Jump to content


Mac Pro....


  • Please log in to reply
170 replies to this topic

#21 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17429 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 30 April 2010 - 07:03 PM

View PostEric5h5, on 30 April 2010 - 06:35 PM, said:

Embedded systems like this, perhaps:


  Posted Image

--Eric

I wish I had the nerve this driver had, I'll meekly drive around the block a dozen times looking for a parking spot.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#22 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 30 April 2010 - 07:11 PM

View PostEric5h5, on 30 April 2010 - 12:30 PM, said:

Yes, apparently you can turn a single-CPU Mac Pro into a dual-CPU Mac Pro by buying another CPU and hacking around a bit.

Not any more, I don't think. I believe the latest refresh removed the second socket when it wasn't needed. Would save on cash. Older models, yes.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#23 Tetsuya

Tetsuya

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2178 posts
  • Location:MI

Posted 04 May 2010 - 06:48 AM

View Postteflon, on 30 April 2010 - 07:11 PM, said:

Not any more, I don't think. I believe the latest refresh removed the second socket when it wasn't needed. Would save on cash. Older models, yes.

yep, only the first revision that had single-CPU models still had the second socket on the board.  After that, they went with a slightly different board for the single-CPU editions.

..... getting tired of waiting on the refresh.  Need new machine soon, so my fiance will quit bothering me about taking this one.

#24 Tetsuya

Tetsuya

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2178 posts
  • Location:MI

Posted 04 May 2010 - 09:22 PM

im getting a very rare kernel panic (about three times now) that i THINK is bad ram.  can anyone shed some light on it?


Interval Since Last Panic Report:  215999 sec
Panics Since Last Report:          1
Anonymous UUID:                    E55AC0BF-A631-43DF-88E0-3B052A71A789

Tue May  4 22:12:20 2010
panic(cpu 0 caller 0x2269e4): "thread_invoke: preemption_level -1, possible cause: unlocking an unlocked mutex or spinlock"@/SourceCache/xnu/xnu-1504.3.12/osfmk/kern/sched_prim.c:1471
Backtrace (CPU 0), Frame : Return Address (4 potential args on stack)
0x5d70be18 : 0x21b449 (0x5ce420 0x5d70be4c 0x2238a5 0x0)
0x5d70be68 : 0x2269e4 (0x585e1c 0xffffffff 0x585db4 0x2262a8)
0x5d70bee8 : 0x2270ea (0xa08b01c 0x0 0x5d70bf48 0x547d99)
0x5d70bf58 : 0x227155 (0x22fa8f 0x863ea0 0x0 0x2a1596)
0x5d70bf78 : 0x22fc29 (0x22fa8f 0x863ea0 0x0 0x0)
0x5d70bfc8 : 0x29e6cc (0x863ea0 0x0 0x10 0xa0aa3c0)

BSD process name corresponding to current thread: kernel_task

Mac OS version:
10D573

Kernel version:
Darwin Kernel Version 10.3.0: Fri Feb 26 11:58:09 PST 2010; root:xnu-1504.3.12~1/RELEASE_I386
System model name: MacPro1,1 (Mac-F4208DC8)

System uptime in nanoseconds: 224245262693368
unloaded kexts:
com.apple.iokit.IOUSBMassStorageClass 2.6.1 (addr 0x5d176000, size 0x45056) - last unloaded 10774345334382
loaded kexts:
foo.tun 1.0 - last loaded 10395855356052
foo.tap 1.0
com.bresink.driver.BRESINKx86Monitoring 5.0
com.kensington.mouseworks.driver.VirtualMouse 3.0
com.kensington.mouseworks.driver.KMWUSBHIDMouse 3.0
com.kensington.mouseworks.iokit.KensingtonMouseDriver 3.0
com.apple.driver.AppleHWSensor 1.9.3d0
com.apple.driver.AppleUpstreamUserClient 3.3.2
com.apple.kext.ATIFramebuffer 6.1.0
com.apple.driver.AudioAUUC 1.4
com.apple.Dont_Steal_Mac_OS_X 7.0.0
com.apple.ATIRadeonX2000 6.1.0
com.apple.driver.AudioIPCDriver 1.1.2
com.apple.driver.AppleHDA 1.8.4fc3
com.apple.driver.AppleIntel8254XEthernet 2.1.1b7
com.apple.driver.AppleIntelMeromProfile 19
com.apple.driver.AppleMCEDriver 1.1.9
com.apple.driver.ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin 4.1.1d0
com.apple.driver.AppleLPC 1.4.11
com.apple.filesystems.autofs 2.1.0
com.apple.filesystems.ntfs 3.2
com.apple.iokit.SCSITaskUserClient 2.6.2
com.apple.BootCache 31
com.apple.AppleFSCompression.AppleFSCompressionTypeZlib 1.0.0d1
com.apple.iokit.IOAHCIBlockStorage 1.6.1
com.apple.driver.AppleUSBHub 3.9.6
com.apple.driver.AppleFWOHCI 4.5.7
com.apple.driver.AppleAHCIPort 2.1.1
com.apple.driver.AppleEFINVRAM 1.3.0
com.apple.driver.AppleIntelPIIXATA 2.5.1
com.apple.driver.AppleUSBEHCI 3.9.6
com.apple.driver.AppleUSBUHCI 3.9.6
com.apple.driver.AppleACPIButtons 1.3.2
com.apple.driver.AppleRTC 1.3.1
com.apple.driver.AppleHPET 1.5
com.apple.driver.AppleSMBIOS 1.5
com.apple.driver.AppleACPIEC 1.3.2
com.apple.driver.AppleAPIC 1.4
com.apple.driver.AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementClient 104.3.0
com.apple.security.sandbox 0
com.apple.security.quarantine 0
com.apple.nke.applicationfirewall 2.1.11
com.apple.driver.AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement 104.3.0
com.apple.driver.AppleProfileReadCounterAction 17
com.apple.driver.AppleProfileTimestampAction 10
com.apple.driver.AppleProfileThreadInfoAction 14
com.apple.driver.AppleProfileRegisterStateAction 10
com.apple.driver.AppleProfileKEventAction 10
com.apple.driver.AppleProfileCallstackAction 20
com.apple.iokit.IOSurface 74.0
com.apple.iokit.IOBluetoothSerialManager 2.3.1f4
com.apple.iokit.IOSerialFamily 10.0.3
com.apple.driver.DspFuncLib 1.8.4fc3
com.apple.iokit.IONDRVSupport 2.1
com.apple.kext.ATI4800Controller 6.1.0
com.apple.kext.ATISupport 6.1.0
com.apple.iokit.IOFireWireIP 2.0.3
com.apple.iokit.IONetworkingFamily 1.9
com.apple.driver.AppleUSBAudio 2.6.8fc1
com.apple.iokit.IOAudioFamily 1.7.6fc2
com.apple.kext.OSvKernDSPLib 1.3
com.apple.iokit.AppleProfileFamily 41
com.apple.driver.AppleHDAController 1.8.4fc3
com.apple.iokit.IOGraphicsFamily 2.1
com.apple.iokit.IOHDAFamily 1.8.4fc3
com.apple.driver.AppleSMC 3.0.1d2
com.apple.driver.IOPlatformPluginFamily 4.1.1d0
com.apple.driver.AppleUSBHIDKeyboard 1.2.0a3
com.apple.iokit.IOUSBHIDDriver 3.9.6
com.apple.driver.AppleHIDKeyboard 1.2.0a3
com.apple.driver.AppleUSBMergeNub 3.9.6
com.apple.driver.AppleUSBComposite 3.9.0
com.apple.iokit.IOSCSIMultimediaCommandsDevice 2.6.2
com.apple.iokit.IOBDStorageFamily 1.6
com.apple.iokit.IODVDStorageFamily 1.6
com.apple.iokit.IOCDStorageFamily 1.6
com.apple.driver.XsanFilter 402.1
com.apple.iokit.IOATAPIProtocolTransport 2.5.1
com.apple.iokit.IOSCSIArchitectureModelFamily 2.6.2
com.apple.iokit.IOFireWireFamily 4.2.6
com.apple.iokit.IOUSBUserClient 3.9.6
com.apple.iokit.IOAHCIFamily 2.0.3
com.apple.iokit.IOATAFamily 2.5.1
com.apple.iokit.IOUSBFamily 3.9.6
com.apple.driver.AppleEFIRuntime 1.3.0
com.apple.iokit.IOHIDFamily 1.6.2
com.apple.iokit.IOSMBusFamily 1.1
com.apple.security.TMSafetyNet 6
com.apple.kext.AppleMatch 1.0.0d1
com.apple.driver.DiskImages 283
com.apple.iokit.IOStorageFamily 1.6
com.apple.driver.AppleACPIPlatform 1.3.2
com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily 2.6
com.apple.iokit.IOACPIFamily 1.3.0
Model: MacPro1,1, BootROM MP11.005C.B08, 4 processors, Dual-Core Intel Xeon, 2.66 GHz, 4 GB, SMC 1.7f10
Graphics: ATI Radeon HD 4870, ATI Radeon HD 4870, PCIe, 512 MB
Memory Module: global_name
Network Service: Ethernet 2, Ethernet, en1
PCI Card: ATI Radeon HD 4870, Display, Slot-1
Serial ATA Device: WDC WD2500JS-40NGB2, 232.89 GB
Serial ATA Device: ST3160811AS, 149.05 GB
Parallel ATA Device: PIONEER DVD-RW  DVR-115D, 3.18 GB
USB Device: USB2.0 Hub, 0x05e3  (Genesys Logic, Inc.), 0x0608, 0xfd400000
USB Device: Logitech USB Headset, 0x046d  (Logitech Inc.), 0x0a01, 0xfd440000
USB Device: USB2.0 Hub, 0x05e3  (Genesys Logic, Inc.), 0x0608, 0xfd430000
USB Device: AK5370, 0x0556, 0x0001, 0xfd434000
USB Device: Keyboard Hub, 0x05ac  (Apple Inc.), 0x1006, 0xfd300000
USB Device: Apple Keyboard, 0x05ac  (Apple Inc.), 0x0220, 0xfd320000
USB Device: Kensington Expert Mouse, 0x047d  (Kensington), 0x1020, 0x5d100000
FireWire Device: built-in_hub, Up to 800 Mb/sec

