Jump to content


Team Fortress 2


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Wolfchild

Wolfchild

    Marathon: Resurrection

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Location:Wrath No More

Posted 13 June 2010 - 12:00 PM

Am I the only one disappointed with the frame rates of TF2?

I get nowhere near the same performance in OS X that I do in XP - this on my Mac Pro (Dual 2.66 GHz Xeon, Radeon X1900).  I was hoping to never have to boot into XP again, since the only reason I do that anymore is to play TF2.  Now I'll have go back at least once more to make sure all the vid settings are the same.  I have been slowly turning the settings down, down, down but nothing helps.  I haven't measured the actual average fps yet, because I really don't care what it is.  All I care is that the limitation in my play is my skill and not my framerate.  Playing Spy yesterday, I could only get backstabs on stationary targets because the framerate was too poor for me to track a moving target.

It made me feel like I suck - but that just can't be true, can it?  :P
What the hammer? what the chain?
In what furnace was thy brain?
What the anvil? what dread grasp
Dare its deadly terrors clasp?

#2 Hansi

Hansi

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1739 posts
  • Steam ID:hansroberth
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 13 June 2010 - 12:14 PM

You're not alone, I tried it out today and the frame rate was crap

Seems like there are a lot of bugs: http://forums.steamp...d.php?t=1305224

and slow downs: http://forums.steamp...d.php?t=1302195

Turning off every graphic gimmic is the recommended route atm...

Glad I didn't buy it.

#3 DaveyJJ

DaveyJJ

    All hail Bastet

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3826 posts
  • Steam Name:DaveyJJ
  • Location:Inside Bastet's secret temple preparing for the catpocalypse.

Posted 13 June 2010 - 12:15 PM

View PostWolfchild, on 13 June 2010 - 12:00 PM, said:

Am I the only one disappointed with the frame rates of TF2?

I get nowhere near the same performance in OS X that I do in XP - this on my Mac Pro (Dual 2.66 GHz Xeon, Radeon X1900).  I was hoping to never have to boot into XP again, since the only reason I do that anymore is to play TF2.  Now I'll have go back at least once more to make sure all the vid settings are the same.  I have been slowly turning the settings down, down, down but nothing helps.  I haven't measured the actual average fps yet, because I really don't care what it is.  All I care is that the limitation in my play is my skill and not my framerate.  Playing Spy yesterday, I could only get backstabs on stationary targets because the framerate was too poor for me to track a moving target.

It made me feel like I suck - but that just can't be true, can it?  :P

I haven't got an exact frame rate yet, but I play fine on my MacBook with a 9400M integrated card, as does my son on his new Mac mini. I know that doesn't help, but I don't know what else to say.
Raven 27" i3 iMac 3.2GHz | 12GB RAM | 1TB HD | 512MB 5670 ATI Radeon HD
Crow iPad 2 | 32GB WiFi


"Not my circus, not my monkeys." -- Polish folk saying
"In ancient times cats were worshipped as gods; they have not forgotten this." -- Terry Pratchett
"I love cats because I enjoy my home; and little by little, they become its visible soul." -- Jean Cocteau

#4 Mister Mumbles

Mister Mumbles

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2510 posts
  • Steam Name:Mister Mumbles
  • Location:Not here; not there; not anywhere!

Posted 13 June 2010 - 12:34 PM

View PostDaveyJJ, on 13 June 2010 - 12:15 PM, said:

I haven't got an exact frame rate yet, but I play fine on my MacBook with a 9400M integrated card, as does my son on his new Mac mini. I know that doesn't help, but I don't know what else to say.

Same here. It is a bit puzzling, I must say, but I do have everything turned down so it runs more or less smoothly. Yeah, the port definitely needs some tweaking though. Only paid a few bucks for the game as I got it when the Orange Box set special was available when Half Life 2 was released.

Anyway, I do find it to be a fun game. Let's hope they improve performance a bit though.
Formerly known as a Mac gamer.

#5 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3681 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Steam ID:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 13 June 2010 - 10:37 PM

Oh well, I guess we will just have to wait, will we not?

Liberator.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 8GB RAM | 10.8.2 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State


#6 bookman

bookman

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1580 posts

Posted 14 June 2010 - 09:01 AM

View PostDaveyJJ, on 13 June 2010 - 12:15 PM, said:

I haven't got an exact frame rate yet, but I play fine on my MacBook with a 9400M integrated card, as does my son on his new Mac mini. I know that doesn't help, but I don't know what else to say.

Same here.
Work: MacBook - 2.4 Ghz Core 2 Duo - 4GB RAM - X3100 graphics.
Home: Mini - 2.0 Ghz Core2Duo - 2 GB RAM - GeForce 9400 graphics.

#7 EdgeJ

EdgeJ

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 15 June 2010 - 07:09 AM

So it's not just me?

I was horrified when I downloaded The Orange Box on my brand new MacBook Pro (the 2.66GHz, 4GB memory with GeForce 320M graphics) and found that the games will only run smoothly on medium settings for the most part!

So, is the solution for gaming on a Mac to Boot Camp? If I were to Boot Camp, would you guys recommend XP or Windows 7 if it's only for gaming?

#8 PeopleLikeFrank

PeopleLikeFrank

    Uberspewer

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2690 posts
  • Location:The Republic of Soviet Canukistan
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 15 June 2010 - 07:39 AM

View PostEdgeJ, on 15 June 2010 - 07:09 AM, said:

So it's not just me?

I was horrified when I downloaded The Orange Box on my brand new MacBook Pro (the 2.66GHz, 4GB memory with GeForce 320M graphics) and found that the games will only run smoothly on medium settings for the most part!

So, is the solution for gaming on a Mac to Boot Camp? If I were to Boot Camp, would you guys recommend XP or Windows 7 if it's only for gaming?

Well, we hope things will improve performance-wise on OS X. Bootcamp is going to give you more options in any case.

There's basically no point in sticking with XP at this stage. Windows 7 runs fine on any decent hardware, is much better, and games going forward are going to start requiring it more and more.
The dork formerly known as nobody
---
MBP: C2D @ 2.66 Ghz | GeForce 9600M GT 256Mb | 8GB RAM | 120GB SSD + 500GB HD | 10.6.2 / W7 x64
PC: Q9550 | 6950 2GB | 8GB RAM | 80GB SSD + 750GB HD | W7 x64

#9 EdgeJ

EdgeJ

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 15 June 2010 - 08:21 AM

View PostPeopleLikeFrank, on 15 June 2010 - 07:39 AM, said:

Well, we hope things will improve performance-wise on OS X. Bootcamp is going to give you more options in any case.

There's basically no point in sticking with XP at this stage. Windows 7 runs fine on any decent hardware, is much better, and games going forward are going to start requiring it more and more.

Darn, I only have a Windows 7 upgrade disk, I'm guessing that won't suffice for a Windows 7 boot camp partition?

#10 Eric5h5

Eric5h5

    Minion Tormentor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7160 posts

Posted 15 June 2010 - 08:48 AM

View PostPeopleLikeFrank, on 15 June 2010 - 07:39 AM, said:

Well, we hope things will improve performance-wise on OS X.

http://www.macrumors...ng-performance/

--Eric

#11 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3681 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Steam ID:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 15 June 2010 - 07:16 PM

View PostEdgeJ, on 15 June 2010 - 08:21 AM, said:

Darn, I only have a Windows 7 upgrade disk, I'm guessing that won't suffice for a Windows 7 boot camp partition?
I think that would only work if you already had Vista installed, kind of like the Snow Leopard upgrade disk, yeah?

View PostEric5h5, on 15 June 2010 - 08:48 AM, said:


Okay, cool. Thanks.

Liberator.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 8GB RAM | 10.8.2 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State


#12 PeopleLikeFrank

PeopleLikeFrank

    Uberspewer

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2690 posts
  • Location:The Republic of Soviet Canukistan
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 15 June 2010 - 08:07 PM

View PostEdgeJ, on 15 June 2010 - 08:21 AM, said:

Darn, I only have a Windows 7 upgrade disk, I'm guessing that won't suffice for a Windows 7 boot camp partition?

I wouldn't necessarily say that, as long as you own a previous version of Windows...
The dork formerly known as nobody
---
MBP: C2D @ 2.66 Ghz | GeForce 9600M GT 256Mb | 8GB RAM | 120GB SSD + 500GB HD | 10.6.2 / W7 x64
PC: Q9550 | 6950 2GB | 8GB RAM | 80GB SSD + 750GB HD | W7 x64

#13 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3681 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Steam ID:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 15 June 2010 - 08:43 PM

View PostPeopleLikeFrank, on 15 June 2010 - 08:07 PM, said:

I wouldn't necessarily say that, as long as you own a previous version of Windows...

Ahhh, I stand corrected then.

Liberator.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 8GB RAM | 10.8.2 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State


#14 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3233 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 15 June 2010 - 09:44 PM

Well, after updating to 10.6.4 I can confirm that personally TF2 is running better on my 27 inch iMac than before. Much of the chop was reduced and I actually have been able to play through whole missions. Not sure if TF2 is really my kind of game but it seems fun regardless.
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#15 ikir

ikir

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 829 posts
  • Steam Name:ikir
  • Location:In front of my Mac

Posted 16 June 2010 - 12:14 PM

TF2 runs incredibily well on my MBP 13". Nvidia 320M, SSD and 10.6.4 make it runs very very well. Most of settings to high, just, vsync off and aa 2x but fast and graphically stunning (playing native res).
ikir's personal page
MacBook pro 13" retina 2013
i5 2,6Ghz, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD, Iris graphics
Madcatz R.A.T. MMO7, Logitech K811

#16 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7163 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 16 June 2010 - 03:04 PM

I played Half-Life 2 today for the first time since the weekend, after installing MacOS X 10.6.4 and after a handful of patches for HL2 have been released. Either it's just me, or the game really does run less fluent now. Movement – especially faster movement – is pretty jittery now, not only of the player but also of other characters and objects. Not that much that the game is unplayable, but noticeable.

*sigh* Valve's QA really leaves a lot to be desired...

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#17 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Joo

  • Admin
  • 2980 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 16 June 2010 - 03:54 PM

View PostJanichsan, on 16 June 2010 - 03:04 PM, said:

*sigh* Valve's QA really leaves a lot to be desired...
Their QA is the public, unfortunately. They are known for pushing broken patches, too often, and allow the flood to "wth?" posts on their forums to let them know they did something wrong. Then they scramble and release quick hot fixes hours after posting a bad patch.

Something you just have to kind of get used too with their games. One week it could be running perfectly fine... then steam forces an update down your throat, and then the game runs like crap till they fix it again.

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#18 rob_ART

rob_ART

    Bare Feats

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 790 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR

Posted 22 June 2010 - 11:23 AM

I've been benchmarking Portal and Team Fortress (Steam for Mac). Most of my testing is at highest settings, 1920x1200, 4X MSAA, 4X Aniso.

The average for Portal using the GTX 285 dropped from 95 fps to 35 fps when I updated the Nehalem Mac Pro to 10.6.4. But after installing the driver update posted on the NVIDIA site (19.5.8f03), the average climbed up to 119 fps.

Ditto for Team Fortress. It went from 90 to 35 to 103 fps.
rob-ART morgan
mad scientist
BareFeats.com

#19 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7163 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 22 June 2010 - 01:37 PM

View Postrob_ART, on 22 June 2010 - 11:23 AM, said:

...from 95 fps to 35 fps...
*cough* :blink:

Wow. I thought that stuttering I see on my 9400M equipped Macbook was bad, but that's worse than I expected.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#20 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2667 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 22 June 2010 - 01:38 PM

View Postikir, on 16 June 2010 - 12:14 PM, said:

TF2 runs incredibily well on my MBP 13". Nvidia 320M, SSD and 10.6.4 make it runs very very well. Most of settings to high, just, vsync off and aa 2x but fast and graphically stunning (playing native res).

What games have you tried with that 320M, because I'm strongly considering getting a mac with one of them in there.
- Snake

Tulkas - 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 16 GB RAM || ATi 4870  ||  512 GB Crucial M500 + 2 TB WD Black || OS X Mavericks
Odinheim - Core i3 4150 @ 3.5 GHz || 16 GB RAM || GTX 760  || 120 GB Vertex 4 + 1 TB Seagate SSHD || Win 7 Pro x64