Jump to content


Elder Scrolls Online


  • Please log in to reply
185 replies to this topic

#41 ikir

ikir

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 875 posts
  • Steam Name:ikir
  • Location:In front of my Mac

Posted 05 February 2013 - 06:15 PM

View PostTheBunny, on 04 February 2013 - 01:19 PM, said:




Why?

Honestly I was impressed. It runs well, looks good, performance is like on my game PC.
And they put in Mac specific options.
If you check the forums you will notice there are tons of bugs, last mac specific update is from October 2012, you can't activate some option because the wrapper is 32bit, there are many issue on retina MBP, fonts and performance...
The worst thing is ArenaNet didn't replay/check the mac forum, Transgaming didn't care...
ikir's personal page
MacBook Pro 13" 2016 i5 2,9Ghz - 8GB RAM - 512GB SSD
Thunderbolt 3 eGPU Radeon Nitro+ RX 480 4GB
LG 34UM95 Ultrawide Thunderbolt
Steelseries Rival 300, Steelseries Siberia v3Prism, Logitech K811

#42 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1425 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 07 February 2013 - 01:53 AM

View Postikir, on 03 February 2013 - 02:39 AM, said:

Signed for beta but no look yet :)

I love Guild Wars 2 but the cider client really sucks.

How so? Everything plays smoothly and looks great.
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#43 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1425 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 07 February 2013 - 02:02 AM

View Postikir, on 05 February 2013 - 06:15 PM, said:

If you check the forums you will notice there are tons of bugs, last mac specific update is from October 2012, you can't activate some option because the wrapper is 32bit, there are many issue on retina MBP, fonts and performance...
What options can't be activated due to being 32-bit?

I also don't understand anyone whose been gaming for awhile to expect smooth performance in more complex games with their game set to Retina-level resolution with the video card in the MacBook Pro.
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#44 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8075 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 07 February 2013 - 02:13 AM

View PostUmarOMC1, on 07 February 2013 - 02:02 AM, said:

I also don't understand anyone whose been gaming for awhile to expect smooth performance in more complex games with their game set to Retina-level resolution with the video card in the MacBook Pro.
You don't have to actually use Retina resolution to get issues with some games on Retina MBPs. There are a couple of games that simply seem to have problems with the way OS X handles resolutions on these Macs. I don't know what specific problems GW2 has, but for instance I cannot run Awesomenauts at 1440x900 on my MBP because the game just scales the graphics completely wrong then (it apparently tries to scale to 2880x1800, despite the setting). Waking Mars has similar problems. And it's not just indie games: even RAGE has some trouble with properly recognising resolutions on Retina MBPs.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#45 TheBunny

TheBunny

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Location:DC

Posted 07 February 2013 - 02:28 PM

View Postikir, on 05 February 2013 - 06:15 PM, said:

If you check the forums you will notice there are tons of bugs, last mac specific update is from October 2012, you can't activate some option because the wrapper is 32bit, there are many issue on retina MBP, fonts and performance...
The worst thing is ArenaNet didn't replay/check the mac forum, Transgaming didn't care...

I tried looking up the Retina issues. I have a 13" and 15" here and I found GW2 very playable at normal resolutions.
But it sounded some only some 15" R were effected on the forums.... so no idea what that was about still.

As for fonts? what was the problem there?

#46 ikir

ikir

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 875 posts
  • Steam Name:ikir
  • Location:In front of my Mac

Posted 07 February 2013 - 04:28 PM

You can't activate high-res textures.

You must reset SMC to make MPB 15 fast again wih GW2... quite odd, but maybe still a firmware problem of the machine itself.

Fonts are unreadable on Auction house. The real problem is no support and updates.

I play in 1440x900 or 1680x1050 not retina!
ikir's personal page
MacBook Pro 13" 2016 i5 2,9Ghz - 8GB RAM - 512GB SSD
Thunderbolt 3 eGPU Radeon Nitro+ RX 480 4GB
LG 34UM95 Ultrawide Thunderbolt
Steelseries Rival 300, Steelseries Siberia v3Prism, Logitech K811

#47 Mens

Mens

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Location:The Cloud District

Posted 09 February 2013 - 12:34 AM

View PostAussieMacGamer, on 04 May 2012 - 05:45 AM, said:

This all makes sense now, i wonder how long it's been in development for. It's as if they've had a slow plan to create some real hype around the series and then finally introduce a real money making model to showcase a new adventure

it has mean in development for a solid 2-3 years i think....

#48 Mens

Mens

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Location:The Cloud District

Posted 09 February 2013 - 07:44 AM

Is it going to be a (pay to play) or (free to play) ?

#49 TheBunny

TheBunny

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Location:DC

Posted 09 February 2013 - 10:48 AM

View Postikir, on 07 February 2013 - 04:28 PM, said:

Fonts are unreadable on Auction house. The real problem is no support and updates.

Thanks :)

View PostMens, on 09 February 2013 - 12:34 AM, said:

it has mean in development for a solid 2-3 years i think....

More like 7... console games take 2-3 years MMOs are much longer.

View PostMens, on 09 February 2013 - 07:44 AM, said:

Is it going to be a (pay to play) or (free to play) ?

Not announced yet.

#50 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1425 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 14 June 2013 - 02:41 AM

Check your email; New Beta Invites

EDIT: Sorry, just noticed the "for PC users" note... :cool:
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#51 ikir

ikir

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 875 posts
  • Steam Name:ikir
  • Location:In front of my Mac

Posted 16 June 2013 - 11:07 AM

View PostTheBunny, on 31 October 2012 - 10:07 PM, said:

Good to hear :)
mee too i will probably leave GW2... the support is terrible, just read the Mac forums... argh.
ikir's personal page
MacBook Pro 13" 2016 i5 2,9Ghz - 8GB RAM - 512GB SSD
Thunderbolt 3 eGPU Radeon Nitro+ RX 480 4GB
LG 34UM95 Ultrawide Thunderbolt
Steelseries Rival 300, Steelseries Siberia v3Prism, Logitech K811

#52 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1425 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 16 June 2013 - 07:25 PM

I haven't had any problems with Guild Wars 2. I also appreciate having paid up front one price and I get all expansions to the game. I suspect Elder Scrolls Online will be subscription based... I'll feel pressured to keep playing even though I'm married with kids and a full time job. I'd still really like to try it, though!
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#53 ikir

ikir

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 875 posts
  • Steam Name:ikir
  • Location:In front of my Mac

Posted 17 June 2013 - 05:57 AM

View PostUmarOMC1, on 16 June 2013 - 07:25 PM, said:

I haven't had any problems with Guild Wars 2. I also appreciate having paid up front one price and I get all expansions to the game. I suspect Elder Scrolls Online will be subscription based... I'll feel pressured to keep playing even though I'm married with kids and a full time job. I'd still really like to try it, though!
Forums is full of weird bugs (as the eagle one), they didn't give ANY support to Mac users just replying the client it is still in beta (last update October 2012). they admit to don't have Mac to test things..... THIS IS A DISASTER, THE WROST SUPPORT I'VE EVER SEE.
Just look around in the forums.
ikir's personal page
MacBook Pro 13" 2016 i5 2,9Ghz - 8GB RAM - 512GB SSD
Thunderbolt 3 eGPU Radeon Nitro+ RX 480 4GB
LG 34UM95 Ultrawide Thunderbolt
Steelseries Rival 300, Steelseries Siberia v3Prism, Logitech K811

#54 MGregory666

MGregory666

    Fanatic

  • IMG Writers
  • 72 posts
  • Steam Name:MGregory666
  • Location:North West, UK

Posted 01 July 2013 - 02:28 AM

I can't wait for this I really can't. My life will cease to exist for the first few months I believe.

#55 Jan

Jan

    Legendary

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 822 posts
  • Steam Name:Jan
  • Steam ID:janfeld
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 06 July 2013 - 05:36 PM

Does anyone know who is responsible for the Mac version? Is it an in-house port or did they hire an external company like CD Project RED did with The Witcher 2 and Virtual Programming.
Feral Account: Jan

MacBook 12" with Retina Display (Early 2015)
Core M 1,2 GHz | 8 GB RAM | 512 GB Flash
Intel HD5300 1536 MB VRAM
macOS Sierra

Now playing: Mad Max, Zelda: Breath of the Wild, Ultra Street Fighter II, Mario Kart 8 Deluxe

#56 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3707 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 19 July 2013 - 09:09 AM

View PostJan, on 06 July 2013 - 05:36 PM, said:

Does anyone know who is responsible for the Mac version? Is it an in-house port or did they hire an external company like CD Project RED did with The Witcher 2 and Virtual Programming.
I would think it is completely in-house, per what previous posts on this thread have said.

Lib.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 16GB RAM | 10.10.5 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State


#57 TheBunny

TheBunny

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Location:DC

Posted 27 July 2013 - 07:29 PM

View PostJan, on 06 July 2013 - 05:36 PM, said:

Does anyone know who is responsible for the Mac version? Is it an in-house port or did they hire an external company like CD Project RED did with The Witcher 2 and Virtual Programming.

I am, the games done in house, by me, I am on the client team full time.

Sorry if I was not clear in past postings.

#58 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8075 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 22 August 2013 - 06:01 AM

View PostMens, on 09 February 2013 - 07:44 AM, said:

Is it going to be a (pay to play) or (free to play) ?
It's announced now: subscription necessary.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#59 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3298 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 26 August 2013 - 07:36 PM

I don't mind a subscription for MMO's. I expect a much higher quality experience however because of the sub.
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#60 TheBunny

TheBunny

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Location:DC

Posted 04 October 2013 - 07:29 PM

Well I submitted all the code for Mac Beta 1 today :D

aka HAPPY DAY!