Jump to content


Lack Of Support For ATI X1xxx Graphics Card

ATI X1xxx

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Kromm

Kromm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 02 November 2012 - 10:04 AM

I was wondering if anyone could tell me if there are technical reasons for recent games not supporting the ATI X1xxx Graphics card in my Mac Pro. I realize my machine is getting up there in years but it is still quite fast for everything else I need it for.

Secondly, does anyone know of a good replacement Graphics card for my Mac Pro model 2,1? I run dual 23" Apple displays so would need one that supports that.

Thanks!

#2 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2666 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 02 November 2012 - 11:07 AM

Other World Computing says the 5870 is compatible. You can probably find it cheaper somewhere else

http://eshop.macsale.../Apple/6615719/
- Snake

Tulkas - 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 16 GB RAM || ATi 4870  ||  512 GB Crucial M500 + 2 TB WD Black || OS X Mavericks
Odinheim - Core i3 4150 @ 3.5 GHz || 16 GB RAM || GTX 760  || 120 GB Vertex 4 + 1 TB Seagate SSHD || Win 7 Pro x64

#3 Tetsuya

Tetsuya

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1965 posts
  • Location:MI

Posted 02 November 2012 - 02:20 PM

Any Flashed PC model should work.  Mine worked fine.

#4 Kromm

Kromm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 02 November 2012 - 07:53 PM

Snake, I think $400 for a Graphics card so I can play a couple of games is unlikely. I'd probably buy a new Mac before I do that.

Master Blaster, where do I find Flashed Graphics cards or the file so I can flash it myself?

#5 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2666 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 02 November 2012 - 10:55 PM

View PostKromm, on 02 November 2012 - 07:53 PM, said:

Snake, I think $400 for a Graphics card so I can play a couple of games is unlikely. I'd probably buy a new Mac before I do that.

Master Blaster, where do I find Flashed Graphics cards or the file so I can flash it myself?

Yes I agree. I was merely pointing out the official way to upgrade your graphics card. A lot of people have had good experiences and saved a lot of money by flashing a card to work. I have no experience in that area though.

This 5770 should also work in your Mac Pro, and is available officially for $250, but you can probably get a flashed one for around $100. It does say it requires 10.6.4. Not sure what version of OS X your running.
- Snake

Tulkas - 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 16 GB RAM || ATi 4870  ||  512 GB Crucial M500 + 2 TB WD Black || OS X Mavericks
Odinheim - Core i3 4150 @ 3.5 GHz || 16 GB RAM || GTX 760  || 120 GB Vertex 4 + 1 TB Seagate SSHD || Win 7 Pro x64

#6 Matt Diamond

Matt Diamond

    Master Blaster

  • IMG Writers
  • 2003 posts
  • Location:Holland, PA; US
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 03 November 2012 - 08:57 AM

View PostSneaky Snake, on 02 November 2012 - 10:55 PM, said:

This 5770 should also work in your Mac Pro, and is available officially for $250, but you can probably get a flashed one for around $100. It does say it requires 10.6.4. Not sure what version of OS X your running.

I have the 5770 myself and I'm very happy with it (Mac Pro 3,1).

As i understand it if you have a flashed version you won't get the Apple boot screen. Probably a small price to pay, but over the (many) years I've troubleshooted a few Macs from icons the boot screen put up, so I felt more comfortable buying the official one.  I got it for $220 2 years ago from MacConnection-- it was a decent price at the time. Was also watching eBay but if you do make sure they are up front about whether its flashed or not. Careful perusal of the photo and listing will usually tell. On principle don't do business with anyone who appears to be hedging.
Matt Diamond - www.mindthecube.com
Measure twice, cut once, curse three or four times.

#7 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 603 posts

Posted 03 November 2012 - 11:01 AM

In the pre-2008 Mac Pros the 5770 makes the most sense as there isn't enough gain with a 5870 because of the PCI-E bus bottleneck.

#8 Tetsuya

Tetsuya

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1965 posts
  • Location:MI

Posted 06 November 2012 - 03:48 PM

View Postmattw, on 03 November 2012 - 11:01 AM, said:

In the pre-2008 Mac Pros the 5770 makes the most sense as there isn't enough gain with a 5870 because of the PCI-E bus bottleneck.

No such thing, really.  Anandtech did exhaustive tests and except at the most absurd resolutions with the most absurd amount of details and effects enabled, there was no performance difference for video cards plugged into 16x lanes vs 4x lanes.  I also never had a problem seeing the OSX/Mac Bootup screen with either a flashed 4870 (original Mac Pro) or my Nehalem quad core (flashed 5870).

#9 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 603 posts

Posted 09 November 2012 - 02:26 PM

I recall reading that PCI-E bottleneck was a myth as well, but I also remember a test of a 5770 versus a 5870 in a 2006 Mac Pro and the results being almost identical - hence given the price difference at the time it didn't appear worthwhile. That said no doubt you can pick a 5870 up cheap these days if you're prepared to flash a PC one and it will certainly work.

#10 Tetsuya

Tetsuya

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1965 posts
  • Location:MI

Posted 09 November 2012 - 06:36 PM

View Postmattw, on 09 November 2012 - 02:26 PM, said:

I recall reading that PCI-E bottleneck was a myth as well, but I also remember a test of a 5770 versus a 5870 in a 2006 Mac Pro and the results being almost identical - hence given the price difference at the time it didn't appear worthwhile. That said no doubt you can pick a 5870 up cheap these days if you're prepared to flash a PC one and it will certainly work.

There's some likelihood that that system is bottlenecking somewhere else, be it CPU, FSB, or wherever.  Those old Pros (i still have one sitting here) used relatively slow DDR2 RAM and a slower FSB.  I doubt it was the PCIe bus bottlenecking it.