Jump to content


Dragon Age: Origins coming to the mac


  • Please log in to reply
218 replies to this topic

#41 Hansi

Hansi

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1785 posts
  • Steam ID:hansroberth
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 07 January 2010 - 06:13 PM

View PostUmarOMC1, on January 7th 2010, 02:39 AM, said:

Has this already been covered: Which direct download service seems to have the best consumer feedback/option(s) to re-download?

TIA

Direct2Drive

#42 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3301 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 13 January 2010 - 07:31 PM

Just finished the game, I'm selling my gaming PC on the weekend so I decided to just finish it up quick. I didn't even got to the majority of the side quests but I can assure that this game is a masterpiece. And upon finishing it the only thing I wanted to do was start a new game, with a new character, with a new set party members, with an entirely new origin story, and a new set of decisions to make.

I actually purchased the game guide for it, and that's the first game guide I've ever bought for a game. It's that good :P .
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#43 Soulforger

Soulforger

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 14 January 2010 - 05:59 PM

I just finished it too
The big whole problem is only one: Mac version don't have any add-on for separate download (like Return to Ostagar)... I just wonder why.

#44 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8102 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 25 January 2010 - 03:36 AM

I finished the game on the weekend, clocking in at roughly 72 hours (including most of the side quests). Certainly not perfect, but definitely one of best RPGs I've played. Now where's that frigging expansion?

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#45 psmith

psmith

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 29 January 2010 - 02:11 AM

Hi Guys,

I am thinking about buying this game but, reading the online Dragon Age manual, I noticed that 3 mouse buttons are required. I have a Magic Mouse and I'm aware it's possible to emulate 3 buttons (and they explain how to do so in the manual), but I can't tell whether the game would still be playable/fun. Have you guys who've already spent time with the game been using 3 button mice or other Apple standard mice?

thanks,
a

#46 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8102 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 29 January 2010 - 02:59 AM

View Postpsmith, on January 29th 2010, 09:11 AM, said:

I am thinking about buying this game but, reading the online Dragon Age manual, I noticed that 3 mouse buttons are required.
:huh: I've seen no use of a middle mouse button in the game at all. You'll need two buttons, sure, but a third one?? Anyway, should the need for a third mouse button really arise, you can emulate it according to the Mac version's read me file by holding down control and command while clicking.

And while we're at it: welcome to this asylum that we like to call the IMG forum. Do what you like, but stay away from the cats.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#47 psmith

psmith

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 29 January 2010 - 11:58 AM

View PostJanichsan, on January 29th 2010, 02:59 AM, said:

:huh: I've seen no use of a middle mouse button in the game at all. You'll need two buttons, sure, but a third one?? Anyway, should the need for a third mouse button really arise, you can emulate it according to the Mac version's read me file by holding down control and command while clicking.

And while we're at it: welcome to this asylum that we like to call the IMG forum. Do what you like, but stay away from the cats.


Oops! Turns out I was confusing Dragon Age with another game I had been considering. From the Dragon Age manual: "This game contains features that require a right mouse button and middle mouse button." ... so, only 2 required.

Sorry and thanks for the reply & welcome,
psmith

#48 ikir

ikir

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 875 posts
  • Steam Name:ikir
  • Location:In front of my Mac

Posted 29 January 2010 - 12:27 PM

I'm very temped to buy it and quit wow for 2 months :cool:
ikir's personal page
MacBook Pro 13" 2016 i5 2,9Ghz - 8GB RAM - 512GB SSD
Thunderbolt 3 eGPU Radeon Nitro+ RX 480 4GB
LG 34UM95 Ultrawide Thunderbolt
Steelseries Rival 300, Steelseries Siberia v3Prism, Logitech K811

#49 Tesseract

Tesseract

    Unmanageable Megaweight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3512 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 29 January 2010 - 12:55 PM

View Postpsmith, on January 30th 2010, 04:58 AM, said:

Oops! Turns out I was confusing Dragon Age with another game I had been considering. From the Dragon Age manual: "This game contains features that require a right mouse button and middle mouse button." ... so, only 2 required.
Somehow I don't think they mean that a mouse with no left button is fine...  :huh:

