Jump to content


Doom 3 on Mac App Store


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1215 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 22 December 2011 - 10:27 AM

Surprised heck outta me... $9.99
OS X 10.10.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/8GB RAM/NVIDIA GTX680 2GB

#2 Mister Mumbles

Mister Mumbles

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2510 posts
  • Steam Name:Mister Mumbles
  • Location:Not here; not there; not anywhere!

Posted 22 December 2011 - 10:44 AM

So's Aspyr capable of anything other than raiding its archives these days?
Formerly known as a Mac gamer.

#3 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3311 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 22 December 2011 - 11:59 AM

I'd only want it if they included the expansion pack and also compiled the sikkmod and included it with it. Otherwise I'd rather stick to what I have... Doom 3 + XP + sikkmod in a wrapper. I switched to it from Aspyr's version a while back and haven't had a reason to go back. Runs at 60FPS in there with the sikkmod improving the graphics and other nice touches like proper sprinting.
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#4 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7240 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 22 December 2011 - 01:23 PM

View PostMister Mumbles, on 22 December 2011 - 10:44 AM, said:

So's Aspyr capable of anything other than raiding its archives these days?
Apart from porting DNF?

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#5 Frost

Frost

    PowerPC Inside

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5274 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 23 December 2011 - 04:04 AM

It'd be better if they did what Steam is doing and offer a bundle of everything id ever made for $39.99, or everything Epic ever made for $9.99. Mac gamers' wallets need some love too.
Cypher (PowerMac G5 Quad) – 2x2.5 GHz PPC 970MP / 16GB ECC RAM / 1TB WDC Velociraptor, 2TB STX Constellation ES.2 / QuadroFX 4500 512MB
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.2 GHz Ci7 4770K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Crucial M550 M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 3TB STX Barracuda / GeForce GTX TITAN 6GB
Chromium (MacBook Pro Early 2008) – 2.6 GHz C2D T9500 / 4GB RAM / 1TB Crucial M550 / GeForce 8600M GT 512MB
Antimony (PowerBook G4 Titanium) – 1.0 GHz PPC 7455 / 1GB RAM / 480GB OWC Mercury Legacy Pro / Radeon 9000 64MB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#6 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts

Posted 23 December 2011 - 10:30 AM

It's nice that it is out there as the disc based version is probably out of print now but the source code has been released by ID and there is a project underway (iodoom3) to bring a modernised version out including a build for OS X.

I'll be able to play without the DVD then and it might even be possible to buy and play the expansion pack natively on OS X then. Quake 4 is probably the next question as it uses the same engine but I don't know if there were enough changes from Doom 3 to prevent an ioquake4 with the source out there at the moment.

#7 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2714 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 25 December 2011 - 12:46 AM

View PostJanichsan, on 22 December 2011 - 01:23 PM, said:

Apart from porting DNF?

they're spending valuable porting time on that??

Posted Image
- Snake

Tulkas - 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 16 GB RAM || ATi 4870  ||  512 GB Crucial M500 + 2 TB WD Black || OS X Mavericks
Odin - Core i3 4150 @ 3.5 GHz || 16 GB RAM || GTX 760  || 120 GB Vertex 4 + 1 TB Seagate SSHD || Win 7 Pro x64

#8 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3311 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 25 December 2011 - 11:32 AM

I think you are a tad too late on that Sneaky Snake.. it's already been done. They spent their time on it... past tense.... it happened last summer.  :cool:
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#9 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1215 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 25 December 2011 - 11:45 PM

Anyone try to load saved games from the DVD version? I'm considering the purchase just to not have to pop the disc in... thanks.
OS X 10.10.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/8GB RAM/NVIDIA GTX680 2GB

#10 ikir

ikir

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 833 posts
  • Steam Name:ikir
  • Location:In front of my Mac

Posted 28 December 2011 - 03:50 AM

I never liked Doom 3 style of play... monster always know where you are and spawn behind you... pretty stupid and no tactical at all. Anyway i've bought it since it is quite cheap and i always wanted to play it all and finish it.
ikir's personal page
MacBook pro 13" retina 2013
i5 2,6Ghz, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD, Iris graphics
Madcatz R.A.T. MMO7, Logitech K811