#25 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 05 May 2010 - 04:02 AM

if you think its the ram, then test the ram? I cant think of any named utilities a moment, but google is your friend.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#26 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3707 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 05 May 2010 - 06:49 AM

View Postteflon, on 05 May 2010 - 04:02 AM, said:

if you think its the ram, then test the ram? I cant think of any named utilities a moment, but google is your friend.

Apple Diagnostics? Run it from your install disc.

Liberator.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 16GB RAM | 10.10.5 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State


#27 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17429 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 05 May 2010 - 07:53 AM

Tech Tool Pro has a pretty exhaustive RAM testing system.  Runs all night.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#28 Tetsuya

Tetsuya

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2178 posts
  • Location:MI

Posted 05 May 2010 - 08:19 AM

done all of the above, and also read plenty of feedback from people who had bad RAM that was never detected by any of those sources, thats why i was hoping someone was better than me at deciphering what the crash report says.

#29 Tetsuya

Tetsuya

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2178 posts
  • Location:MI

Posted 06 May 2010 - 04:46 PM

passed an all-night memory test without a single error -

what else can cause system slowdown?  I -often- get the beachball when opening apps, opening a new finder window, or when switching between apps.  

my Core2Duo mini with only 1GB of RAM is snappy as all can be, though.  

Both are running 10.6 updated fully.

