Jump to content


Mac Game Store glitches


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3098 posts
  • Steam ID:ThainEshKelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 29 November 2012 - 05:02 AM

Okay, I wrote glitches, but I only have one - I thought other people in time could use the same thread if they find anything.

In any case: When I search for something on MGS, I get a "This is being send over an insecure connection, are you sure you want to continue?" popup, in Safari. Pretty annoying, and I don't care if an elite haxx0r knows I'm searching for Rage (Okay, maybe a little bit with The Sims, but I guess I can live with that).
"They're everywhere!"

And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m.

#2 Hansi

Hansi

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1754 posts
  • Steam ID:hansroberth
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 29 November 2012 - 02:54 PM

ISP or proxy related? Doesn't happen for me.

#3 Eric5h5

Eric5h5

    Minion Tormentor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7160 posts

Posted 29 November 2012 - 03:10 PM

It happens to me, but only if I'm on a page that resulted from buying something.

--Eric

#4 Hansi

Hansi

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1754 posts
  • Steam ID:hansroberth
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 29 November 2012 - 03:20 PM

So basically it's a HTTPS to HTTP jump warning, perfectly valid then, not an error. MGS might opt for just keeping all calls within the stores over HTTPS?

#5 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Joo

  • Admin
  • 3040 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 29 November 2012 - 03:21 PM

Right, it happens if you are in your account area, or on a purchase completed page (eg, you are on secure HTTPS while using the quick search form).

The only way I can 'fix' it, is by sending all searches from HTTPS, to HTTPS. Which, then in effect turns all search results into HTTPS, and every page from there into HTTPS... and then begs the question why don't I just force HTTPS on every single page view and link click then. Overhead, port clogging, whatever... its not something one normally wants to do.

Its a stupid 'security' alert. In practice there is nothing wrong with putting a benign input form on an HTTPS page, that goes to HTTP. Safari is just being retarded like apple gets at times. Switch to Chrome and you won't be bothered ;)

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#6 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 15857 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 29 November 2012 - 07:41 PM

I think of Hansi and Frigidman as the "Brain Guy" on Mystery Science Theatre 3000.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#7 Hansi

Hansi

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1754 posts
  • Steam ID:hansroberth
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 30 November 2012 - 01:44 AM

View PostFrigidman, on 29 November 2012 - 03:21 PM, said:

Overhead, port clogging, whatever... its not something one normally wants to do.

As usually when people make this claim, I'd point out the question of whether it's been profiled or not.

Now a days with modern hardware the overhead is so minimal it's normally not noticeable.

I'd say the better user experience of people not getting the error message should be worth it for the store.

#8 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3098 posts
  • Steam ID:ThainEshKelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 30 November 2012 - 03:53 AM

View PostFrigidman, on 29 November 2012 - 03:21 PM, said:

Right, it happens if you are in your account area, or on a purchase completed page (eg, you are on secure HTTPS while using the quick search form).
I get it on the front page no matter if I'm logged in to my account or not, as soon as I go to the website, which I find quite annoying!
"They're everywhere!"

And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m.

#9 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Joo

  • Admin
  • 3040 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 30 November 2012 - 09:10 AM

View PostHansi, on 30 November 2012 - 01:44 AM, said:

As usually when people make this claim, I'd point out the question of whether it's been profiled or not.

Now a days with modern hardware the overhead is so minimal it's normally not noticeable.

I'd say the better user experience of people not getting the error message should be worth it for the store.

It has been mapped, and with the load of traffic there is with the hardware and services available, it does cause a noticeable overall slow down. There is always an endless mile of optimizations that can be done to reduce it, but a company has to weigh return vs costs of development time to decide if its worth it. If the store was a much smaller beast, a personal project, etc, then I would prolly just force everything into HTTPS at the server level and be done with it. (I like HTTPS for many MANY reason I wont go into :)

View PostThain Esh Kelch, on 30 November 2012 - 03:53 AM, said:

I get it on the front page no matter if I'm logged in to my account or not, as soon as I go to the website, which I find quite annoying!

Not sure how you are screwing it up like that ;) The only time I was actually able to get the warning, was by deliberately doing something to cause it. I've NEVER seen it show up on the home page just by loading the store, and trust me, I've loaded every page a jeeberillion times during development and beyond.

If you don't mind, I'd like to diagnose this issue with you to figure out who hacked your machine ;)

First up:
Are you running any interference apps (like anonymizers, Intego, norton)?
Is the bookmark you are using got 'https' in the front of it or 'http'?
Does the error dialog show up on page load, or after you try to input something in the quicksearch box?

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#10 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3098 posts
  • Steam ID:ThainEshKelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 30 November 2012 - 09:32 AM

View PostFrigidman, on 30 November 2012 - 09:10 AM, said:

If you don't mind, I'd like to diagnose this issue with you to figure out who hacked your machine ;)
One question, one free game!

Quote

First up:
Are you running any interference apps (like anonymizers, Intego, norton)?
Glims is the only thin I'm using, although I don't think its interfering in any way.

Quote

Is the bookmark you are using got 'https' in the front of it or 'http'?
Ahrem.. Might be my Safari history.. *Hides*

Quote

Does the error dialog show up on page load, or after you try to input something in the quicksearch box?
Input in the search box!

3 answers, 3 free games! Where do I collect them....?
"They're everywhere!"

And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m.

#11 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Joo

  • Admin
  • 3040 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 30 November 2012 - 10:50 AM

Butt Nuggets™
Ball Smashers®
Nut Stuffers™

Those three suffice?

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#12 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Joo

  • Admin
  • 3040 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 30 November 2012 - 11:00 AM

BTW, I made a small change, and you shouldn't see that issue with that form anymore.

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#13 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3098 posts
  • Steam ID:ThainEshKelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 30 November 2012 - 11:07 AM

View PostFrigidman, on 30 November 2012 - 10:50 AM, said:

Butt Nuggets™
Ball Smashers®
Nut Stuffers™

Those three suffice?
tBC already donated those to me.. :(
"They're everywhere!"

And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m.

#14 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 15857 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 30 November 2012 - 01:43 PM

View PostThain Esh Kelch, on 30 November 2012 - 11:07 AM, said:

tBC already donated those to me.. :(

It was just my little way of saying, "Get your balls smashed you nut stuffing, butt nugget!"
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#15 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3098 posts
  • Steam ID:ThainEshKelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 01 December 2012 - 04:30 AM

View Postthe Battle Cat, on 30 November 2012 - 01:43 PM, said:

It was just my little way of saying, "Get your balls smashed you nut stuffing, butt nugget!"
*Sniff* I always love when the christmas spirit hits you.. :')
"They're everywhere!"

And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m.