Jump to content


RAGE


  • Please log in to reply
175 replies to this topic

#1 CaryMG

CaryMG

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Location:New York City

Posted 26 January 2010 - 04:40 PM

It's due out this year ....

... the Xbox 360, Windows, and Mac versions will ship on either two or three dual-layer DVD discs ....
John Carmack has revealed that an uncompressed software build of RAGE is one terabyte in size ....


ONE TERABYTE.
This is unimaginably huge ....
Compressed, t'll be in the neighborhood of 30GBs.
Yes, I said 30 -- as in the number between 29 & 31.  lol
With a game this big, is a demo feasible or even doable ?

RAGE will use idTech5.
For perspective, the iD graphic engines are ....
iDTech1
DOOM

idTech2
Quake

idTech3
Quake III: Arena

iDTech4
DOOM 3

iDtech5
RAGE & DOOM 4

Incidentally, the father of FPS engines, John Carmack, says iDTech6 will be as far as graphics can go & will involve realtime raytracing in some way.
Here's hoping the idTech6 game will be "Woflenstein" ....


:)

#2 Eric5h5

Eric5h5

    Minion Tormentor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7160 posts

Posted 26 January 2010 - 05:45 PM

"As far as graphics can go"?  Isn't that kinda like "Everything that can be invented, has been invented"?

--Eric

#3 J'nathus

J'nathus

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 559 posts

Posted 26 January 2010 - 06:00 PM

View PostEric5h5, on January 26th 2010, 04:45 PM, said:

As far as graphics can go"?  Isn't that kinda like "Everything that can be invented, has been invented"?

"No one will EVER need more than 950K of RAM."

#4 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 26 January 2010 - 06:38 PM

The idtech6 engine won't be coming out for at least another 5 years after Rage is released, if not even longer than that. (the gap between Doom 3 and Rage is going to be 6 years) All guesswork as to what it'll be is just that, guess work.

Of course, since it's Carmack, and it'll be him creating it, it's an informed guess, and it's based upon what he wants to do next go round. Even so, we don't know if raytracing will be feasible in 5 years time, or even 10 years.

The final step in graphics rendering tech is going to be the ability to completely synthesise reality so that it's indistinguishable. Considering that films barely manage that even right now, and they've got massive render farms, I feel quite comfortable in saying that it's a way off. Specially when you consider that the next generation of games consoles will come out well within the next 5 years, and so precede idtech6 by quite a way, leaving it to be a PC only endeavour.

So, it's all speculation and gibberish talk.
Anyway, I thought Carmack was retiring after idtech5?
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#5 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6075 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 26 January 2010 - 06:40 PM

Quake 5 Quake 5 Quake 5!
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#6 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3298 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 26 January 2010 - 07:27 PM

Dang, that's big!

This may seem like a strange request, but I hope we'll be able to install it instead of swapping discs. I'll have to buy a another internal drive though just to play
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#7 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 26 January 2010 - 08:52 PM

View PostSneaky Snake, on January 27th 2010, 01:27 AM, said:

Dang, that's big!

This may seem like a strange request, but I hope we'll be able to install it instead of swapping discs. I'll have to buy a another internal drive though just to play

Why would we be swapping disks? No, it'll be an install, probably some lame form of DRM and Disc 1 in the DVD drive.

The 360 will have disc swapping, but there too, you might be able to install to the HDD. Not sure, but you'll probably have to swap discs anyway there.

The PS3, though, will have everything on a single disc and hopefully no install, or only something very small.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#8 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3298 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 26 January 2010 - 08:59 PM

View Postteflon, on January 26th 2010, 09:52 PM, said:

Why would we be swapping disks? No, it'll be an install, probably some lame form of DRM and Disc 1 in the DVD drive.

The 360 will have disc swapping, but there too, you might be able to install to the HDD. Not sure, but you'll probably have to swap discs anyway there.

The PS3, though, will have everything on a single disc and hopefully no install, or only something very small.

Well seeing as its 1 TB uncompressed an install good be quite the pig on the HDD, but your right, I'm sure they'll have some kind of install.
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#9 Tesseract

Tesseract

    Unmanageable Megaweight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3512 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 27 January 2010 - 02:58 AM

Why would it have to be decompressed to install to the HDD?

#10 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8075 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 27 January 2010 - 04:06 AM

View PostTesseract, on January 27th 2010, 09:58 AM, said:

Why would it have to be decompressed to install to the HDD?
I don't think it would have to. Most modern engines use some kind of on-the-fly decompression of textures and stuff anyway, so the data could as well be stored compressed on the hard disk. But since hard disks are in all cases faster than DVD (or Blu-ray) drives, the game would of course profit tremendously from an installation.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#11 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 27 January 2010 - 05:06 AM

Guys, you should read the text that isn't in bold...
It says right under "ONE TERABYTE!", quite clearly, that the final product will be about 29-31GB when it's compressed.

If there is an installation on the PS3, then it hopefully wont be too big. For one thing, the megatextures themselves will have to be kept on the disk, since they'd be waaaaay too big. Which leaves you with all the traditionally textured objects in the game. Also, don't forget that the PS3 and 360 versions will have lower potential texture quality on show than a half decent PC. Because of that, the amount of data being streamed will be much lower than a PC on max settings.

On 360, there's no mandatory installs, either, so the game will have to be able to stream from the discs. The PS3 might only have an install because the disc drive is a touch slower, but games like Killzone 2 and Uncharted 2 have shown that if it's done right, you don't need one.

But I guess we'll have to wait and see.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#12 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1425 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 30 January 2010 - 03:09 PM

Link (original source)?
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#13 dr.zeissler

dr.zeissler

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 198 posts
  • Location:GERMANY

Posted 02 February 2010 - 01:27 PM

1TB 1.000 GBytes, that is really HUGE!!!
 iMac 2.93C2D ATI-4850 4GB 640GB BT AP SD
 MacbookPro 2.4C2D 9600GT 4GB 250GB BT AP SD
 iPod Video 30GB - Airport Extreme - Synology 406 1.6TB@Raid5

#14 Magnum

Magnum

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 773 posts
  • Location:tBC's litter box

Posted 08 February 2010 - 10:52 PM

View PostFrost, on January 26th 2010, 06:40 PM, said:

Quake 5 Quake 5 Quake 5!

Or perhaps Quake 1/2 remakes? :D
2.71828183 * 3.14159265 * 299792458

#15 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1425 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 20 April 2011 - 03:47 AM

THE BEST TRAILER I'VE WATCHED FOR THIS GAME SO FAR! I really freaking hope it makes its way to OS X!!! Damn Bethesda...
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#16 DaveyJJ

DaveyJJ

    All hail Bastet

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3895 posts
  • Steam Name:DaveyJJ
  • Location:Inside Bastet's secret temple preparing for the catpocalypse.

Posted 20 April 2011 - 04:49 AM

View PostCaryMG, on 26 January 2010 - 04:40 PM, said:

It's due out this year ....

... the Xbox 360, Windows, and Mac versions will ship on either two or three dual-layer DVD discs ....
John Carmack has revealed that an uncompressed software build of RAGE is one terabyte in size ....


ONE TERABYTE.

Wow, that's a lot of lines of BASIC, eh?

10. Goto 20.
20. Print "John Carmack is cool "
30. Goto 10

Raven 27" i3 iMac 3.2GHz | 12GB RAM | 1TB HD | 512MB 5670 ATI Radeon HD
Crow iPad 2 | 32GB WiFi


"Not my circus, not my monkeys." -- Polish folk saying
"In ancient times cats were worshipped as gods; they have not forgotten this." -- Terry Pratchett
"I love cats because I enjoy my home; and little by little, they become its visible soul." -- Jean Cocteau


#17 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17376 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 20 April 2011 - 08:45 AM

View PostUmarOMC1, on 20 April 2011 - 03:47 AM, said:

THE BEST TRAILER I'VE WATCHED FOR THIS GAME SO FAR!
Hey, remember wall textures and scenery objects?  Yep, those were the good old days.  ::Jumps up and runs to the door shouting::  HEY YOU KIDS GET OFF MY LAWN!!
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#18 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 20 April 2011 - 10:05 AM

Wait... What the frak is "Woflenstein"?
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#19 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17376 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 20 April 2011 - 12:31 PM

View Postteflon, on 20 April 2011 - 10:05 AM, said:

Wait... What the frak is "Woflenstein"?
It's a copmuter game.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#20 bobbob

bobbob

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3367 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 12:37 PM

View Postthe Battle Cat, on 20 April 2011 - 12:31 PM, said:

It's a copmuter game.
It's a wofl dwinking game made up by Bawy Kwipke