Jump to content


Dungeons and Dragons Online for Mac


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Diablofett

Diablofett

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Location:Hyrule

Posted 29 January 2013 - 08:48 PM

Mac Native Client released... yay.

http://forums.ddo.co...ad.php?t=402138

#2 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7107 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 30 January 2013 - 12:51 AM

Oh, nice! :D DDO is the only MMORPG I'm playing from time to time.

Woah! I just noticed the system requirements. But apparently that's only due to limited testing.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#3 Diablofett

Diablofett

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Location:Hyrule

Posted 30 January 2013 - 09:05 AM

Yes, I am not a fan of the 10.7+ requirement. Some people have gotten it to run on 10.6.8. I will possibly give it a try when I have time to play, but I am definitely not upgrading the OS for a game.

#4 TheBunny

TheBunny

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts

Posted 31 January 2013 - 12:10 PM

Hi Diablofett,

Remember that 10.7 introduces a complete rewrite and modernization of the Open GL stack on OSX.
For game devs this is a really attractive target, OpenGL 3.2, modern shaders etc.
This it is a real tangible reason for user to upgrade the OS.

#5 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2658 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 31 January 2013 - 02:40 PM

View PostDiablofett, on 30 January 2013 - 09:05 AM, said:

Yes, I am not a fan of the 10.7+ requirement. Some people have gotten it to run on 10.6.8. I will possibly give it a try when I have time to play, but I am definitely not upgrading the OS for a game.

Why not just go straight to 10.8 ? it's pretty much just 10.7 with a lot of the bugs ironed out. Their system requirements are very confusing and don't make a lot of sense.

They say if your on a 13" MBP you need HD4000, but if your on a mini then HD3000 is fine. They also say you'll need a 650M, why not the 6750M - since it's way faster then the HD4000? I'm sure the 6750 (and the 9600M) will work, but it just seems odd how they worded everything, and might through some people off who have those components, but don't know a lot about their computer (ie: you might get people 'upgrading' their 2.2 GHz quad 15" MBP with 6750M to a 13" MBP with HD4000)
- Snake

Tulkas - 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 16 GB RAM || ATi 4870  ||  512 GB Crucial M500 + 2 TB WD Black || OS X Mavericks
Odinheim - Core i3 4150 @ 3.5 GHz || 16 GB RAM || GTX 760  || 120 GB Vertex 4 + 1 TB Seagate SSHD || Win 7 Pro x64

#6 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3006 posts
  • Steam ID:ThainEshKelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 31 January 2013 - 02:43 PM

Yes, don't ever stop at Lion...
"They're everywhere!"

And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m.

#7 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7107 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 31 January 2013 - 03:06 PM

View PostSneaky Snake, on 31 January 2013 - 02:40 PM, said:

Their system requirements are very confusing and don't make a lot of sense.
As I said, it's apparently due to limited testing. A quote from the announcement post:

Quote

These system requirements are based on the hardware used during the porting and validation effort. As a result, they reflect the newest hardware available from Apple.

I just finally found the time to test the Mac client, and I'm 100% sure that it will also run on less capable hardware than stated. I had it running at ultra-high settings at 1440x900 on my MBP, and it ran silky smooth. Other than that, it's noticeable that it's a beta (few minor graphical glitches, some UI errors), but by and large, it runs pretty well and stable already (apart from a crash on quitting).

Oh yes, regarding the possible OpenGL 3.x requirement: I noticed that all optional Direct X 10 and 11 eye candy is greyed out, so it apparently running on a pure DX9 level — so it seems unlikely that OpenGL 3.x is really necessary.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#8 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2658 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 31 January 2013 - 04:24 PM

View PostJanichsan, on 31 January 2013 - 03:06 PM, said:

As I said, it's apparently due to limited testing. A quote from the announcement post:


I just finally found the time to test the Mac client, and I'm 100% sure that it will also run on less capable hardware than stated. I had it running at ultra-high settings at 1440x900 on my MBP, and it ran silky smooth. Other than that, it's noticeable that it's a beta (few minor graphical glitches, some UI errors), but by and large, it runs pretty well and stable already (apart from a crash on quitting).

Oh yes, regarding the possible OpenGL 3.x requirement: I noticed that all optional Direct X 10 and 11 eye candy is greyed out, so it apparently running on a pure DX9 level — so it seems unlikely that OpenGL 3.x is really necessary.

