Jump to content


HELP: Disabling Refresh Rate in Windows 8.1


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6094 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 17 February 2014 - 02:27 AM

Any of you PC gamers know how to prevent Windows from using a certain refresh rate? As in disable it, or mark it as unusable?

I still use my old CAD-grade 16:10 24" Sony CRT for gaming because:
  • Zero input lag at all resolutions
  • No ghosting
  • AMAZING color/image quality
Unfortunately it does introduce one problem. I run at 1920x1200@96Hz pretty much all the time. However, Windows 8.1 thinks 1920x1200@100Hz on my monitor is an acceptable refresh rate even though 96Hz is as high as it goes at 1920x1200.

The vast majority of games will either use what the system is using (1920x1200@96Hz), or give me the option to select a resolution AND refesh rate. However, a small subset simply grab the maximum available refresh rate for a given resolution and run in that. That results in me getting a blank screen until I Alt-Tab back out and use Task Manager to kill the program. I'm wanting to play one of those games lately and that's annoying the crap out of me.

Any solutions?

If it helps at all, the monitor model is an SGI GDM-FW9011 (basically a rebadged Sony GDM-FW900).
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#2 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4265 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 17 February 2014 - 08:09 AM

Have you tried...

Right-click the desktop, and select Screen Resolution.
Find the "Advanced Settings" link in the big assed control panel window.
In that new little window, click to "Monitor".
Is the checkbox to hide unusable settings enabled or disabled?

Also, are there any actual "drivers" for that monitor? As having a driver for it may present windows 8 with a list of valid hz settings.

I am not sure where you would go into the registry to edit acceptable hz ratings for a monitor.

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#3 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17432 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 17 February 2014 - 10:21 AM

Hello, Battle Cat Help Desk.  Good morning sir.  Tweak a monitor refresh rate in Windows?  Have you tried punching your monitor?  I don't mean a jab or a right cross,  I'm talkin' full on face caving Dragon Ball Z Goku Super Saiyan dragon punch.  Next stand over the wreckage and bellow your rage.  Duct tape it back together on the desk and fire that puppy up.  You should be good to go.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#4 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6094 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 17 February 2014 - 11:00 PM

The hide unusable settings checkbox is actually grayed out and unclickable...

I found drivers for the monitor. They were made for XP and haven't been updated since 2003, but let's see if they work.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#5 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17432 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 18 February 2014 - 12:55 PM

Come on Frost, repeat after me... Ka-meh-a-meh-AAAAAAAAAA.  It will be down there in the crater, just tape it back up.  Do it.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#6 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6094 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 18 February 2014 - 10:50 PM

<Ahnold voice> Yooh sahn of a bihtch.</Ahnold voice> I tried it and the vacuum tube imploded so hard it took my entire home office with it. Now there's this tiny little approximation of a neutron star where it used to be.

That's the LAST time I ever use Battle Cat Help Desk!
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#7 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17432 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 19 February 2014 - 10:23 AM

USER ERROR!!
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#8 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8102 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 19 February 2014 - 10:30 AM

View PostFrost, on 18 February 2014 - 10:50 PM, said:

<Ahnold voice> Yooh sahn of a bihtch.</Ahnold voice> I tried it and the vacuum tube imploded so hard it took my entire home office with it. Now there's this tiny little approximation of a neutron star where it used to be.

That's the LAST time I ever use Battle Cat Help Desk!
Did you try turning it off and then on again?

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#9 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3301 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 20 February 2014 - 09:17 PM

I love how this thread purely consists of 3 mods and an admin talking. So much power in one place
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#10 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6094 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 20 February 2014 - 11:45 PM

Windows 8 doesn't recognize the XP-era drivers and won't let me install. Can't find a way to make the hide unusable resolutions checkbox stop being grayed out either. Bastage.

Meanwhile OSX "just works" with that monitor no matter if it's Lion, Tiger, or Bear Mavericks.


View PostSneaky Snake, on 20 February 2014 - 09:17 PM, said:

I love how this thread purely consists of 3 mods and an admin talking. So much power in one place
B&
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#11 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17432 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 21 February 2014 - 02:28 PM

View PostSneaky Snake, on 20 February 2014 - 09:17 PM, said:

I love how this thread purely consists of 3 mods and an admin talking. So much power in one place

LOOK!!  A CIVILIAN!!  OK men, agonizers at the ready... JUMP HIM!
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#12 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6094 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 20 April 2014 - 02:04 PM

I finally sound a solution to this: Custom Resolution Utility

Takes care of Windows' thinking my monitor has modes it doesn't have. So odd. Normally you'd think Windows would have legacy support longer than OSX, but in this case, nope.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#13 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6094 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 16 May 2014 - 11:16 PM

View PostSneaky Snake, on 20 February 2014 - 09:17 PM, said:

I love how this thread purely consists of 3 mods and an admin talking. So much power in one place
You are sneaky, indeed. It took me 3 months to realize it was 2 admins and 2 mods instead of 3 mods and an admin as you said.

If you were a snake, you'd have bit... waitaminute.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.