Jump to content


Limbo


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7238 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 10 November 2011 - 02:25 PM

Also thought Limbo looked interesting?



Rejoice. It's coming to Mac. This year. :)

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#2 Sargiel

Sargiel

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 908 posts
  • Location:West Sussex, England

Posted 10 November 2011 - 04:14 PM

Yep liking the trailer - well worth a look, Thanks for the heads up :)

#3 mindnoise

mindnoise

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Steam ID:Exploding-Bob
  • Location:Delusive-Ville

Posted 10 November 2011 - 04:40 PM

View PostSargiel, on 10 November 2011 - 04:14 PM, said:

Yep liking the trailer - well worth a look, Thanks for the heads up :)

Just finished it. Very dense and great athmo and setting with decent jump & run puzzles. It´s more like an experience than a complete game.
So yeah, since it´s a puzzler it can get pretty annoying to find THAT on sequence of action that get you to the next ... puzzle. and mostly the Autosave Points are set just right.
It´s fun for the 4 hours or so that it lasts.
hey, don´t worry - it´s only red pixels on your hands...

- MacBook Pro 13" 2011 i5@2.3GHz, intel HD3000, 8GB RAM, OSX 10.9.x / W7 Pro x64
- iPad Air, 16Gb
- MacBook C2D, 1,83GHz, intel GMA950, 2GB RAM, OSX 10.6.x / XP 32bit Home SP3
- iPad 2, 16GB
- iPod Touch 4G, 8GB
-> The (nearly) ultimate intel HD 3000 gaming performance sheet <-

#4 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7238 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 21 December 2011 - 01:26 PM

There it is. A Steam version will come later.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#5 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1215 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 23 December 2011 - 12:14 AM

AWESOME!!!
OS X 10.10.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/8GB RAM/NVIDIA GTX680 2GB

#6 mindnoise

mindnoise

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Steam ID:Exploding-Bob
  • Location:Delusive-Ville

Posted 13 January 2012 - 01:35 PM

Limbo, Steam - Now!
hey, don´t worry - it´s only red pixels on your hands...

- MacBook Pro 13" 2011 i5@2.3GHz, intel HD3000, 8GB RAM, OSX 10.9.x / W7 Pro x64
- iPad Air, 16Gb
- MacBook C2D, 1,83GHz, intel GMA950, 2GB RAM, OSX 10.6.x / XP 32bit Home SP3
- iPad 2, 16GB
- iPod Touch 4G, 8GB
-> The (nearly) ultimate intel HD 3000 gaming performance sheet <-

#7 Eric5h5

Eric5h5

    Minion Tormentor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7160 posts

Posted 13 January 2012 - 03:27 PM

View Postmindnoise, on 13 January 2012 - 01:35 PM, said:

Limbo, Steam - Now!
Yes sir, right away sir!

--Eric

#8 Cougar

Cougar

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 793 posts

Posted 13 January 2012 - 05:45 PM

Steam version is crashing on startup for me. :(

#9 Eric5h5

Eric5h5

    Minion Tormentor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7160 posts

Posted 13 January 2012 - 06:57 PM

Works fine here, but despite the control setup seeming to claim otherwise, there isn't any gamepad support.  There's always Controllermate, but still, a bit annoying.

--Eric

#10 mindnoise

mindnoise

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Steam ID:Exploding-Bob
  • Location:Delusive-Ville

Posted 14 January 2012 - 05:14 AM

View PostEric5h5, on 13 January 2012 - 06:57 PM, said:

Works fine here, but despite the control setup seeming to claim otherwise, there isn't any gamepad support.  There's always Controllermate, but still, a bit annoying.

--Eric

Not here. My Xbox 360 USB controller with the Tattiebogle.net 0.11 driver was immediately recognized. Works 100% flawless.
hey, don´t worry - it´s only red pixels on your hands...