#50 ikir

ikir

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 875 posts
  • Steam Name:ikir
  • Location:In front of my Mac

Posted 29 January 2010 - 05:20 PM

I will buy it tomorrow probably  :cool2:
ikir's personal page
MacBook Pro 13" 2016 i5 2,9Ghz - 8GB RAM - 512GB SSD
Thunderbolt 3 eGPU Radeon Nitro+ RX 480 4GB
LG 34UM95 Ultrawide Thunderbolt
Steelseries Rival 300, Steelseries Siberia v3Prism, Logitech K811

#51 psmith

psmith

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 29 January 2010 - 11:16 PM

View PostTesseract, on January 29th 2010, 12:55 PM, said:

Somehow I don't think they mean that a mouse with no left button is fine...  :huh:

Yeah, I was conveniently ignoring that because I want to buy the game and had been told it might be ok. And no one has stepped in to save me from myself. :)

#52 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17430 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 30 January 2010 - 10:36 AM

You can pick up a 3 button mouse for a pretty cheap price these days.  Get one, you'll love it for games and for general usage.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#53 psmith

psmith

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 31 January 2010 - 06:41 AM

View Postthe Battle Cat, on January 30th 2010, 10:36 AM, said:

You can pick up a 3 button mouse for a pretty cheap price these days.  Get one, you'll love it for games and for general usage.


Which one would you recommend?

#54 ikir

ikir

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 875 posts
  • Steam Name:ikir
  • Location:In front of my Mac

Posted 31 January 2010 - 07:17 AM

OK i'm having a lot of fun with this game, it runs smooth at max settings but i have a very high end machine.
I hate it saved things in Documents folder.... non sense, there is the game folder and also application support for that.
ikir's personal page
MacBook Pro 13" 2016 i5 2,9Ghz - 8GB RAM - 512GB SSD
Thunderbolt 3 eGPU Radeon Nitro+ RX 480 4GB
LG 34UM95 Ultrawide Thunderbolt
Steelseries Rival 300, Steelseries Siberia v3Prism, Logitech K811

#55 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17430 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 31 January 2010 - 10:03 AM

View Postpsmith, on January 31st 2010, 04:41 AM, said:

Which one would you recommend?
I used Macally mice for quite a while, then I found this Logitech G5 five button mouse that is the best mouse I've owned so far.  It's lasted longer than 2 of the Logitech's so far due to a much more durable skid pad system.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#56 edddeduck

edddeduck

    Feral Interactive

  • Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1230 posts
  • Location:London, England, UK

Posted 01 February 2010 - 03:21 AM

Our office is pretty much a Logitech haven, with various models, checking my desk I use a MX510 and a MX518 although I am sure newer models exist but these two have lived on my desk for a few years without complaint or failure.

#57 ikir

ikir

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 875 posts
  • Steam Name:ikir
  • Location:In front of my Mac

Posted 01 February 2010 - 04:36 AM

@about mouse
Or save some money and buy a "cheap" Razer. You can find Razer Pro click on ebay, pretty cheap (new not used).


@thread already
Hanf i've played DAO for like 4 hours yersterday... it is like a drug. Best rpg i have ever played
ikir's personal page
MacBook Pro 13" 2016 i5 2,9Ghz - 8GB RAM - 512GB SSD
Thunderbolt 3 eGPU Radeon Nitro+ RX 480 4GB
LG 34UM95 Ultrawide Thunderbolt
Steelseries Rival 300, Steelseries Siberia v3Prism, Logitech K811

#58 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3301 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 01 February 2010 - 12:12 PM

View Postikir, on February 1st 2010, 05:36 AM, said:

@about mouse
Or save some money and buy a "cheap" Razer. You can find Razer Pro click on ebay, pretty cheap (new not used).
@thread already
Hanf i've played DAO for like 4 hours yersterday... it is like a drug. Best rpg i have ever played

How's it run on your Mac Pro?
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#59 psmith

psmith

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 01 February 2010 - 07:29 PM

Thanks very much for the mouse suggestions and thoughts, guys.

#60 psmith

psmith

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 02 February 2010 - 01:43 AM

Ok, new issue: what if I'm left handed? (I've seen a bunch of multi-button mice that are easy for right handed folks)