Jump to content


Jeff Vogel Discusses Avernum And Future Games


  • Please log in to reply
109 replies to this topic

#21 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3707 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 07 January 2010 - 12:32 AM

...yeah. We addidcts are back for our daily doses of whatever the firetruck it is why we are here. ;)

Liberator.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 16GB RAM | 10.10.5 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State


#22 Mr. Selvetarm

Mr. Selvetarm

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 713 posts
  • Location:Faerūn or Tel'aran'rhiod

Posted 07 January 2010 - 07:44 PM

I only lurk these days and I still ended up refreshing my IMG tab several times a day in the hope that the Time of the Darkness had ended.

Gosh it's been a while... Sold the Green Monster and the iPad for a truly amazing new beast.

THE RAINBOW GREMLIN: i5-760 @ 3.2ghz, ASUS H57 Mobo, EVGA 470 GTX (1280mb) , 8gb OCZ Reaper HPC, 60gb OCZ Vertex 2 SSD, 2tb Samsung F3, 800 Watt Corsair PSU



#23 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17373 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 07 January 2010 - 09:09 PM

Which one of you idiots missed us so much that you are stealing all the graphics??
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#24 Mr. Selvetarm

Mr. Selvetarm

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 713 posts
  • Location:Faerūn or Tel'aran'rhiod

Posted 07 January 2010 - 10:01 PM

I think this fella might be a possible suspect.

Posted Image

Gosh it's been a while... Sold the Green Monster and the iPad for a truly amazing new beast.

THE RAINBOW GREMLIN: i5-760 @ 3.2ghz, ASUS H57 Mobo, EVGA 470 GTX (1280mb) , 8gb OCZ Reaper HPC, 60gb OCZ Vertex 2 SSD, 2tb Samsung F3, 800 Watt Corsair PSU



#25 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17373 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 08 January 2010 - 08:38 AM

Nobody else is seeing this?  All the graphics missing, plus it looks like the css file is missing.  Fonts are generic and text is not formatted.  I'm starting to get the same thing in Firefox now.  I'm unable to use the admin panel, most of the links are unresponsive.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#26 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4265 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 08 January 2010 - 09:05 AM

Uh.

Wasn't me who turned off the forums... that was the server guys. Forums were slamming the DB, causing problems all over the place, so they turned it off while they were migrating IMG to a new location and all that. As a result, I have had no access to the code nor db for the forums properly during that time.

Also, I wasn't even made aware they turned the forums back on until right now.

I will have to figure out whats going on, so I can do that much needed code update that has been seemingly postponed forever! So we are not out of the woods yet on forum outages, because I will have to take it all down again when I update all the code to the new 3.x versions. Sorry.



View Postthe Battle Cat, on January 8th 2010, 09:38 AM, said:

Nobody else is seeing this?  All the graphics missing, plus it looks like the css file is missing.  Fonts are generic and text is not formatted.  I'm starting to get the same thing in Firefox now.  I'm unable to use the admin panel, most of the links are unresponsive.
Sounds like dns/cache issues. Might be compounded by whatever the server guys did to move IMG around. Might be some old IP's in your dns cache or something. Could be a day or so for that to clear itself up.

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#27 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8075 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 08 January 2010 - 09:13 AM

View Postthe Battle Cat, on January 8th 2010, 03:38 PM, said:

Nobody else is seeing this?  All the graphics missing, plus it looks like the css file is missing.  Fonts are generic and text is not formatted.  I'm starting to get the same thing in Firefox now.  I'm unable to use the admin panel, most of the links are unresponsive.
I also have this, but only in Safari. With Opera, everything looks fine – at least until now. I just tried to empty the Safari cache, but that didn't help.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#28 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 08 January 2010 - 09:19 AM

I've got it too
Another poem by Teflon.

I've got it too.
Don't worry,
it's not just you.
Im sorry,
I didn't reply
Sooner.
Please don't decry
All my deficiencies to all your friends and family as well as the people on these forums and even random strangers in your local super market.


This poem's also useful in the case that you have an STI...
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#29 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3707 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 08 January 2010 - 07:18 PM

Yeah, same for me, and the quality of the layout has deteriorated significantly…

Liberator.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 16GB RAM | 10.10.5 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State


#30 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3707 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 08 January 2010 - 07:46 PM

It seemed to look fine in Firefox. I shall test FF later to see what it is like then.

Liberator.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 16GB RAM | 10.10.5 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State


#31 Mr. Selvetarm

Mr. Selvetarm

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 713 posts
  • Location:Faerūn or Tel'aran'rhiod

Posted 08 January 2010 - 07:54 PM

I had the same symptoms as the Liberator using the Dev Build of Win 7 Chrome.

EDIT: Still have*, it's not as bad today but still pretty bad.

Gosh it's been a while... Sold the Green Monster and the iPad for a truly amazing new beast.

THE RAINBOW GREMLIN: i5-760 @ 3.2ghz, ASUS H57 Mobo, EVGA 470 GTX (1280mb) , 8gb OCZ Reaper HPC, 60gb OCZ Vertex 2 SSD, 2tb Samsung F3, 800 Watt Corsair PSU



#32 Eric5h5

Eric5h5

    Minion Tormentor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7160 posts

Posted 08 January 2010 - 08:50 PM

It comes and goes. I was just about to post saying "Hey, all the images are back!" except now they aren't.

--Eric

#33 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17373 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 08 January 2010 - 09:13 PM

Gremlins!
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#34 yo-mike

yo-mike

    Livin' in 2007

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1031 posts

Posted 08 January 2010 - 09:46 PM

View Postthe Battle Cat, on January 6th 2010, 10:41 AM, said:

You are assuming there was some sort of effort going on.  Here is the actual footage of the IMG Forum Maintenance Man.
:bleedingeyes: Ughhhh! Couldn't you have picked out someone , um, a little more attractive? Maybe a 'she' instead of a 'he'?
IMG does have PR, you know. Hmm..

-Mike

AMD Phenom II X4, Win 7 64

Kubuntu Rocks Better


#35 yo-mike

yo-mike

    Livin' in 2007

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1031 posts

Posted 08 January 2010 - 09:51 PM

View Postthe Battle Cat, on January 7th 2010, 10:09 PM, said:

Which one of you idiots missed us so much that you are stealing all the graphics??
Anti-sec?
Maybe IMG's next?

-Mike

AMD Phenom II X4, Win 7 64

Kubuntu Rocks Better


#36 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3707 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 09 January 2010 - 01:19 AM

View Postyo-mike, on January 9th 2010, 02:51 PM, said:

Anti-sec?
Maybe IMG's next?

-Mike
I understand what you are meaning, but I would beg to differ. I think the changes on IMG are too different to the changes that were on Imageshack.

Liberator.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 16GB RAM | 10.10.5 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State


#37 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 09 January 2010 - 06:11 AM

Could it be to do with the browser's rendering engines?
Safari and Chrome are both Webkit, both have issues. FF and Camino are both Gecko, and both work fine for me.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#38 ozzy

ozzy

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 426 posts
  • Steam Name:ozzy
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 09 January 2010 - 08:37 AM

I haven't seen the problems at all in the past couple days, and I'm using Safari.

#39 yo-mike

yo-mike

    Livin' in 2007

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1031 posts

Posted 09 January 2010 - 09:29 AM

View Postteflon, on January 9th 2010, 07:11 AM, said:

Could it be to do with the browser's rendering engines?
Safari and Chrome are both Webkit, both have issues. FF and Camino are both Gecko, and both work fine for me.
Whaaaaaat? Safari passed the acid test with flying colors. This must be some crazy dream or someone's eaten cabbage rolls for breakfast.
-Mike

AMD Phenom II X4, Win 7 64

Kubuntu Rocks Better


#40 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17373 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 09 January 2010 - 10:06 AM

I get the same problems in Safari, Firefox, and Netscape Navigator.  Frigidman is talking to the server guys about it.  In the meantime, pressing shift/command/option/control while clicking the page refresh of your browser helps somewhat, though it's effects are random with any try.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat