Jump to content


Falcon 4.0 Allied Force is available


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8075 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 08 September 2011 - 01:27 AM

...in the Mac App Store, for just $20.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#2 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 828 posts

Posted 08 September 2011 - 03:04 PM

View PostJanichsan, on 08 September 2011 - 01:27 AM, said:

...in the Mac App Store, for just $20.

Just got it having read lots of good reviews of the PC version online but I'm not having much luck so far. For some reason the view insists on staring at the canopy roof - tilt 90 degrees it says in the top right. I tried changing cameras with the number keys but as soon as I switch back to anything other that camera 1 it scrolls up again. I thought it was my wheel being connected but it still happened when unplugged. Another odd thing is the maximum resolution I can select is 1600 x1000 - not my native 1680 x1050.

Interested to hear if anyone else has tried it
Mac Pro 09 (now a 5.1, 2 x 3.06GHz Xeon X5675, 24GB, R9 280X 3GB, 480SSD, 16TB HD, MacOS 10.12.6

#3 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1423 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 08 September 2011 - 04:17 PM

AWESOME NEWS! I wonder if my Falcon 4.0 books I've kept, hopefully, over the years will be of help... as well as my SideWinder joystick...
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#4 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1423 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 08 September 2011 - 06:00 PM

View Postmattw, on 08 September 2011 - 03:04 PM, said:

Another odd thing is the maximum resolution I can select is 1600 x1000 - not my native 1680 x1050.

Interested to hear if anyone else has tried it

There seems to be no straight forward way of editing this via any INI or CFG files in the Falcon 4.0 Allied Force Application Support folder... same problem here.
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#5 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1423 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 08 September 2011 - 09:31 PM

http://www.graphsim.com/support.html

6. What screen resolutions are supported?
There are cockpit resolutions of 1024x768, 1280x960 and 1600x1200  included with the product for each flyable type of F-16. Resolutions  from 1024x768 upwards are supported and the cockpit graphics are scaled  from the most suitable included resolution. Currently all screen  resolutions must be 4:3 ratio.



:blink:
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#6 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8075 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 09 September 2011 - 12:45 AM

View PostUmarOMC1, on 08 September 2011 - 09:31 PM, said:

Currently all screen  resolutions must be 4:3 ratio.
That's only partially true (possibly because the support document you linked to refers to the Windows version). You can select 16:10 (and 16:9?) resolutions, but the full width of the screen is only used in external or 3D cockpit views. In the standard 2D cockpit view, the screen is indeed cropped to 4:3, since the 2D cockpit graphics are designed for that aspect ratio.

Don't forget this is a port of a six year old updated version of an almost 13(!) year old game...

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#7 WSTE_M

WSTE_M

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1159 posts
  • Location:six feet under

Posted 13 September 2011 - 03:43 PM

This is quite simply, too little, too late.
blowing stuff up in the virtual world since 1994

#8 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1423 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 15 September 2011 - 06:42 PM

View PostWSTE_M, on 13 September 2011 - 03:43 PM, said:

This is quite simply, too little, too late.

I'd agree if they were charging $40
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#9 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8075 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 16 September 2011 - 12:49 AM

View PostWSTE_M, on 13 September 2011 - 03:43 PM, said:

This is quite simply, too little, too late.
F4AF is still the pinnacle of combat flight sims. It's never too late for that.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#10 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8075 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 18 October 2011 - 08:21 AM

Apparently, the game will also be available for Mac on a disc, as I just noticed:

Quote

Order PC CD-ROM boxed package from the Graphsim Store (MAC OS-X CD-ROM Box coming soon)
I'm wondering whether it will actually be on a CD-ROM. That might be the first game since 10 years or so...

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#11 bobbob

bobbob

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3367 posts

Posted 18 October 2011 - 04:21 PM

View PostJanichsan, on 16 September 2011 - 12:49 AM, said:

F4AF is still the pinnacle of combat flight sims
DCS Warthog?

#12 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8075 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 19 October 2011 - 01:07 AM

View Postbobbob, on 18 October 2011 - 04:21 PM, said:

...is of course graphically superior, as simulation of similar complexity, but has a much smaller scale (terrain and number of units) and no dynamic campaigns whatsoever (the developers keep promising them as update since DCS Black Shark, but didn't deliver yet).

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#13 Sargiel

Sargiel

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 909 posts
  • Location:West Sussex, England

Posted 19 October 2011 - 12:30 PM

Good news there's a boxed version available :)

#14 Coug-it

Coug-it

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts

Posted 20 October 2011 - 06:39 PM

View PostSargiel, on 19 October 2011 - 12:30 PM, said:

Good news there's a boxed version available :)

The boxed version is still "coming soon" ...

#15 Fourth Horseman

Fourth Horseman

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Location:On your six, 1.2nm... and I have tone!

Posted 23 November 2011 - 01:12 PM

Is there support for HOTAS setups, like CH Products USB sticks, throttles and rudder pedals?
- FH -
MacBook Pro 15" (2010): 2.53 GHz Core i5, 8 GB RAM, 128 GB SSD, Hi-Res (1680x1050) display, MacOS X 10.7.1
PowerMac G5: dual 1.8 GHz, 4 GB RAM, Radeon 9600 PC & Mac Edition, Dell U2410 24" LCD, MacOS X 10.5.8
PC: Core i7 960 3.6 GHz, Asus P6X58D mobo, 12 GB DDR3-2000MHz RAM, Radeon HD5970, Samsung 245BW 24" LCD, Win 7 64bit

#16 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8075 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 23 November 2011 - 02:43 PM

View PostFourth Horseman, on 23 November 2011 - 01:12 PM, said:

Is there support for HOTAS setups, like CH Products USB sticks, throttles and rudder pedals?
Yup!

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#17 Fourth Horseman

Fourth Horseman

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Location:On your six, 1.2nm... and I have tone!

Posted 23 November 2011 - 03:33 PM

Awesome! I'm sold! :)

UPDATE: I bought in the App Store this afternoon and it runs great on my MBP. My CH Products flight gear is easy to configure in the game. Now to see if I can get my high-res, wide screen cockpits from cockpits.nl to work.  ;)
- FH -
MacBook Pro 15" (2010): 2.53 GHz Core i5, 8 GB RAM, 128 GB SSD, Hi-Res (1680x1050) display, MacOS X 10.7.1
PowerMac G5: dual 1.8 GHz, 4 GB RAM, Radeon 9600 PC & Mac Edition, Dell U2410 24" LCD, MacOS X 10.5.8
PC: Core i7 960 3.6 GHz, Asus P6X58D mobo, 12 GB DDR3-2000MHz RAM, Radeon HD5970, Samsung 245BW 24" LCD, Win 7 64bit

#18 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1423 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 04 December 2011 - 12:57 AM

View PostFourth Horseman, on 23 November 2011 - 03:33 PM, said:

Awesome! I'm sold! :)

UPDATE: I bought in the App Store this afternoon and it runs great on my MBP. My CH Products flight gear is easy to configure in the game. Now to see if I can get my high-res, wide screen cockpits from cockpits.nl to work.  ;)

Any updates? TIA
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB