Jump to content


WINE Engine WS91.5.12AMDSpeedHack

WINE WINEskin crossover wrappers

  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3318 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 03 September 2012 - 09:50 PM

This is a heads up especially for those of you who have ATIAMD hardware that for the most part the latest engine that is available in wineskin's winery is a good one to use. You get the latest fix with none of the slowdown that AMDATI hardware has with the latest WINE engines above 1.5. There's some performance improvement in general. However the biggest thing for me it has finally made some progress in fixing the performance problems Aliens vs Predator (2010) had with outdoor areas. It still has some sound issues with some sounds failing to play. I know that game isn't that well received and some of you may scoff at it being fully playable now but just so you know.. it's now an option to play for those of us with AMDATI hardware. Those of you on nvidia hardware may also see similar improvement on the engine without the AMD speed hack on just the plain 1.5.12 WINE engine. But that game may or may not have had any trouble on there previously. I don't know I never tried it on nvidia. For full disclosure there's still some slowdown in the outdoor areas and the indoor areas are still faster and after a while the game crashed but even so it's shown marked improvement over how AvP (2010) was running on it previously.

It still doesn't fix the weapons translucency problems the lithtech jupiter games such as Condemned and FEAR 1, 2 and their expansion packs have. However it works well with FEAR 3 which is neither a lithtech game nor is it made by monlith. So for those crossover games engine version 10.3 still works the best. Crossover 11 exhibits the same translucency problems that newer WINE engines exhibit.

I've upgraded most of my wineskin games to 1.5.12 now because it's such a good engine.

Oddly enough AvP (2010) has a gold compatibility rating in WINEHQ but i suppose that's with the drivers in Linux specifically the nvidia drivers in Linux. On OS X other games such as Wolfenstein (2009), Clive Barker's Jericho and Doom 3 loaded up with the sikkmod run more like gold rated games.
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#2 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1425 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 07 September 2012 - 04:50 PM

Links, man! Leeeeeeeeeenx!!!
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#3 doh123

doh123

    Wineskin

  • Developer
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts

Posted 07 September 2012 - 09:13 PM

Its not a real fix.. since the problem is in the drivers.  I just put the hack from pre-Wine 1.5.1 back in so ATI won't fall back to software rendering... so it can still have graphics problems in some games.

I did put up a beta for Wineskin 2.5.7 though... with some new fixes that should be nice.

#4 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3318 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 07 September 2012 - 09:31 PM

Well, unless driver update that has a true fix for it is forthcoming from AMD it's the best we can get at the moment. So real or not it counts to me. Going to give wineskin 2.5.7 a try.
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#5 doh123

doh123

    Wineskin

  • Developer
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts

Posted 08 September 2012 - 07:05 AM

I did find a bug happening to me in 2.5.7 I haven't figured out yet... leave the extra gamma correction off or the Wineskin daemon can crash... which is not good since it controls everything.

#6 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1425 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 18 September 2012 - 02:22 AM

Anyone have links for how to get a game to download via EA's Origin.exe? I try to download the free copy of Mass Effect 2 I'm entitled to and, among other errors, the main output error I notice in the Terminal is fixme:ole:CoGetClassObject CLSCTX_REMOTE_SERVER not supported

A window pops up from Origin app stating; "Windows prevented the application from creating a download directory. Please accept the UAC prompt to begin downloading this game."

:nods:
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#7 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8076 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 18 September 2012 - 02:38 AM

View PostUmarOMC1, on 18 September 2012 - 02:22 AM, said:

Anyone have links for how to get a game to download via EA's Origin.exe? I try to download the free copy of Mass Effect 2 I'm entitled to and, among other errors, the main output error I notice in the Terminal is fixme:ole:CoGetClassObject CLSCTX_REMOTE_SERVER not supported

A window pops up from Origin app stating; "Windows prevented the application from creating a download directory. Please accept the UAC prompt to begin downloading this game."

:nods:
Are you trying to run Origin via Wine? That doesn't work, as far as I know.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#8 doh123

doh123

    Wineskin

  • Developer
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts

Posted 18 September 2012 - 07:12 AM

probably need to download the game on Windows then move it over manually once you have it.

#9 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1425 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 21 September 2012 - 10:58 PM

View PostJanichsan, on 18 September 2012 - 02:38 AM, said:

Are you trying to run Origin via Wine? That doesn't work, as far as I know.
It works, that's how I launched and logged in to EA's Origin. Apparently there's something preventing me from downloading Mass Effect 2. Origin states that something is preventing it from creating a Directory for the download. WINE's output, albeit a bit more cryptic, seems to give a better explanation.
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#10 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8076 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 22 September 2012 - 02:10 PM

View PostUmarOMC1, on 21 September 2012 - 10:58 PM, said:

It works, that's how I launched and logged in to EA's Origin.
Yeah, but you cannot do anything useful with it, that's what I meant.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#11 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1425 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 22 September 2012 - 08:33 PM

View PostJanichsan, on 22 September 2012 - 02:10 PM, said:

Yeah, but you cannot do anything useful with it, that's what I meant.
Oh, okay, well I can buy games! :P
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#12 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1425 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 08 October 2012 - 02:17 PM

Trying 1.5.14 and 1.5.14 AMD/SpeedHack with Crysis 2. Speedhack runs it smoothly, albeit with graphic errors that make it unplayable in the beginning immediately upon entering the water where you have to swim to safety (screen turns black so I imagine it has to do with the alpha channel/DX11 effects). The regular 1.5.14 plays it without graphic flaws... save for the half-frame-a-second rendering, making it equally unplayable. :huh:
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#13 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3318 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 08 October 2012 - 02:55 PM

That's the tradeoff simply with some games..... as doh123 said earlier. You either get rendering errors with the AMDSpeedHack or 1FPS without it. That's why I use cider for some games and wineskin for others.

BTW, I tried 1.5.14AMDSpeedHack recently and it seems at least slightly slower than 1.5.13AMDSpeedHack with the more demanding games it works well with. 1.5.14 doesn't seem too bad with older games though.

Also it does not support DX11 at all right now and mostly just stubs out the features or if you try to run a game in DX11 mode it just fails to launch. You could be using DX9 and also be using Shader Model 4.0 (or maybe even 5.0 effects). They have begun making parsers for them (shader model 4.0+) they are not yet working as far as I can see.. at all. Like in Alan Wake.... they use Shader Model 4.0 effects for a few things later on in the game like effects for ghosts but instead of rendering errors it simply does not render the ghosts at all... they are completely invisible. I noticed this with Singularity too.... that game uses Shader Model 4.0 effects for ghosts and stuff like muzzle flashes. They simply don't render when wrapped in WINE or Cider and I use Cider since Singularity like most UE3 engine games has game breaking rendering errors in WINEHQ's WINE builds.

Those errors with the screen turning black could probably be down to driver or WINE rendering bugs rather than it running "DX11 effects" and having errors with them. You might want to try a Cider based wrapper for the Crysis games.
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#14 doh123

doh123

    Wineskin

  • Developer
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts

Posted 08 October 2012 - 08:56 PM

View PostUmarOMC1, on 08 October 2012 - 02:17 PM, said:

Trying 1.5.14 and 1.5.14 AMD/SpeedHack with Crysis 2. Speedhack runs it smoothly, albeit with graphic errors that make it unplayable in the beginning immediately upon entering the water where you have to swim to safety (screen turns black so I imagine it has to do with the alpha channel/DX11 effects). The regular 1.5.14 plays it without graphic flaws... save for the half-frame-a-second rendering, making it equally unplayable. :huh:
or get a non-AMD GPU.  On Macbooks that have the dual Intel/AMD you can just switch to the Intel in most games and get the fixed graphics and runs much faster... or if you have nvidia its no problem at all.

#15 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3318 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 08 October 2012 - 10:38 PM

That only works if you get a Mac that has one as you can't just swap out the card in many Macs short of replacing the entire thing (he probably can though since he has a Mac Pro). Maybe Apple will put some kepler based nvidia cards in the next iMac and Mac Mini refresh. One can hope. In the meantime some of us like myself are simply stuck with AMDATI hardware while we save our pennies to upgrade to an entirely new machine (to another desktop for me.. nothing personal that's just how I roll).

But yeah some people can't just run out and get a non AMDATI GPU on a whim.

.. Wait... integrated intel graphics are faster than discrete AMD GPUs? Oh right.. faster than how the AMD card is running WINE without the speedhack. Doesn't sound like much of a good solution to me though... having to use intel integrated graphics... :P
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#16 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1425 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 09 October 2012 - 02:05 AM

How the heck do I get Cider? I thought I had to be a developer or something... I vaguely remember maybe being able to "borrow" the components from any Cider-based game... hmmm...
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#17 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3318 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 09 October 2012 - 02:15 AM

Visit portingteam.com you can find out all about that stuff there.
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#18 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8076 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 09 October 2012 - 02:15 AM

View Postdoh123, on 08 October 2012 - 08:56 PM, said:

On Macbooks that have the dual Intel/AMD you can just switch to the Intel in most games and get the fixed graphics and runs much faster...
I have trouble to believe that the Intel HD3000 should be able to run Crysis 2 acceptably well...

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#19 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3318 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 09 October 2012 - 02:20 AM

Also to be clear shader model 4.0+ effects aren't present with ANY GPU in WINE, and especially not Cider they top out pretty much at Shader Model 3.0. So if your game hinges on those effects you are out of luck.
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#20 doh123

doh123

    Wineskin

  • Developer
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts

Posted 09 October 2012 - 07:04 AM

View PostJanichsan, on 09 October 2012 - 02:15 AM, said:

I have trouble to believe that the Intel HD3000 should be able to run Crysis 2 acceptably well...
I never said anything about how acceptable it can run... just that it will be faster than the AMD.  If Apple fixed their drivers some it wouldn't be a problem.  When Wine is trying to use it, the wrong info gets passed around because the drivers basically lie about capabilities, and it gets knocked back to software rendering on OS X's side, not Wine's.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: WINE, WINEskin, crossover, wrappers