Jump to content


Borderlands 2 is on its way to the mac!

Aspyr

  • Please log in to reply
294 replies to this topic

#41 RGoulder

RGoulder

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Location:Post-RISD

Posted 20 November 2012 - 01:22 PM

View Postmacdude22, on 20 November 2012 - 01:05 PM, said:

It looks like Steam Cloud is only supported on one platform? I.E. Mac-Mac, Windows-Windows? I loaded it up on my MBP but I don't see any of the saves from my PC. Can anyone confirm?

I'm going to copy over the saves for now but crossplatform Steam Cloud would be desirable.


This appears to be correct. Aspyr has a support article on this:
http://support.aspyr...the-steam-cloud

#42 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4265 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 20 November 2012 - 01:23 PM

View PostUmarOMC1, on 13 November 2012 - 02:02 AM, said:

Firefox. Doesn't matter, though. I get the same error using the MGS app, too. PayPal's being useless to help them resolve the issue. Just to be fair I JUST tried Safari 6.0.2, same issue!

Wait, what... you having that really weird rare PayPal login issue too? Driving me mad, and I can't fix it, and all PayPal keep telling us is "its not your problem, tell customers to call us". Like, what?

View PostUmarOMC1, on 16 November 2012 - 04:41 PM, said:

Yeah, this is great news and timing; I just recently put in the time to beat Borderlands before this Borderlands 2 announcement and I hate Game Ranger. Its simply not the community it was in the few years from the betas on. Heck, my account number is 662.

I'm account #2.

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#43 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2028 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 20 November 2012 - 01:49 PM

View PostRGoulder, on 20 November 2012 - 01:22 PM, said:

This appears to be correct. Aspyr has a support article on this:
http://support.aspyr...the-steam-cloud

Well dern.....
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#44 AspyrRyan

AspyrRyan

    Aspyr

  • Developer
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Location:Austin, TX

Posted 20 November 2012 - 01:52 PM

Since the Mac and PC versions won't always be the same, problems could arise from going from the Mac (currently 1.1.3) to the PC (currently 1.2.2).  Hence, the Steam Clouds aren't shared.

#45 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2028 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 20 November 2012 - 02:10 PM

View PostAspyrRyan, on 20 November 2012 - 01:52 PM, said:

Since the Mac and PC versions won't always be the same, problems could arise from going from the Mac (currently 1.1.3) to the PC (currently 1.2.2).  Hence, the Steam Clouds aren't shared.

I'll live, sure would be nice though. I've got a PC in the basement I play a lot on (what I've currently been playing Borderlands 2 on). I imagine I'll just play more and more on the MBP.
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#46 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2028 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 20 November 2012 - 06:25 PM

I just noticed this on the FAQ

Quote

Q: Will I be able to sync my game saves between the PC and Mac version?
A: Yes!  Although, like the cross-platform multiplayer, the PC and Mac versions must be in sync for this to work.  Since the PC and Mac versions are expected to be in and out of sync frequently, at least for the first several months of the release, it’s recommended that players stick with a single platform to ensure they always have access to their game saves and in-game content.
Update: The PC and Mac version WILL BE OUT OF SYNC AT LAUNCH.  This means that neither cross-platform multiplayer nor Steam Cloud syncing will work until the versions sync up at a later date.

AspyrRyan, does this mean when the versions are in sync steam cloud sync will be enabled cross platform?
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#47 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2028 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 20 November 2012 - 06:30 PM

Has anyone been able to get a wired 360 controller to work? The FAQ states it will but no amount of dickering on my part seems to get it to work. Controller works fine elsewhere.
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#48 Wobblefoot

Wobblefoot

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
  • Steam Name:HulkPunchedThor
  • Location:Anchorage, AK

Posted 20 November 2012 - 06:46 PM

macdude22 - are you using the tattiebogle driver for your 360 controller? If I remember correctly, Borderlands 1 has built in support for the 360 controller and the TB driver needs to be disabled. Again, my recollection of which game requires this is fuzzy, but I thought that was the one. If so, Borderlands 2 might be the same way.

