Jump to content


What's the bare minimum ram in a G5 ?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Togglemeister

Togglemeister

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

Posted 05 March 2014 - 02:47 PM

Currently my late 2005 G5 has 1.5 gb of ram. I was thinking about upgrading it to have 4 gb plus. Will this be an improvement towards my games?
(Now) Late 2013 27" 3.4 ghz iMac, stock configurations.
(Then) 2005 Powermac G5 Dual Core 2.3 ghz, Leopard, 256mb nvidia 6600GT.
(Archived) DA w/Single Sonnet G4 1.4 ghz  2mb L3, Tiger, 1 gb ram, 128 mb ati 9800 pro (AGP)

#2 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3780 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 05 March 2014 - 03:24 PM

Quite likely, but depends on the games. Just dont expect huge increases. Your topic says you want less ram though.
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#3 MichalM.Mac

MichalM.Mac

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 263 posts
  • Steam Name:michalmmac
  • Steam ID:michalmmac

Posted 05 March 2014 - 03:40 PM

4GB should be good for newer browsers if you want to use Mac for your day to day internet life.  (Maximum is 16GB according to Mactracker). It probably won't affect games at all. Most of game from PowerPC era should be ok with just 1GB.

#4 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3298 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 05 March 2014 - 03:45 PM

Most demanding game I can think of that would run on that machine would be Halo: Combat Evolved (I could be wrong on this, but that is the most intensive universal game I know of)

I could run that game fine on 2 GB of RAM on an old 2006 iMac with a 256MB x1600 graphics card. It looks like the 6600 GT (in your G5) and the x1600 are relatively even cards performance wise (based on a quick google search). Im not sure whether or not the Halo Mac port runs better on a Dual 2.3 GHz G5 or 2.0 GHz Core Duo iMac, but graphically and RAM wise you should be fine.

I would expect nearly all games that run on Power PC to not require more then 1.5 GB's. Maybe some seriously intensive custom maps in an RTS or civilization or something, but in general you should be fine.
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#5 Togglemeister

Togglemeister

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

Posted 05 March 2014 - 03:56 PM

Games that would still be run on it would be Call of Duty & UO, Heroes IV, Star Wars II (Trilogy), Freedom Force.
(Now) Late 2013 27" 3.4 ghz iMac, stock configurations.
(Then) 2005 Powermac G5 Dual Core 2.3 ghz, Leopard, 256mb nvidia 6600GT.
(Archived) DA w/Single Sonnet G4 1.4 ghz  2mb L3, Tiger, 1 gb ram, 128 mb ati 9800 pro (AGP)

#6 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6075 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 05 March 2014 - 05:58 PM

You're in luck: outside of the Apple engineers who designed it, there might be 10 or 20 people on Earth with more experience with Late 2005 PowerMac G5s than yours truly. I still use mine every day as a server and workstation (see signature).

It depends on your OS. Are you running 10.4 Tiger or 10.5 Leopard? Unless it's a really RAM-intensive game, your 1.5GB should be okay. Maybe kick it up to 2GB. Unless you know you need a lot of RAM, I doubt you'd see any benefit beyond 3GB.

If you're running Leopard it's a different ballgame. I would do 2GB as the bare-assed minimum, otherwise things will be slower than they otherwise could be. My machine uses 2GB just running the OS, Mail, and Safari. 3GB is better, but 4GB should give you the best results. There's no need to exceed 4GB unless you know you need it. I have the full 16GB in mine, but during general use I've hardly seen it climb above the high 3s. Might very rarely go to the low 4s. And keep in mind that's with OSX Server Admin and Apple Remote Desktop always on, so you'd use less. The only time it shoots up into the 12-16GB range is when I'm working with videos and/or doing multiple side-by-side conversions.

So, pretty much:

Tiger: 1GB minimum. 1.5-2GB - Good. 3GB - Best.
Leopard: 2GB minimum. 3GB - Good. 4GB - Best.

I normally like to use Crucial for Mac RAM, but I'd recommend OWC for G5 RAM. Their prices are excellent plus they use non-stacked true PC2-4200 modules, rather than faster modules running in backwards-compatibility mode. Remember G5 RAM installs in matched pairs.

