Jump to content


Doom 3 on Mac App Store


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1171 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 22 December 2011 - 10:27 AM

Surprised heck outta me... $9.99
OS X 10.9.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3520 2.66GHz/8GB RAM/NVIDIA GTX680 2GB

#2 Mister Mumbles

Mister Mumbles

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2510 posts
  • Steam Name:Mister Mumbles
  • Location:Not here; not there; not anywhere!

Posted 22 December 2011 - 10:44 AM

So's Aspyr capable of anything other than raiding its archives these days?
Formerly known as a Mac gamer.

#3 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3042 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 22 December 2011 - 11:59 AM

I'd only want it if they included the expansion pack and also compiled the sikkmod and included it with it. Otherwise I'd rather stick to what I have... Doom 3 + XP + sikkmod in a wrapper. I switched to it from Aspyr's version a while back and haven't had a reason to go back. Runs at 60FPS in there with the sikkmod improving the graphics and other nice touches like proper sprinting.
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#4 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7007 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 22 December 2011 - 01:23 PM

View PostMister Mumbles, on 22 December 2011 - 10:44 AM, said:

So's Aspyr capable of anything other than raiding its archives these days?
Apart from porting DNF?

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#5 Frost

Frost

    PowerPC Inside

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4931 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 23 December 2011 - 04:04 AM

It'd be better if they did what Steam is doing and offer a bundle of everything id ever made for $39.99, or everything Epic ever made for $9.99. Mac gamers' wallets need some love too.
Cypher (PowerMac G5 Quad) – 2x2.5 GHz PPC 970MP / 16GB ECC RAM / 1TB WDC Velociraptor, 2TB STX Constellation ES.2 / QuadroFX 4500 512MB
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.2 GHz Ci7 4770K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Crucial M550 M.2, 3TB STX Barracuda / GeForce GTX TITAN 6GB
Chromium (MacBook Pro Early 2008) – 2.6 GHz C2D T9500 / 4GB RAM / 960GB Crucial M500 / GeForce 8600M GT 512MB
Antimony (PowerBook G4 Titanium) – 1.0 GHz PPC 7455 / 1GB RAM / 480GB OWC Mercury Legacy Pro / Radeon 9000 64MB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#6 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 597 posts

Posted 23 December 2011 - 10:30 AM

It's nice that it is out there as the disc based version is probably out of print now but the source code has been released by ID and there is a project underway (iodoom3) to bring a modernised version out including a build for OS X.

I'll be able to play without the DVD then and it might even be possible to buy and play the expansion pack natively on OS X then. Quake 4 is probably the next question as it uses the same engine but I don't know if there were enough changes from Doom 3 to prevent an ioquake4 with the source out there at the moment.

#7 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2581 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 25 December 2011 - 12:46 AM

View PostJanichsan, on 22 December 2011 - 01:23 PM, said:

Apart from porting DNF?

they're spending valuable porting time on that??

Posted Image
- Snake

Tulkas - 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 16 GB RAM || ATi 4870  ||  512 GB Crucial M500 + 2 TB WD Black || OS X Mavericks
Odinheim - AMD FX-8320 @ 4.1 GHz || 16 GB RAM || GTX 760  || 120 GB Vertex 4 + 1 TB Seagate SSHD || Win 7 Pro x64

#8 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3042 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 25 December 2011 - 11:32 AM

I think you are a tad too late on that Sneaky Snake.. it's already been done. They spent their time on it... past tense.... it happened last summer.  :cool:
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#9 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1171 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 25 December 2011 - 11:45 PM

Anyone try to load saved games from the DVD version? I'm considering the purchase just to not have to pop the disc in... thanks.
OS X 10.9.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3520 2.66GHz/8GB RAM/NVIDIA GTX680 2GB

#10 ikir

ikir

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 789 posts
  • Steam Name:ikir
  • Location:In front of my Mac

Posted 28 December 2011 - 03:50 AM

I never liked Doom 3 style of play... monster always know where you are and spawn behind you... pretty stupid and no tactical at all. Anyway i've bought it since it is quite cheap and i always wanted to play it all and finish it.
ikir's personal page
MacBook pro 13" retina 2013
i5 2,6Ghz, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD, Iris graphics
Roccat Kone XTD, Logitech K811, Belkin Thunderbolt Express