#49 BifBologna

BifBologna

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 356 posts
  • Location:Vista, CA

Posted 20 November 2012 - 06:47 PM

I'm slightly disappointed that the BL2 Steam Clouds are not shared. My plan was to play primarily on the Mac but be able to slide over to Boot Camp, for co-op with my PC friends, when the Mac and PC versions were out of sync.

#50 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2028 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 20 November 2012 - 06:57 PM

View PostWobblefoot, on 20 November 2012 - 06:46 PM, said:

macdude22 - are you using the tattiebogle driver for your 360 controller? If I remember correctly, Borderlands 1 has built in support for the 360 controller and the TB driver needs to be disabled. Again, my recollection of which game requires this is fuzzy, but I thought that was the one. If so, Borderlands 2 might be the same way.

Thanks brah, I indeed had installed that for Borderlands 1. I forgot I had installed anything to get that to work.
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#51 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1425 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 21 November 2012 - 01:31 AM

View PostBifBologna, on 20 November 2012 - 06:47 PM, said:

I'm slightly disappointed that the BL2 Steam Clouds are not shared. My plan was to play primarily on the Mac but be able to slide over to Boot Camp, for co-op with my PC friends, when the Mac and PC versions were out of sync.
Why don't you create a separate character for that?

Nice!
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#52 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1425 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 21 November 2012 - 04:22 AM

I just invested a few hours into Borderlands 2. Wow. I turned off Ambient Occlusion and bullet marks–like buttah!



NOTE: I did catch a bug regarding sound. Upon launch Borderlands 2 changes my Audio MIDI Setup Digital Out to 48kHz instead of my default 44.1kHz so I have to Shift-Tab out after launch, make the change and switch back to Borderlands 2 otherwise I hear nothing. My receiver, a DTT3500 Cambridge Soundworks, doesn't support 48kHz sound. :P
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#53 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1425 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 21 November 2012 - 02:03 PM

I almost started up Borderlands 2 and I have to go to work... am I crazy!?
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#54 MadDog

MadDog

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 119 posts

Posted 21 November 2012 - 03:13 PM

Is it possible to play B2 on 10.6.8 - using the same tricks as with Rage ?

Mad Dog

#55 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2028 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 21 November 2012 - 03:29 PM

Is anyone using a 360 controller? Now that I've got it working by disabling the TB driver all 4 of the ring lights constantly flash which is annoying as all get out. In windows (or with the TB driver) the player 1 ring lights up solid as expected.
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#56 RGoulder

RGoulder

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Location:Post-RISD

Posted 21 November 2012 - 04:32 PM

Has anybody managed to get the Veteran Skins in Borderlands 2? You're supposed to get them if it detects borderlands 1 saved games, which I have, but I can't seem to get it to work.

#57 AspyrRyan

AspyrRyan

    Aspyr

  • Developer
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Location:Austin, TX

Posted 21 November 2012 - 05:00 PM

It should be working with the natural save locations.  Where do you have the save games stored?

#58 lewdvig

lewdvig

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts

Posted 21 November 2012 - 05:22 PM

How does the game run? Anyone playing it on a MBP? It was like butter on a 660m GTX in the Y580 I just sold - the 650m is essentially the same chip clocked a bit slower.

#59 lewdvig

lewdvig

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts

Posted 21 November 2012 - 06:11 PM

Answered my own question. Runs awesome on a 2011 Macbook Air so it should be really good on the 650m.

#60 RGoulder

RGoulder

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Location:Post-RISD

Posted 21 November 2012 - 08:34 PM

View PostAspyrRyan, on 21 November 2012 - 05:00 PM, said:

It should be working with the natural save locations.  Where do you have the save games stored?

My old Borderlands saved games are stored in:
Users/My Username/Library/Preferences/Feral Interactive/Borderlands/SaveData

Kind of an odd place compared to most of the other games that tend to put saved games in application support but thats where the macgamestore version of Borderlands put them.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Aspyr