Realistically, you'll see the best results if you upgrade your hard drive to something snappy. The OEM drives for G5s were fast for their time, but they're dog slow compared to modern hard drives. I like to plug the WD Velociraptors for G5s because the current gen is rock solid reliable, runs very cool, and it's fast enough to max out the G5's SATA-1 controller, so any performance gain of SSD is negligible. It also costs half or less what an SSD of comparable size costs. The current-gen Seagate Barracudas (STx000DM001) work great as well. Not quite as fast as a Velociraptor, but they're even cheaper, they're exceptionally speedy compared to other 7200 rpm drives, and they're very solid for desktop-class drives (Apple likes them enough that that's what you'll find inside all their iMacs and Time Capsules).
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#7 Togglemeister

Togglemeister

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

Posted 05 March 2014 - 08:51 PM

The main reason why I moved from the G5 to an intel based newer mac is the "Adobe Flash plug-in" problem with Facebook and other websites. The G5 has the stock drive so I don't know if a newer HD would help it out on its web browsing experience (in terms of loading) etc.
(Now) Late 2013 27" 3.4 ghz iMac, stock configurations.
(Then) 2005 Powermac G5 Dual Core 2.3 ghz, Leopard, 256mb nvidia 6600GT.
(Archived) DA w/Single Sonnet G4 1.4 ghz  2mb L3, Tiger, 1 gb ram, 128 mb ati 9800 pro (AGP)

#8 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3298 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 05 March 2014 - 09:53 PM

View PostTogglemeister, on 05 March 2014 - 08:51 PM, said:

The main reason why I moved from the G5 to an intel based newer mac is the "Adobe Flash plug-in" problem with Facebook and other websites. The G5 has the stock drive so I don't know if a newer HD would help it out on its web browsing experience (in terms of loading) etc.

A faster hard drive will have almost no impact on web browsing speed. That is mostly determined by the speed of your browser, as well as your CPU,
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#9 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3780 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 06 March 2014 - 01:43 AM

...and the amount of RAM. I still dont get why browser eat ram like they do.
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#10 Togglemeister

Togglemeister

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

Posted 07 March 2014 - 01:04 AM

I ordered 4gb from OWC.
(Now) Late 2013 27" 3.4 ghz iMac, stock configurations.
(Then) 2005 Powermac G5 Dual Core 2.3 ghz, Leopard, 256mb nvidia 6600GT.
(Archived) DA w/Single Sonnet G4 1.4 ghz  2mb L3, Tiger, 1 gb ram, 128 mb ati 9800 pro (AGP)

#11 JaguarGod

JaguarGod

    SiniScope Productions Inc

  • Developer
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 279 posts
  • Location:Ohio, USA

Posted 10 March 2014 - 09:02 AM

Like FROST in his above post, I still use my PPC G5 Quads every day at the shop/office where I have 2 of them running like champs. Love them! More RAM will never hurt, so it is always best to have as much as you can afford in it. If you ever had some extra cash lying around (yeah right, how many of us have that), you could pump it into a better GPU like a flashed GTX 7800 or an Quadro FX 4500 for your late 2005 G5. Both of these are great cards and will help.

I still play quite a few games on the Quads. Games like Quake 4, Fable: TLC, VGP2 and 3, MTX MotoTrax, UT 2004 and others play well with the right setup. I am running flashed GTX 7800 and the FX 4500 in both of them along with 16GB RAM and they run great. Good luck with everything. The 4GB RAM was a good idea also.
My Badge Of Honor - Single Father of Three
Dedicated to My Mother, Patricia Lee Frabotta 1947-2009
Official Auto Sport Driving Website

#12 Togglemeister

Togglemeister

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

Posted 11 March 2014 - 01:10 AM

I do have to say the dual G5 machine has always been stable, running 10.5.8. The 256 mb Nvidia 6600 has never given me problems and was a nice improvement in Call of Duty United Offensive over my Quicksilver G4 with the 128mb ati 9800 card and Sonnet g4 1.4 ghz  upgrade!
(Now) Late 2013 27" 3.4 ghz iMac, stock configurations.
(Then) 2005 Powermac G5 Dual Core 2.3 ghz, Leopard, 256mb nvidia 6600GT.
(Archived) DA w/Single Sonnet G4 1.4 ghz  2mb L3, Tiger, 1 gb ram, 128 mb ati 9800 pro (AGP)

#13 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6075 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 11 March 2014 - 02:10 AM

That 6600 that was in the Quads was slllloooowww. I had no idea you were running that. If you want to speed up games and get tons of back for your buck, see if you can find the Mac 7800GT floating around on eBay. They're usually not very expensive and they WRECK the 6600.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#14 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3298 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 11 March 2014 - 07:55 AM

View PostFrost, on 11 March 2014 - 02:10 AM, said:

That 6600 that was in the Quads was slllloooowww. I had no idea you were running that. If you want to speed up games and get tons of back for your buck, see if you can find the Mac 7800GT floating around on eBay. They're usually not very expensive and they WRECK the 6600.

Official 7800 GT Mac Edition for $50 Buy it Now

I would also highly recommend this upgrade. It's easily the best performance jump you'll get for the price.
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB