Jump to content


No RSS feed.


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 clocknova

clocknova

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 998 posts
  • Location:Charleston, SC

Posted 04 February 2010 - 09:57 AM

What's with the RSS feed?  It hasn't worked in a while.
There they were, sitting in the van with all those dials, and the cat was dead.
-V. Marchetti, CIA

#2 Hansi

Hansi

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1785 posts
  • Steam ID:hansroberth
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 04 February 2010 - 01:00 PM

Works for me:

http://www.insidemac...om/news/rss.php

#3 clocknova

clocknova

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 998 posts
  • Location:Charleston, SC

Posted 04 February 2010 - 01:21 PM

I can add the feed to my toolbar, but all I get from it is "live bookmark failed to load."
There they were, sitting in the van with all those dials, and the cat was dead.
-V. Marchetti, CIA

#4 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17436 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 04 February 2010 - 02:08 PM

The feed works for me OK.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#5 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4265 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 04 February 2010 - 03:08 PM

I cant reproduce the problem... so unfortunately I don't know where to start looking to fix it. Maybe its a dns issue or isp blocking issue with you? Got any more details or info about the issue that could help me isolate the problem? Thanks.

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#6 Floxwoop

Floxwoop

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts

Posted 04 February 2010 - 04:41 PM

I have the same problem. I'm using NewsFire as my RSS reader and the logs give me this:

2010-02-04 23.39.15 NewsFire[5123] *** xmlDocument parse error: (http://www.insidemac...om/news/rss.php)
2010-02-04 23.39.15 NewsFire[5123] Error Domain=NSXMLParserErrorDomain Code=9 UserInfo=0x200f43860 "Line 32: Input is not proper UTF-8, indicate encoding !
Bytes: 0x93 0x49 0x20 0x61"

It might point you in the right direction.

F

#7 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4265 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 05 February 2010 - 09:39 AM

Sounds like it doesn't like "funny characters" in text. I noticed these grabage characters keep leaking into the IMG news because *AHEM* our writers keep copy pasting from their stupid word processors that auto-set curly quotes and crap like that which has no place on the web!

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#8 clocknova

clocknova

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 998 posts
  • Location:Charleston, SC

Posted 05 February 2010 - 09:45 AM

I'm just using Firefox.  No other RSS feed gievs me a problem.
There they were, sitting in the van with all those dials, and the cat was dead.
-V. Marchetti, CIA

#9 Blackshawk

Blackshawk

    Narcissist Extraordinaire

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1790 posts
  • Location:Blackshawk Inc.

Posted 08 February 2010 - 05:04 PM

I wonder whatever happened to that Dashboard widget I made that grabbed all the IMG news? I completely forgot about that thing until I read this. Nobody still uses it do they??
I Can't Feel My Torso – Your Gaming Fix From Blackshawk

I'm going to the vet to get tutored.

#10 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17436 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 08 February 2010 - 07:31 PM

View PostBlackshawk, on February 8th 2010, 03:04 PM, said:

I wonder whatever happened to that Dashboard widget I made that grabbed all the IMG news? I completely forgot about that thing until I read this. Nobody still uses it do they??
I used it for a while but because I moderate the forums 3 times a day I see the news in the news forum ad nauseam.  Desktop widget real estate eventually became an issue so I dumped your widget like it was a fat blind date with man hands.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#11 Blackshawk

Blackshawk

    Narcissist Extraordinaire

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1790 posts
  • Location:Blackshawk Inc.

Posted 09 February 2010 - 10:13 PM

Ha - understandable. I never did get the thing working quite like I wanted to - I managed to find the old download and was amazed when the news feed actually popped up! Two years later and my old Dashboard widget still kicks! I'll never forget that weekend when Tuncer and I merged together our efforts to create it. :)
I Can't Feel My Torso – Your Gaming Fix From Blackshawk

I'm going to the vet to get tutored.

#12 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17436 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 10 February 2010 - 08:42 AM

You should post a link to your news widget.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#13 Blackshawk

Blackshawk

    Narcissist Extraordinaire

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1790 posts
  • Location:Blackshawk Inc.

Posted 11 February 2010 - 08:32 PM

Old Widget!

If anyone wants it its there. It could be much better........
I Can't Feel My Torso – Your Gaming Fix From Blackshawk

I'm going to the vet to get tutored.