What MBP do you have?
- Snake

Tulkas - 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 16 GB RAM || ATi 4870  ||  512 GB Crucial M500 + 2 TB WD Black || OS X Mavericks
Odinheim - Core i3 4150 @ 3.5 GHz || 16 GB RAM || GTX 760  || 120 GB Vertex 4 + 1 TB Seagate SSHD || Win 7 Pro x64

#9 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7107 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 01 February 2013 - 02:21 AM

View PostSneaky Snake, on 31 January 2013 - 04:24 PM, said:

What MBP do you have?
A mid-2012 15" Retina MBP with 2.6 GHz i7 — which basically would scrape the bottom of the given system requirements regarding the GPU.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#10 doh123

doh123

    Wineskin

  • Developer
  • PipPipPip
  • 159 posts

Posted 01 February 2013 - 12:38 PM

View PostJanichsan, on 01 February 2013 - 02:21 AM, said:

A mid-2012 15" Retina MBP with 2.6 GHz i7 — which basically would scrape the bottom of the given system requirements regarding the GPU.
that is NOT scraping the bottom.. way above it.  Their requirements aren't accurate, they just listed what they tested with, not what is actually needed.  When they say Intel HD graphics works... a 650m is MUCH better.

#11 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7107 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 01 February 2013 - 04:06 PM

View Postdoh123, on 01 February 2013 - 12:38 PM, said:

that is NOT scraping the bottom.. way above it.
I tend to forget that irony doesn't transport well over the internet...

I'm of course aware that the 650M isn't a slouch — nevertheless, it's the slowest Nvidia GPU given in the requirements (simply by being the only Nvidia GPU....).

Quote

Their requirements aren't accurate, they just listed what they tested with, not what is actually needed.
Which is exactly what I said.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#12 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2658 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 01 February 2013 - 10:39 PM

View PostJanichsan, on 01 February 2013 - 04:06 PM, said:

I tend to forget that irony doesn't transport well over the internet...

I'm of course aware that the 650M isn't a slouch — nevertheless, it's the slowest Nvidia GPU given in the requirements (simply by being the only Nvidia GPU....).

I wonder how the 8600M/9600M will do, since they are faster then the hd3000
- Snake

Tulkas - 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 16 GB RAM || ATi 4870  ||  512 GB Crucial M500 + 2 TB WD Black || OS X Mavericks
Odinheim - Core i3 4150 @ 3.5 GHz || 16 GB RAM || GTX 760  || 120 GB Vertex 4 + 1 TB Seagate SSHD || Win 7 Pro x64

#13 Diablofett

Diablofett

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Location:Hyrule

Posted 02 February 2013 - 08:43 AM

View PostTheBunny, on 31 January 2013 - 12:10 PM, said:

Hi Diablofett,

Remember that 10.7 introduces a complete rewrite and modernization of the Open GL stack on OSX.
For game devs this is a really attractive target, OpenGL 3.2, modern shaders etc.
This it is a real tangible reason for user to upgrade the OS.

I am aware of all of that, however, I work in the audio field and require 10.6.8 due to certain software I use for my setup and work. A newer version of OpenGL is not exactly going to help out with that, now is it?

#14 Tesseract

Tesseract

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3497 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 02 February 2013 - 11:12 AM

I kind of expected this, since it's apparently based on the same engine as LotRO. So likely the same reasons for the 10.7 requirement (whatever they might be).

#15 Tetsuya

Tetsuya

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1936 posts
  • Location:MI

Posted 02 February 2013 - 07:41 PM

View PostDiablofett, on 02 February 2013 - 08:43 AM, said:

I am aware of all of that, however, I work in the audio field and require 10.6.8 due to certain software I use for my setup and work. A newer version of OpenGL is not exactly going to help out with that, now is it?

You can always run 10.6.8 in a VM via Parallells.

#16 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2658 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 03 February 2013 - 12:46 AM

View PostDiablofett, on 02 February 2013 - 08:43 AM, said:

I am aware of all of that, however, I work in the audio field and require 10.6.8 due to certain software I use for my setup and work. A newer version of OpenGL is not exactly going to help out with that, now is it?

Does 10.8 definitely break your audio software?
- Snake

Tulkas - 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 16 GB RAM || ATi 4870  ||  512 GB Crucial M500 + 2 TB WD Black || OS X Mavericks
Odinheim - Core i3 4150 @ 3.5 GHz || 16 GB RAM || GTX 760  || 120 GB Vertex 4 + 1 TB Seagate SSHD || Win 7 Pro x64

#17 Diablofett

Diablofett

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Location:Hyrule

Posted 03 February 2013 - 07:27 PM

View PostSneaky Snake, on 03 February 2013 - 12:46 AM, said:

Does 10.8 definitely break your audio software?

Yes it does, as some software I use requires Rosetta. I need 10.6.8.