Jump to content


Empire: Total War v. Rome: Total War


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 dojoboy

dojoboy

    DJJ is the greatest!

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3373 posts
  • Steam ID:dojoboy65
  • Location:Tansi (USA)
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 13 September 2012 - 10:16 AM

I never got bit by the 'Rome: Total War' bug. It seems I'd often get lost in the 3D battle screen trying to pan, zoom, maneuver, etc.

How does 'Empire: Total War' improve upon the UI, etc?
"There is no end to sorrow."  ---Van Gogh

#2 DaveyJJ

DaveyJJ

    All hail Bastet

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3802 posts
  • Steam Name:DaveyJJ
  • Location:Inside Bastet's secret temple preparing for the catpocalypse.

Posted 13 September 2012 - 10:44 AM

View Postdojoboy, on 13 September 2012 - 10:16 AM, said:

I never got bit by the 'Rome: Total War' bug.

I'm never speaking to you again.
Raven 27" i3 iMac 3.2GHz | 12GB RAM | 1TB HD | 512MB 5670 ATI Radeon HD
Crow iPad 2 | 32GB WiFi


"Not my circus, not my monkeys." -- Polish folk saying
"In ancient times cats were worshipped as gods; they have not forgotten this." -- Terry Pratchett
"I love cats because I enjoy my home; and little by little, they become its visible soul." -- Jean Cocteau

#3 dojoboy

dojoboy

    DJJ is the greatest!

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3373 posts
  • Steam ID:dojoboy65
  • Location:Tansi (USA)
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 13 September 2012 - 11:11 AM

Well,... . ::shrug::

I'll play it tonight....

I am a 'Rome Universalis Gold' junkie!!!!!
"There is no end to sorrow."  ---Van Gogh

#4 Tacohead

Tacohead

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 508 posts

Posted 13 September 2012 - 11:20 AM

I was reluctant to speak to dojoboy again as well until he said he was going to play it tonight. ;-)

On another note does anybody know what the differences between the Mac App Store version and any other versions will be? It looks like Feral has something cool planned that involves multiplayer and Game Center support but I don't know if that's relegated to the Mac App Store version only? I was looking at this game being my first real excuse to use Game Center on the Mac. I would much rather purchase it from the Mac Game Store today though (using the spiffy new client!).

-PN
27" iMac I7 (late 2013), 3.2 mhz, 16 gigs of RAM, NVIDEA GeForce GT 755M 1024 MB, Mac OS 10.9.2
iPad 3 64GB WiFi/iPhone 4S 32GB

#5 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7009 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 13 September 2012 - 11:29 AM

View PostTacohead, on 13 September 2012 - 11:20 AM, said:

It looks like Feral has something cool planned that involves multiplayer and Game Center support but I don't know if that's relegated to the Mac App Store version only?
Well, if there is Game Center support, it will only be in the MAS version. It's a prerequisite for an app to use the Game Center.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#6 Tacohead

Tacohead

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 508 posts

Posted 13 September 2012 - 12:16 PM

View PostJanichsan, on 13 September 2012 - 11:29 AM, said:

Well, if there is Game Center support, it will only be in the MAS version. It's a prerequisite for an app to use the Game Center.

That's kind of what I figured. Now I just need to know what exactly Game Center support will offer that the ones without it won't.

-PN
27" iMac I7 (late 2013), 3.2 mhz, 16 gigs of RAM, NVIDEA GeForce GT 755M 1024 MB, Mac OS 10.9.2
iPad 3 64GB WiFi/iPhone 4S 32GB

#7 Sargiel

Sargiel

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 905 posts
  • Location:West Sussex, England

Posted 13 September 2012 - 12:37 PM

Does this mean only the Mac App store has online multiplayer?

#8 Djevlen

Djevlen

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Location:Oslo, Norway

Posted 13 September 2012 - 01:08 PM

Yes, only the MAS one will have online multiplayer. That they´ll implement in a patch eventually.

The other versions will have LAN support though
Mid-2011 27' iMac:  i5 3.1Ghz 16gb ram 6970m 1gb 1tb HDD
2010 17' MBP i7 2.66Ghz 8gb ram GT330m512 320gb HDD
iPhone 5 Black 64gb
iPad 4 Black 64gb Wifi

#9 Sargiel

Sargiel

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 905 posts
  • Location:West Sussex, England

Posted 13 September 2012 - 01:25 PM

Hmm I think this is the first time I have to say 'that sucks' about a Feral project. I'm sure the game will be wonderful but I would like the chance to play online so I'll hold fire for the moment. Will the online be Mac to Mac only then via the Game Centre ?

#10 Djevlen

Djevlen

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Location:Oslo, Norway

Posted 13 September 2012 - 01:30 PM

I´d assume that it´ll only be Mac to Mac, its entirely Apple´s fault though as they are the ones who said that only apps on the MAS will be able to support the Game Centre.
Mid-2011 27' iMac:  i5 3.1Ghz 16gb ram 6970m 1gb 1tb HDD
2010 17' MBP i7 2.66Ghz 8gb ram GT330m512 320gb HDD
iPhone 5 Black 64gb
iPad 4 Black 64gb Wifi

#11 Tacohead

Tacohead

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 508 posts

Posted 13 September 2012 - 01:54 PM

I'm definitely going to still get it but I'm going to wait and see what exactly these Game Center features will be before deciding which version I'll be getting.

-PN
27" iMac I7 (late 2013), 3.2 mhz, 16 gigs of RAM, NVIDEA GeForce GT 755M 1024 MB, Mac OS 10.9.2
iPad 3 64GB WiFi/iPhone 4S 32GB

#12 DaveyJJ

DaveyJJ

    All hail Bastet

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3802 posts
  • Steam Name:DaveyJJ
  • Location:Inside Bastet's secret temple preparing for the catpocalypse.

Posted 13 September 2012 - 02:19 PM

I agree with Tacohead. The price is right though, for this game's goodinesss.
Raven 27" i3 iMac 3.2GHz | 12GB RAM | 1TB HD | 512MB 5670 ATI Radeon HD
Crow iPad 2 | 32GB WiFi


"Not my circus, not my monkeys." -- Polish folk saying
"In ancient times cats were worshipped as gods; they have not forgotten this." -- Terry Pratchett
"I love cats because I enjoy my home; and little by little, they become its visible soul." -- Jean Cocteau

#13 PoliSciGuy

PoliSciGuy

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts

Posted 13 September 2012 - 04:27 PM

Hello Gang,

Been a long time since I have posted anything.

I understand from Feral’s Facebook page that Empire Total War can be played on Gameranger for those who wish to play online – The Gameranger list has not been updated to reflect this though. My experience with playing games on GR is that one can expect a lot of dropped sessions (I played a lot of Homeworld 2 and Rome Total War on GR).

I have to say though that I am getting bummed out with the Mac ports of PC games. Company of Heroes on the Mac seems like a total waste of time and money. Fifty bucks for a game that can never go online and you can’t even play LAN games with? Yikes! You can still pick up the gold version of CoH for $ 10-15 on the PC.

Empire Total War seems like a bit of a lost cause too as it does not appear that Apple will allow people who did not buy it from their App store to play in the game center.
Also there is no Steam version. I mean come on!

So too me running boot camp and Win 7 is looking more and more like the way to go for gaming.

I would be curious to know though if ETW does indeed work on Gameranger.

All the best!

#14 DaveyJJ

DaveyJJ

    All hail Bastet

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3802 posts
  • Steam Name:DaveyJJ
  • Location:Inside Bastet's secret temple preparing for the catpocalypse.

Posted 14 September 2012 - 07:14 AM

View PostTacohead, on 13 September 2012 - 11:20 AM, said:

I was reluctant to speak to dojoboy again as well until he said he was going to play it tonight. ;-)

We made up. I sent flowers and some donuts and all is forgiven.
Raven 27" i3 iMac 3.2GHz | 12GB RAM | 1TB HD | 512MB 5670 ATI Radeon HD
Crow iPad 2 | 32GB WiFi


"Not my circus, not my monkeys." -- Polish folk saying
"In ancient times cats were worshipped as gods; they have not forgotten this." -- Terry Pratchett
"I love cats because I enjoy my home; and little by little, they become its visible soul." -- Jean Cocteau

#15 Tacohead

Tacohead

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 508 posts

Posted 14 September 2012 - 07:48 AM

View PostDaveyJJ, on 14 September 2012 - 07:14 AM, said:

We made up. I sent flowers and some donuts and all is forgiven.

Hah! Works for me! :P

-PN
27" iMac I7 (late 2013), 3.2 mhz, 16 gigs of RAM, NVIDEA GeForce GT 755M 1024 MB, Mac OS 10.9.2
iPad 3 64GB WiFi/iPhone 4S 32GB

#16 dojoboy

dojoboy

    DJJ is the greatest!

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3373 posts
  • Steam ID:dojoboy65
  • Location:Tansi (USA)
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 14 September 2012 - 07:52 AM

:-D

About the OP, is anyone going to answer his question? There was a question, you know.
"There is no end to sorrow."  ---Van Gogh

#17 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3662 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Steam ID:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 14 September 2012 - 09:45 AM

View Postdojoboy, on 14 September 2012 - 07:52 AM, said:

:-D

About the OP, is anyone going to answer his question? There was a question, you know.
What are you talking about? He must be going mad. I think he needs his head checked, and your too, while you're at it.

Lib.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 8GB RAM | 10.8.2 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State


#18 MichalM.Mac

MichalM.Mac

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts

Posted 14 September 2012 - 10:37 AM

Anyone interested in trying out multiplayer?

"LAN" play via LogMeIn Hamachi -> network: Mac-ETW pass: badapple

#19 DaveyJJ

DaveyJJ

    All hail Bastet

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3802 posts
  • Steam Name:DaveyJJ
  • Location:Inside Bastet's secret temple preparing for the catpocalypse.

Posted 14 September 2012 - 11:32 AM

View Postdojoboy, on 13 September 2012 - 10:16 AM, said:

I never got bit by the 'Rome: Total War' bug. It seems I'd often get lost in the 3D battle screen trying to pan, zoom, maneuver, etc.

How does 'Empire: Total War' improve upon the UI, etc?

View Postdojoboy, on 14 September 2012 - 07:52 AM, said:

:-D

About the OP, is anyone going to answer his question? There was a question, you know.

It's a really good question, but I don't off hand know the answer. Little time for games right now with the work I'm doing helping get the reprint of the wargame Up Front published after being nearly 30 years out of print.
Raven 27" i3 iMac 3.2GHz | 12GB RAM | 1TB HD | 512MB 5670 ATI Radeon HD
Crow iPad 2 | 32GB WiFi


"Not my circus, not my monkeys." -- Polish folk saying
"In ancient times cats were worshipped as gods; they have not forgotten this." -- Terry Pratchett
"I love cats because I enjoy my home; and little by little, they become its visible soul." -- Jean Cocteau

#20 PoliSciGuy

PoliSciGuy

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts

Posted 14 September 2012 - 12:04 PM

I played the PC version of Empire and can say that the UI is much the same as Rome. It is a bit better as you can see the field of fire of various units - which is great. You can see the UI in this vid. Hope that helps. Can someone confirm if you can infact play Empire on Gameranger?