Jump to content


Borderlands Game Tweak Tips


  • Please log in to reply
175 replies to this topic

#161 devSin

devSin

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 397 posts

Posted 22 March 2011 - 03:33 PM

Apparently, nobody cares enough to call me out on BS results. It turns out I had for some reason turned all settings off in the game (haven't played in a while). I even mentioned to myself "Wow, this looks like butt" when I ran it yesterday, but I guess even that wasn't enough to get me to check the settings then. With all settings on, the results are much worse.

Args: 'timedemo1_p -benchmark -seconds=60 -novsync'

The first two lines are all settings off; the last two are all settings on; both at only 1600x1200.
min=  16.69   avg=  64.28   max= 320.72
min=  12.86   avg=  62.35   max= 336.85
min=   8.92   avg=  31.26   max= 134.25
min=   9.97   avg=  31.04   max= 126.33
Needless to say, I feel much less pleased with myself after seeing the "real" results. Brad-=1

#162 lewdvig

lewdvig

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts

Posted 22 March 2011 - 06:54 PM

Most of that hit is SSAO if you ask me.

Hmm. I am going to wait for a sale. I completed the main story ages ago. I don't mind paying $25 or so to play the DLC (keeping in mind that its been as low as $10 for all of the DLC on windows).

#163 devSin

devSin

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 397 posts

Posted 22 March 2011 - 07:08 PM

Nah, toggling off ambient occlusion (unless I'm running something wrong): min=   8.47   avg=  31.03   max= 149.72

The timedemo does a complex flyby, so it's probably not super-typical, but it's still depressing (you can see the slowness when it emerges out of the caves to the open-air obelisk, and it feels like it's riding 30 fps a fair chunk of time).

EDIT: Dynamic Shadows is a fat hit to fps apparently...
... with both dynamic shadows and ambient occlusion off: min=  17.28   avg=  51.36   max= 252.29
... with just dynamic shadows off: min=  12.07   avg=  49.45   max= 212.68

#164 edddeduck

edddeduck

    Feral Interactive

  • Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1230 posts
  • Location:London, England, UK

Posted 01 April 2011 - 07:27 AM

View PostdevSin, on 22 March 2011 - 07:08 PM, said:

Nah, toggling off ambient occlusion (unless I'm running something wrong): min=   8.47   avg=  31.03   max= 149.72

The timedemo does a complex flyby, so it's probably not super-typical, but it's still depressing (you can see the slowness when it emerges out of the caves to the open-air obelisk, and it feels like it's riding 30 fps a fair chunk of time).

EDIT: Dynamic Shadows is a fat hit to fps apparently...
... with both dynamic shadows and ambient occlusion off: min=  17.28   avg=  51.36   max= 252.29
... with just dynamic shadows off: min=  12.07   avg=  49.45   max= 212.68

There is a reason we tell you the biggest hits on performance are Dynamic Shadows, Ambient Occlusion and Resolution in our FAQ performance guide which we ship with every game :) It has a hit on windows as well but on the Mac it seems it takes a bigger chunk of the performance.

Edwin

#165 devSin

devSin

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 397 posts

Posted 01 April 2011 - 01:01 PM

Where is that FAQ? Before I posted those numbers, I looked at the online FAQ, which told me to look at the Read Me (which isn't online), so I launched the game and navigated to the read me, and it just listed every single option as reducing performance without singling any of them out as some ungodly hit to performance.

And now I just looked again and I seem to still be missing it (yeah, it's probably right there in front of me)?

#166 TheAdmiral

TheAdmiral

    Feral Interactive

  • Developer
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

Posted 04 April 2011 - 02:29 AM

View PostdevSin, on 01 April 2011 - 01:01 PM, said:

Where is that FAQ? Before I posted those numbers, I looked at the online FAQ, which told me to look at the Read Me (which isn't online), so I launched the game and navigated to the read me, and it just listed every single option as reducing performance without singling any of them out as some ungodly hit to performance.

And now I just looked again and I seem to still be missing it (yeah, it's probably right there in front of me)?

Oops, Edwin said FAQ but he meant the Performance Tips section of the ReadMe. Here's what it says:

Quote

…In addition to these general Mac actions, there are some specific in-game settings you can select to speed up the game. These are listed below in order of performance improvement (largest improvement first).

…and then it lists Screen Res, Dynamic Shadows, Ambient Occlusion, and Texture Quality as the first four items.

– Ian :)

#167 ikir

ikir

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 875 posts
  • Steam Name:ikir
  • Location:In front of my Mac

Posted 08 April 2011 - 02:32 AM

Is an update coming with few optimizations?

If you are fixing bugs, remember than Borderlands didn't recognize mouse 4 button, it detect both mouse 4 and 5 as mouse 5. It has been confirmed by other 2 friends of mine.
ikir's personal page
MacBook Pro 13" 2016 i5 2,9Ghz - 8GB RAM - 512GB SSD
Thunderbolt 3 eGPU Radeon Nitro+ RX 480 4GB
LG 34UM95 Ultrawide Thunderbolt
Steelseries Rival 300, Steelseries Siberia v3Prism, Logitech K811

#168 edddeduck

edddeduck

    Feral Interactive

  • Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1230 posts
  • Location:London, England, UK

Posted 08 April 2011 - 04:27 AM

View Postikir, on 08 April 2011 - 02:32 AM, said:

Is an update coming with few optimizations?

If you are fixing bugs, remember than Borderlands didn't recognize mouse 4 button, it detect both mouse 4 and 5 as mouse 5. It has been confirmed by other 2 friends of mine.

Email support telling us what mouse you use and if you install any drivers.If we get more details on the exact setup we can look at it.

Edwin

#169 ParadoxQuine

ParadoxQuine

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 June 2011 - 01:16 AM

I'm trying to use third person view and, though I modified the file correctly, it's still not working (pressing the button, or assigning it to another one and pressing that does nothing). This is on a mid 2011 13" MBP. I have another computer, a mid 2010 15" MBP with the exact same file in ~/Library/.../MacInit/WillowInput.ini and that computer can use third person view.

Anyone have an idea of why this could be? Help would be greatly appreciated!

#170 edddeduck

edddeduck

    Feral Interactive

  • Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1230 posts
  • Location:London, England, UK

Posted 20 June 2011 - 04:29 AM

View PostParadoxQuine, on 18 June 2011 - 01:16 AM, said:

I'm trying to use third person view and, though I modified the file correctly, it's still not working (pressing the button, or assigning it to another one and pressing that does nothing). This is on a mid 2011 13" MBP. I have another computer, a mid 2010 15" MBP with the exact same file in ~/Library/.../MacInit/WillowInput.ini and that computer can use third person view.

Anyone have an idea of why this could be? Help would be greatly appreciated!

That sounds like permissions to me make sure the file has full read write permissions on the machine that has the issue. I do know it works fine on the MBP so it is something to do with your preferences in some way.

Edwin

#171 ikir

ikir

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 875 posts
  • Steam Name:ikir
  • Location:In front of my Mac

Posted 28 December 2011 - 01:38 PM

View PostBrad Oliver, on 02 March 2011 - 10:09 AM, said:

The Intel HD 3000 lacks several OpenGL extensions that Borderlands needs to function properly, so you'll likely see a number of problems.

Now with Mac OS X 10.7.2 HD3000 drivers are pretty decent. they have full OpenlGL 3.2 specs. Not bad and performance are quite good for an integrated chip.

10.7.2 (core)
OpenGL 3.0 100%
OpenGL 3.1 100%
OpenGL 3.2 100%
OpenlGL 3.3 22%
ikir's personal page
MacBook Pro 13" 2016 i5 2,9Ghz - 8GB RAM - 512GB SSD
Thunderbolt 3 eGPU Radeon Nitro+ RX 480 4GB
LG 34UM95 Ultrawide Thunderbolt
Steelseries Rival 300, Steelseries Siberia v3Prism, Logitech K811

#172 edddeduck

edddeduck

    Feral Interactive

  • Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1230 posts
  • Location:London, England, UK

Posted 03 January 2012 - 07:50 AM

View Postikir, on 28 December 2011 - 01:38 PM, said:

Now with Mac OS X 10.7.2 HD3000 drivers are pretty decent. they have full OpenlGL 3.2 specs. Not bad and performance are quite good for an integrated chip.

10.7.2 (core)
OpenGL 3.0 100%
OpenGL 3.1 100%
OpenGL 3.2 100%
OpenlGL 3.3 22%

What it says it can do in OGL and what it can actually do correctly and quickly are two different things entirely :) But yes we have been working with the Apple engineers to improve the HD3000 drivers with our games both with graphical issue and performance.

BioShock 1 for example was fixed by this OS update (HD3000 had a driver bug causing BioShock not to run in 10.7.1 or 10.7.2.

Edwin

#173 ikir

ikir

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 875 posts
  • Steam Name:ikir
  • Location:In front of my Mac

Posted 03 January 2012 - 09:48 AM

View Postedddeduck, on 03 January 2012 - 07:50 AM, said:

What it says it can do in OGL and what it can actually do correctly and quickly are two different things entirely :) But yes we have been working with the Apple engineers to improve the HD3000 drivers with our games both with graphical issue and performance.

BioShock 1 for example was fixed by this OS update (HD3000 had a driver bug causing BioShock not to run in 10.7.1 or 10.7.2.

Edwin

Thanks for this too! Not only for crating awesome and quality ports, but thanks also for helping Apple to fix bugs and improve performance in 3D drivers.
ikir's personal page
MacBook Pro 13" 2016 i5 2,9Ghz - 8GB RAM - 512GB SSD
Thunderbolt 3 eGPU Radeon Nitro+ RX 480 4GB
LG 34UM95 Ultrawide Thunderbolt
Steelseries Rival 300, Steelseries Siberia v3Prism, Logitech K811

#174 superdiabetic

superdiabetic

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 12 July 2012 - 06:36 PM

View Postedddeduck, on 06 January 2011 - 04:01 AM, said:

Sent it to you in a PM

Edwin

it say i don't have permission either could you throw me the file in a PM too?

#175 edddeduck

edddeduck

    Feral Interactive

  • Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1230 posts
  • Location:London, England, UK

Posted 16 July 2012 - 04:41 AM

View Postsuperdiabetic, on 12 July 2012 - 06:36 PM, said:

it say i don't have permission either could you throw me the file in a PM too?

Sorry but it's been a while what were you looking for again?

Edwin

#176 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3812 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 09 June 2013 - 08:09 AM

Could someone guide me to where the movies are located in the MGS version? I can't find 'em, and I want to delete them.
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter