Jump to content


Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic Now on Mac App Store!


  • Please log in to reply
58 replies to this topic

#41 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3071 posts
  • Steam ID:ThainEshKelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 27 October 2011 - 04:24 PM

What is the status of KOTOR on the appstore? Any major bugs left?
"They're everywhere!"

And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m.

#42 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7207 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 28 October 2011 - 12:40 AM

View PostThain Esh Kelch, on 27 October 2011 - 04:24 PM, said:

What is the status of KOTOR on the appstore? Any major bugs left?
I had a handful of crashes with this version, but nothing I could reproduce. Apart from that is the MAS version apparently even better patched than the other versions.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#43 Cobra

Cobra

    Legendary

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 523 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 04 January 2012 - 06:37 AM

Finally got around to playing this... looks like it worked out best this way since all of the issues were ironed out now.
Loved it (first time I've ever played it) and it ran great on my 2011 iMac 21.5" with everything maxed out.

Played through the who game (so a lot of hours of play) and only came across two issues.

There was a sound issue that did occur... but only once. The voices cut out and any conversations would skip right up to the response selection. Restarted the game and all was well and never happened again.

The game crashed upon loading certain saves that were a bit too active (mid battle, crazy amount of stuff to reload so understandable). Only happened in-game, when I restart the game and load from the main menu all was well.

#44 Thinine

Thinine

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts

Posted 06 April 2012 - 07:29 PM

View PostCobra, on 04 January 2012 - 06:37 AM, said:

Finally got around to playing this... looks like it worked out best this way since all of the issues were ironed out now.
Loved it (first time I've ever played it) and it ran great on my 2011 iMac 21.5" with everything maxed out.

Played through the who game (so a lot of hours of play) and only came across two issues.

There was a sound issue that did occur... but only once. The voices cut out and any conversations would skip right up to the response selection. Restarted the game and all was well and never happened again.

The game crashed upon loading certain saves that were a bit too active (mid battle, crazy amount of stuff to reload so understandable). Only happened in-game, when I restart the game and load from the main menu all was well.
I've had that crashing issue as well, mostly when I'm button spamming while switching between characters during a battle. Also, while the 1600x1200 resolution doesn't really bother me, KotOR doesn't seem to switch back to my iMac's native 2560x1600 properly, leaving my desktop icons and any windows I had open in the wrong position, included off the top of the screen.

Definitely played smoother for me than the disk edition ever did. The performance for the smoke/mist effects especially is much improved. I just find the desktop and window reorganization issue too much to play it any more.

#45 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3071 posts
  • Steam ID:ThainEshKelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 05 May 2012 - 04:07 AM

7.99$ on the MAS at the moment... I just picked it up.. :)
"They're everywhere!"

And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m.

#46 Sargiel

Sargiel

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 906 posts
  • Location:West Sussex, England

Posted 06 May 2012 - 01:56 PM

If you're playing with the disc version you need to keep an old version of the patch for it to be playable. At certain crucial stages the game crashes when using the last disc patch so you have to revert back to the older version in order to proceed. It still bugs me they never sorted out a patch to bring us up to speed with the MAS version .. but I'd rather save often than pay twice for a game due to poor support.

#47 choiceweb0pen0

choiceweb0pen0

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Steam Name:choiceweb0pen0
  • Location:USA

Posted 06 May 2012 - 07:49 PM

View PostSargiel, on 06 May 2012 - 01:56 PM, said:

. It still bugs me they never sorted out a patch to bring us up to speed with the MAS version .. but I'd rather save often than pay twice for a game due to poor support.

I agree. It's frustrating that they even still sell this game with all its bugs.

#48 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3071 posts
  • Steam ID:ThainEshKelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 11 May 2012 - 02:23 AM

Bought the MAS version, and got around 20 minutes of gameplay out of it, until my character got stuck. He engages with a single enemy, kills him, and is then stuck. Can't turn around, except if I hit caps lock, but he still wont move.

100% reproducible, if I go from a save. Anybody else seen this?
"They're everywhere!"

And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m.

#49 Sargiel

Sargiel

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 906 posts
  • Location:West Sussex, England

Posted 11 May 2012 - 12:18 PM

Hmm I get frequently 'stuck' momentarily after combat. But by trying to move around etc for a few secs it always has freed up before. That isn't one of the game stopping bugs I've met anyway... Hope you haven't lost all your progress!!

#50 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3071 posts
  • Steam ID:ThainEshKelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 11 May 2012 - 01:37 PM

No no, I save frequently in these kinds of games.. :)

But I seem to be permanently stuck in most cases.. Some times my character can move after a few seconds, but in most cases I have to switch to a second character, and then move with him. Quite annoying, but I can live with it.

I wonder why it haven't been fixed though, since it is quite a prominent bug...
"They're everywhere!"

And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m.

#51 nitewing98

nitewing98

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Location:Independence, MO

Posted 13 May 2012 - 11:29 PM

I bought KOTOR while it was on sale, and downloaded the manual from Aspyr. I can't read most of the manual! It looks like it needs fonts I don't have or something. The keyboard map is totally unreadable.

Anyone else see this? I even tried viewing it with Adobe Reader (YUK) but no joy. Is there a better version of the manual that IS readable?

Thanks.
--
NW  '98

"Hello, I'm The Doctor!"

#52 Hansi

Hansi

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1747 posts
  • Steam ID:hansroberth
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 14 May 2012 - 01:02 PM

Now on Steam too: http://store.steampo....com/app/32370/

#53 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3071 posts
  • Steam ID:ThainEshKelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 14 May 2012 - 01:07 PM

I'm pretty annoyed on stuck characters.. It apparently happens with all on your team, after a kill.. So sometimes you have to wait for a team mate to run through the entire map, while you wait at the map exit.. >_<

Oh well, at least I can live with it. And just became sector swoop master again, woot.
"They're everywhere!"

And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m.

#54 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7207 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 15 May 2012 - 12:54 AM

View PostSargiel, on 11 May 2012 - 12:18 PM, said:

Hmm I get frequently 'stuck' momentarily after combat. But by trying to move around etc for a few secs it always has freed up before. That isn't one of the game stopping bugs I've met anyway... Hope you haven't lost all your progress!!
I only had this once while completing the MAS version. Maybe I was lucky?

View PostHansi, on 14 May 2012 - 01:02 PM, said:

As is Jedi Knight II.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#55 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3071 posts
  • Steam ID:ThainEshKelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 15 May 2012 - 12:57 AM

View PostJanichsan, on 15 May 2012 - 12:54 AM, said:

I only had this once while completing the MAS version. Maybe I was lucky?
Could be machine dependent, but I find it weird. I see it to various degrees literally every time I fight someone.
"They're everywhere!"

And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m.

#56 mindnoise

mindnoise

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Steam ID:Exploding-Bob
  • Location:Delusive-Ville

Posted 15 May 2012 - 07:25 AM

View PostJanichsan, on 15 May 2012 - 12:54 AM, said:

I only had this once while completing the MAS version. Maybe I was lucky?


As is Jedi Knight II.

Nice move! Glad I did not buy the MAS Versions JKII and KOTOR when on Sale, since I already had
Steam Star Wars Collection.
hey, don´t worry - it´s only red pixels on your hands...

- MacBook Pro 13" 2011 i5@2.3GHz, intel HD3000, 8GB RAM, OSX 10.9.x / W7 Pro x64
- iPad Air, 16Gb
- MacBook C2D, 1,83GHz, intel GMA950, 2GB RAM, OSX 10.6.x / XP 32bit Home SP3
- iPad 2, 16GB
- iPod Touch 4G, 8GB
-> The (nearly) ultimate intel HD 3000 gaming performance sheet <-

#57 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3071 posts
  • Steam ID:ThainEshKelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 20 May 2012 - 01:28 PM

Just finished KOTOR, and I really really enjoyed it. Great, recommended game. 9/10

And I also found a fix for the stuck characters after doing a bit of Googling - Just enable V-Sync in the graphic settings, it apparently fixes the problem!

You can call me sir jedi knight from now on!
"They're everywhere!"

And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m.

#58 Sargiel

Sargiel

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 906 posts
  • Location:West Sussex, England

Posted 21 May 2012 - 12:25 AM

Glad you enjoyed it - it's definitely a classic :) I'm on my way through a dark side run with my good friends Canderous and HK-47. I'll give the v-sync thing a try!

P.S you know you're doing well when even Canderous gets uncomfortable with your decisions :)

#59 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3071 posts
  • Steam ID:ThainEshKelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 21 May 2012 - 12:37 AM

I focused on Mission, Ballista and Jolee on my run through, being overly good (As usual). But this is the first time that I really felt like doing a second run as evil, due to all the interesting options when approaching NPC's.

I also really liked the plot twist towards the end.. Didn't see that one comming, and it really left me "wut?????!!!!??".. :D
"They're everywhere!"

And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m.