- MacBook Pro 13" 2011 i5@2.3GHz, intel HD3000, 8GB RAM, OSX 10.9.x / W7 Pro x64
- iPad Air, 16Gb
- MacBook C2D, 1,83GHz, intel GMA950, 2GB RAM, OSX 10.6.x / XP 32bit Home SP3
- iPad 2, 16GB
- iPod Touch 4G, 8GB
-> The (nearly) ultimate intel HD 3000 gaming performance sheet <-

#11 Eric5h5

Eric5h5

    Minion Tormentor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7160 posts

Posted 14 January 2012 - 09:23 AM

View Postmindnoise, on 14 January 2012 - 05:14 AM, said:

Not here. My Xbox 360 USB controller with the Tattiebogle.net 0.11 driver was immediately recognized. Works 100% flawless.
Oh, I guess it's one of those "Xbox 360 controller only" things.  Devs, please stop that, just use the HID manager, thanks.

--Eric

#12 mindnoise

mindnoise

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Steam ID:Exploding-Bob
  • Location:Delusive-Ville

Posted 14 January 2012 - 10:42 AM

seem be futile to get anything else than x360 or a PS3 controller these days.
At least that was what my researches came up with before I got mine.


View PostCougar, on 13 January 2012 - 05:45 PM, said:

Steam version is crashing on startup for me. :(
Any system specs?
Verifying the Game Caches or reinstalling sometimes help. Had the problem with Quake 4.
hey, don´t worry - it´s only red pixels on your hands...

- MacBook Pro 13" 2011 i5@2.3GHz, intel HD3000, 8GB RAM, OSX 10.9.x / W7 Pro x64
- iPad Air, 16Gb
- MacBook C2D, 1,83GHz, intel GMA950, 2GB RAM, OSX 10.6.x / XP 32bit Home SP3
- iPad 2, 16GB
- iPod Touch 4G, 8GB
-> The (nearly) ultimate intel HD 3000 gaming performance sheet <-

#13 Tacohead

Tacohead

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 520 posts

Posted 14 January 2012 - 11:10 AM

Anybody figure out how to put this in windowed mode?

-PN
27" iMac I7 (late 2013), 3.2 mhz, 16 gigs of RAM, NVIDEA GeForce GT 755M 1024 MB, Mac OS 10.9.2
iPad 3 64GB WiFi/iPhone 4S 32GB

#14 Cougar

Cougar

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 793 posts

Posted 14 January 2012 - 01:35 PM

View Postmindnoise, on 14 January 2012 - 10:42 AM, said:



Any system specs?
Verifying the Game Caches or reinstalling sometimes help. Had the problem with Quake 4.

Tried both, no luck. 2.8 i5, ATI 5850, 10.7.2. After one crash it works fine on my MacBook Pro, so I'll play it on that for now.

#15 Tacohead

Tacohead

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 520 posts

Posted 15 January 2012 - 04:37 PM

View PostTacohead, on 14 January 2012 - 11:10 AM, said:

Anybody figure out how to put this in windowed mode?

-PN

NM figured it out. No crashes here either.

-PN
27" iMac I7 (late 2013), 3.2 mhz, 16 gigs of RAM, NVIDEA GeForce GT 755M 1024 MB, Mac OS 10.9.2
iPad 3 64GB WiFi/iPhone 4S 32GB

#16 iRolley

iRolley

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 752 posts
  • Location:Antibes - France

Posted 16 January 2012 - 01:38 AM

My logitech controller is not recognized as well.

Do you know a free alternative to ControllerMate ?

#17 Eric5h5

Eric5h5

    Minion Tormentor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7160 posts

Posted 16 January 2012 - 07:29 AM

Well, unfortunately I have to take that back about "works fine here".  A few hours in I've completed most of the game, and have had two hard lockups where I had to shut off the computer.  Can't remember the last time that's happened.  So between the hard crashes and the apparently hard-coded XBox360 controller setup (what is this, the 90s?), it's a bit of a technical fail, which is too bad since the game itself is quite clever and well done.

As for Controllermate, I seem to recall that you can use it free with a limited number of blocks, which might be enough for Limbo since all it needs is arrow keys + alt.

--Eric