Jump to content


iMac 2011 Refresh


  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#21 AussieMacGamer

AussieMacGamer

    Owner, 2nd Largest Topic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3036 posts
  • Location:Nirvana

Posted 08 May 2011 - 08:37 AM

View Postrob_ART, on 08 May 2011 - 08:20 AM, said:

Comments?

Want to buy me one?

It would seem Apple have updated the EFI to allow two of the sata ports to run 6gbps. Supposedly not the DVD slot though. One step forward, one step back.


P.S if anyone was wondering about doing an aftermarked SSD on one of the earlier iMac's i finally found a walkthrough ... doesn't look so friendly.

IMG Resident Crackpot
"What you need is a dog or a girlfriend, or both, or one in the same!" -Gary Simmons Aka. The Battle Cat
15" Macbook Pro C2D 2.16Ghz ATI X1600 3Gb Ram w/Samsung 840 SSD R.I.P

Late 2012 iMac 27" Corei7 3.4ghz GTX 680 MX 8gb RAM 3tb FusionDrive
Now Playing: Battlefield 3, The Witcher 2


#22 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3682 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Steam ID:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 08 May 2011 - 08:40 AM

View Postrob_ART, on 08 May 2011 - 08:20 AM, said:

Comments?
Well, they look pretty good! :sabber:

Liberator.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 8GB RAM | 10.8.2 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State


#23 AussieMacGamer

AussieMacGamer

    Owner, 2nd Largest Topic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3036 posts
  • Location:Nirvana

Posted 08 May 2011 - 08:57 AM

View Postrob_ART, on 08 May 2011 - 08:20 AM, said:

I have some Portal 2 results for the new iMac at High settings.

At 2560x1440...
38 FPS = 2010 iMac Core i7 2.93GHz with Radeon 5750 (1G GDDR5)
61 FPS = 2011 iMac Core i7 3.4GHz with Radeon 6970M (2G GDDR5)
59 FPS = 2010 Mac Pro 6-core 3.33GHz with Radeon 5870 (1G GDDR5)

At 1920x1080...
82 FPS = 2010 iMac Core i7 2.93GHz with Radeon 5750
94 FPS = 2011 iMac Core i7 3.4GHz with Radeon 6970M
180 FPS = 2010 Mac Pro 6-core 3.33GHz with Radeon 5870

At 1280x720...
141 FPS = 2010 iMac Core i7 2.93GHz with Radeon 5750
172 FPS = 2011 iMac Core i7 3.4GHz with Radeon 6970M
243 FPS = 2010 Mac Pro 6-core 3.33GHz with Radeon 5870

Comments?


Actually Rob now i think of it, i'm wondering if you can throw something really heavy at it... like Crysis 2. I'd be very interested to see the numbers

IMG Resident Crackpot
"What you need is a dog or a girlfriend, or both, or one in the same!" -Gary Simmons Aka. The Battle Cat
15" Macbook Pro C2D 2.16Ghz ATI X1600 3Gb Ram w/Samsung 840 SSD R.I.P

Late 2012 iMac 27" Corei7 3.4ghz GTX 680 MX 8gb RAM 3tb FusionDrive
Now Playing: Battlefield 3, The Witcher 2


#24 rob_ART

rob_ART

    Bare Feats

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 790 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR

Posted 08 May 2011 - 09:19 AM

View PostAussieMacGamer, on 08 May 2011 - 08:57 AM, said:

Actually Rob now i think of it, i'm wondering if you can throw something really heavy at it... like Crysis 2. I'd be very interested to see the numbers

Be glad to if you can tutor me on running a Crysis 2 benchmark.

Besides Portal 2, Mac games I have in my test kit include WoW (latest), Borderlands, Starcraft 2, and Left 4 Dead 2
rob-ART morgan
mad scientist
BareFeats.com

#25 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3047 posts
  • Steam ID:ThainEshKelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 08 May 2011 - 10:49 AM

View PostAussieMacGamer, on 08 May 2011 - 08:37 AM, said:

P.S if anyone was wondering about doing an aftermarked SSD on one of the earlier iMac's i finally found a walkthrough ... doesn't look so friendly.
Thanks. I'm gonna do it on my 2011 model sometime in the future! (When they are cheaper)

I'd love to see more benchmarks.. :)

How come the 5870 dekstop edition is so much better in some games only?
"They're everywhere!"

