Jump to content


Mobile forum pretty annoying


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3812 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 09 March 2013 - 05:04 AM

On my iPhone I always get the mobile version of the forum displayed. It works fine as such, except that scrolling and going back and forth between threads and the front page, or scrolling the front page, creates black "loading" boxes on top of each other that doesnt go away.


"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#2 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4265 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 09 March 2013 - 08:39 AM

Haha. haha! HAHA...

Yeah, I don't touch the mobile part of this forum package. Its using whatever it does. The new IPB code completely rewrites itself when a mobile device hits is... it no longer uses a 'mobile version' template that I can go in and edit. As such, I guess they havn't worked out all the bugs in the new mobile 'mode' it has. I am reluctant to update to the new 3.4 (we use 3.3.x), because as with every new point release of IPB, it means going in and spending hours figuring out how to put in all my hooks and update all our templates. *sigh*

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#3 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17429 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 09 March 2013 - 10:08 AM

::plays good cop bad cop::

Oh my, I'll go into the IPB code and find out what's wrong, then send IPB a full report on how to fix it.  Don't mind my partner here, he's a good man but when his mother was pregnant with him she was frightened by some bad code.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#4 Eric5h5

Eric5h5

    Minion Tormentor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7160 posts

Posted 09 March 2013 - 11:47 AM

You can switch to the full version (scroll to the bottom).  I always do that since 99% of the time I hate "mobile" versions of sites.

--Eric

#5 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8100 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 09 March 2013 - 12:43 PM

I see that problem, too, but I think it's at least in part a problem of Mobile Safari: this bug first turned up after some iOS update quite a while ago. I'm not really sure which specific update it was, but it was one of the early iOS 5 ones.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#6 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6094 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 09 March 2013 - 04:32 PM

Yeah, I generally don't touch this site with my iPod Touch.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#7 Cougar

Cougar

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1371 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 21 November 2013 - 03:52 PM

Hey. at least this topic isn't locked.... :rolleyes:

#8 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3812 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 28 April 2015 - 01:20 AM

Would it be possible to kill the mobile skin? As mentioned, it doesnt work properly, no one wants to use it, it doesnt have any functionality, and the Full Version button is at the bottom!
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#9 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2045 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 28 April 2015 - 06:12 AM

Would it be possible to get tapatalk integration? I use that a lot on my phone for other, supported, forums.
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#10 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4265 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 28 April 2015 - 07:53 AM

The mobile thing should stop auto-changing.

As for frakabrilk ... no. I dont have time to look into something thats not already part of the system ;)

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#11 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2045 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 28 April 2015 - 08:43 AM

DO it. I'll give you an 8/8 support rating.

https://tapatalk.com....php?plugin=ipb
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#12 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4265 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 28 April 2015 - 09:10 AM

Posted Image

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#13 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2045 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 28 April 2015 - 09:20 AM

This is 2/8 levels of support here.
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#14 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17429 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 28 April 2015 - 01:32 PM

You know Fm, that horse head cropped and scaled down would make a great avatar for you.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#15 Mr Pink

Mr Pink

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 393 posts

Posted 29 October 2017 - 08:43 AM

IGM's IP.Board forum software doesn't work with Smart Punctuation, which is standard now on iOS 11.
Is there any way to make it recognise ‘ and ’ instead of only ' ?
That would make posting on here on iOS much easier.