#30 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 06 May 2010 - 04:50 PM

Failing HDD?
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#31 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17429 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 06 May 2010 - 05:56 PM

View Postteflon, on 06 May 2010 - 04:50 PM, said:

Failing HDD?
I've had some weird errors with a failing HDD.  Possibly your memory problems are from failing HDD corrupted virtual memory?  Also, it wouldn't hurt to reinstall your system.  Select the save user settings option.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#32 Tetsuya

Tetsuya

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2178 posts
  • Location:MI

Posted 07 May 2010 - 08:54 AM

Tech Tool is chugging away at the drive test (and has been for hours) so far, passing with flying colors.

#33 yo-mike

yo-mike

    Livin' in 2007

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1031 posts

Posted 20 May 2010 - 10:35 PM

Anyone seen the 8 core Mac Pro yet?

-Mike

AMD Phenom II X4, Win 7 64

Kubuntu Rocks Better


#34 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3707 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 20 May 2010 - 11:27 PM

View Postyo-mike, on 20 May 2010 - 10:35 PM, said:

Anyone seen the 8 core Mac Pro yet?

-Mike

What do you mean? Octo core MPs have been available for a few revisions now. Do you mean the MPs that are supposed to be refreshed/refreshing soon?

Liberator.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 16GB RAM | 10.10.5 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State


#35 Tetsuya

Tetsuya

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2178 posts
  • Location:MI

Posted 21 May 2010 - 01:12 AM

still no idea what is causing the random slowdowns and hangs.  TechTool has given both the memory and the Hard Drives a clean bill of health after exhaustive testing.

#36 jgwdoc

jgwdoc

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 997 posts
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 21 May 2010 - 08:25 AM

View PostTetsuya, on 21 May 2010 - 01:12 AM, said:

still no idea what is causing the random slowdowns and hangs.  TechTool has given both the memory and the Hard Drives a clean bill of health after exhaustive testing.


Tetsuya, have you tried using iStat to test the temperatures of various components after running the machine for a bit? I had a situation a few months ago where I kept getting random crashes, TechTool said everything was fine, but iStat (have to use the vertical display mode that shows all components) revealed that one of my RAM blocks was running at 120 degrees Celsius. Changed the block and all the problems disappeared. Just a thought.
Home: MacPro 2x3.0 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon/16GB RAM/ATI HD5770,1GB VRAM/Snow Leopard/Windows 7
Travel: MacbookPro 2.9GHz Quadcore i7/16GB RAM/1TB SSD/Radeon Pro560 with 4GB VRAM/Sierra/Windows 10

Beach: iMac 3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo-boost to 3.9GHz/16GB RAM/Sierra/Windows10/GeForce GTX 780M 4GB

#37 Tetsuya

Tetsuya

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2178 posts
  • Location:MI

Posted 21 May 2010 - 09:24 AM

View Postjgwdoc, on 21 May 2010 - 08:25 AM, said:

Tetsuya, have you tried using iStat to test the temperatures of various components after running the machine for a bit? I had a situation a few months ago where I kept getting random crashes, TechTool said everything was fine, but iStat (have to use the vertical display mode that shows all components) revealed that one of my RAM blocks was running at 120 degrees Celsius. Changed the block and all the problems disappeared. Just a thought.

ill give this a try; that could easily be the culprit.

#38 yo-mike

yo-mike

    Livin' in 2007

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1031 posts

Posted 21 May 2010 - 09:51 AM

View PostThe Liberator, on 20 May 2010 - 11:27 PM, said:

What do you mean? Octo core MPs have been available for a few revisions now.
Really? I thought they came in under the radar.
Is the future Fusion?

-Mike

AMD Phenom II X4, Win 7 64

Kubuntu Rocks Better


#39 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3707 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 21 May 2010 - 11:06 PM

Well, not that I know of. I have just checked the US store and its own page, and there does not seem to be any change at all; even an under the radar change.

Liberator.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 16GB RAM | 10.10.5 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State


#40 Eric5h5

Eric5h5

    Minion Tormentor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7160 posts

Posted 21 May 2010 - 11:21 PM

View Postyo-mike, on 21 May 2010 - 09:51 AM, said:

Really?

Really. Welcome to 2007.

--Eric