And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m.

#26 DrJohnFever

DrJohnFever

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 191 posts

Posted 09 May 2011 - 05:30 AM

View Postrob_ART, on 08 May 2011 - 09:19 AM, said:

Besides Portal 2, Mac games I have in my test kit include WoW (latest), Borderlands, Starcraft 2, and Left 4 Dead 2
I would like to see if/how well it can max SC2.

#27 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3047 posts
  • Steam ID:ThainEshKelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 09 May 2011 - 06:15 AM

View PostDrJohnFever, on 09 May 2011 - 05:30 AM, said:

I would like to see if/how well it can max SC2.
For what it is worth. On a PC the 6970M hits the following:
StarCraft 2
Resolution Settings Value
1920x1080 ultra 58.6 fps

So if you like Bootcamp, you can definitely play the game at ultra settings.. :) Now, the Mac version of course, on a higher resolution screen..
"They're everywhere!"

And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m.

#28 DrJohnFever

DrJohnFever

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 191 posts

Posted 09 May 2011 - 01:15 PM

View PostThain Esh Kelch, on 09 May 2011 - 06:15 AM, said:

For what it is worth. On a PC the 6970M hits the following:
StarCraft 2
Resolution Settings Value
1920x1080 ultra 58.6 fps

So if you like Bootcamp, you can definitely play the game at ultra settings.. :) Now, the Mac version of course, on a higher resolution screen..
Now that is also with a worse CPU, and I know SC2 is much more dependent on the CPU than GPU compared to most games, so it is usually bottlenecked by the CPU. My friend plays on ultra with a 9800 GT. I think it'd be interesting to find if you could get good frames with the max settings on the 27" screen's resolution as well.

#29 tbade

tbade

    MacGameCast Host

  • IMG Writers
  • 14 posts

Posted 09 May 2011 - 03:20 PM

View Postalldaveallen, on 03 May 2011 - 03:14 PM, said:

Man, these are pretty sweet. But I'm going to wait until I can have an air-conditioning unit installed under my desk. I can't believe how much heat my current iMac throws off, and if they're using the same form factor with these souped-up innards you'll probably be able to fry bacon on the top--which Apple should list as a bonus feature...

You are close to correct, I put my hand on one in a store and it was HOT! Apple should add a coffee cup holder to keep the java warm!

#30 AussieMacGamer

AussieMacGamer

    Owner, 2nd Largest Topic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3036 posts
  • Location:Nirvana

Posted 09 May 2011 - 07:55 PM

View Postrob_ART, on 08 May 2011 - 09:19 AM, said:

Be glad to if you can tutor me on running a Crysis 2 benchmark.

Besides Portal 2, Mac games I have in my test kit include WoW (latest), Borderlands, Starcraft 2, and Left 4 Dead 2
Here's a tool for it Rob. you will need to boot windows. It's a really bend you right over the top graphical game though, would love to see how the imac handles it.

IMG Resident Crackpot
"What you need is a dog or a girlfriend, or both, or one in the same!" -Gary Simmons Aka. The Battle Cat
15" Macbook Pro C2D 2.16Ghz ATI X1600 3Gb Ram w/Samsung 840 SSD R.I.P

Late 2012 iMac 27" Corei7 3.4ghz GTX 680 MX 8gb RAM 3tb FusionDrive
Now Playing: Battlefield 3, The Witcher 2


#31 Homy

Homy

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 156 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 11 May 2011 - 11:27 AM

If you´re interested I'm gathering all the reviews and test results here in a Swedish forum. The text is in Swedish of course but most of the reviews are in english. Some are translated by Google to Swedish. :)

#32 XxtraLarGe

XxtraLarGe

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2321 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 03 June 2011 - 03:23 PM

It's odd, the 3.1 GHz i5 seems to outperform the 3.4 GHz i7 with double the VRAM. What's up with that?

http://www.barefeats.com/imac11c.html

#33 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3047 posts
  • Steam ID:ThainEshKelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 04 June 2011 - 12:49 AM

View PostXxtraLarGe, on 03 June 2011 - 03:23 PM, said:

It's odd, the 3.1 GHz i5 seems to outperform the 3.4 GHz i7 with double the VRAM. What's up with that?

http://www.barefeats.com/imac11c.html
1 GB VRAM is more than enough at the moment, so that doesnt add anything. And the i7 is slower due to HT being activated, which the i5 is lacking.
"They're everywhere!"

And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m.

#34 XxtraLarGe

XxtraLarGe

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2321 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 08 June 2011 - 03:10 PM

Wait, so hyperthreading actually makes the computer slower?

View PostThain Esh Kelch, on 04 June 2011 - 12:49 AM, said:

1 GB VRAM is more than enough at the moment, so that doesnt add anything. And the i7 is slower due to HT being activated, which the i5 is lacking.


#35 AussieMacGamer

AussieMacGamer

    Owner, 2nd Largest Topic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3036 posts
  • Location:Nirvana

Posted 08 June 2011 - 08:06 PM

View PostXxtraLarGe, on 08 June 2011 - 03:10 PM, said:

Wait, so hyperthreading actually makes the computer slower?

Allocating resources to where they're not needed. As far as I know, games are still taking a while to really adopt proper multi core support. It's a minute difference but you can see why

IMG Resident Crackpot
"What you need is a dog or a girlfriend, or both, or one in the same!" -Gary Simmons Aka. The Battle Cat
15" Macbook Pro C2D 2.16Ghz ATI X1600 3Gb Ram w/Samsung 840 SSD R.I.P

Late 2012 iMac 27" Corei7 3.4ghz GTX 680 MX 8gb RAM 3tb FusionDrive
Now Playing: Battlefield 3, The Witcher 2


#36 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3047 posts
  • Steam ID:ThainEshKelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 09 June 2011 - 12:05 PM

View PostXxtraLarGe, on 08 June 2011 - 03:10 PM, said:

Wait, so hyperthreading actually makes the computer slower?
Apparently yes.. Fortunately you can turn it off. I think most people are happy enough with 4 cores anyway. I mean, 1-2 for a game, one for flash in your browser, and one for Mail, Pages and Adium!
"They're everywhere!"

And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m.

#37 Eric5h5

Eric5h5

    Minion Tormentor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7160 posts

Posted 09 June 2011 - 12:25 PM

If I turn off hyperthreading on my 2010 Mac Pro, it makes Blender render slightly slower.  So "hyperthreading makes your computer slower" isn't really accurate, depending on what you're doing.

--Eric

#38 DrJohnFever

DrJohnFever

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 191 posts

Posted 09 June 2011 - 12:59 PM

Hyperthreading helps on programs that can use more threads than cores. If the program doesn't use more threads than cores, then the CPU will sometimes add a second thread onto a core that already has a thread on it, making the second thread complete slower, whereas if you would have disabled HT, the second thread would have loaded onto another core, completing it much faster.

#39 XxtraLarGe

XxtraLarGe

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2321 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 09 June 2011 - 07:57 PM

It would be interesting to see what the results would be with hyperthreading turned off then.

View PostDrJohnFever, on 09 June 2011 - 12:59 PM, said:

Hyperthreading helps on programs that can use more threads than cores. If the program doesn't use more threads than cores, then the CPU will sometimes add a second thread onto a core that already has a thread on it, making the second thread complete slower, whereas if you would have disabled HT, the second thread would have loaded onto another core, completing it much faster.


#40 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3682 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Steam ID:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 09 June 2011 - 08:18 PM

How does one turn it off then? I am curious too.

Liberator.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 8GB RAM | 10.8.2 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State