances and cheap out on parts enough to make a consumer-grade drive workable without the drive killing itself in short order from internal collisions.

FWIW, if you're using it for data that you want to not go away, and you can't afford or don't want a big RAID, an enterprise drive is worth the extra expense long-term. I know they must fail somewhere sometime, but I have not had one die on me from WD or Seagate, ever, no matter how long and how hard I work them. All my drive deaths have been consumer-grade hardware.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#11 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 835 posts

Posted 16 March 2014 - 11:09 AM

Yeah I do consider the enterprise models but the premium is usually vast over here and I've had good reliability so far with Hitachi 3 and 4TB drives (seems to match a recent study I saw with these). It has just been some Seagate 1.5TB that have failed and a Seagate 2TB currently for a backup that I'm getting concerned about.
Mac Pro 09 (now a 5.1, 2 x 3.06GHz Xeon X5675, 24GB, RX580 8GB, 480SSD, 16TB HD, MacOS 10.13.1

#12 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2045 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 16 March 2014 - 11:13 AM

View PostFrost, on 15 March 2014 - 03:55 PM, said:


Yeah, I picked up the DS213+ and put a couple 3TB Barracudas in it last year. Been GREAT for network storage and backup, although I'm running low on space.

Does the DS213+ Support those expansion boxes? That was one of the reasons I went with the Synology (other than having the best in class interface) was the expansion boxes if I ever needed them.
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#13 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6094 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 15 April 2014 - 05:20 PM

View Postmacdude22, on 16 March 2014 - 11:13 AM, said:

Does the DS213+ Support those expansion boxes? That was one of the reasons I went with the Synology (other than having the best in class interface) was the expansion boxes if I ever needed them.
(Late reply)

Yep, it does, although only as a separate drive. I think only the DS7xx and higher allow you to integrate the expansion module as part of the RAID. If you intended to, for example, add a DX213 as a backup for the NAS though, you're good to go.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.