Jump to content


Feral's upcoming project?


  • Please log in to reply
2524 replies to this topic

#2401 Mr Pink

Mr Pink

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 396 posts

Posted 25 August 2017 - 09:58 AM

'F1 2016', 'Total War: Warhammer', 'Dawn of War III' and 'Bioshock Remastered' all came out this year and had no issues with nVidia.
'HITMAN' only supports AMD and 'F1 2017' supports AMD & Intel Cards.
It must be a Mac specific problem since HITMAN for Linux does support nVidia Cards (so do DiRT Rally & Deus Ex: Mankind Divided).

It would indeed be nice to have some idea of how nVidia support will play out over the next months/years.

#2402 ozzy

ozzy

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 434 posts
  • Steam Name:ozzy
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 25 August 2017 - 10:32 AM

I'd love to know as well. I had 0 problems with Hitman on my nVidia 1070 card, but I at least had a demo to try out first.

#2403 Mr Pink

Mr Pink

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 396 posts

Posted 25 August 2017 - 11:22 AM

View Postozzy, on 25 August 2017 - 10:32 AM, said:

I'd love to know as well. I had 0 problems with Hitman on my nVidia 1070 card, but I at least had a demo to try out first.

But who knows how the MacBook Pros and iMacs with nVidia 600M and 700M series fare.

#2404 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8102 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 25 August 2017 - 11:51 AM

View PostMr Pink, on 25 August 2017 - 09:58 AM, said:

It must be a Mac specific problem…
The Mac specific problem is quite obviously the support for the Mac specific graphics API.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#2405 Cougar

Cougar

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1373 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 25 August 2017 - 01:31 PM

Hopefully next year's Mac Pro will have an NVidia option, and/or Apple will add better  
nVidia support when external GPUs go official, and this issue will sort itself out.

Imagine not having to mess with web drivers anymore! That would almost make me go back to a hackintosh. Almost.

#2406 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 837 posts

Posted 25 August 2017 - 02:52 PM

I'd guess even for titles with which Nvidia is supported it is the built-in MacOS driver that is tested agaInst and that could be several builds behind the web drivers which get an update with each point release so potentially bug fixes.
Mac Pro 09 (now a 5.1, 2 x 3.06GHz Xeon X5675, 24GB, RX580 8GB, 480SSD, 16TB HD, MacOS 10.13.1

#2407 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 837 posts

Posted 26 August 2017 - 03:34 AM

Well I decided to risk it after Feral confirmed there is no block - just an unsupported warning.

F1 2017 does run OK so far for me - The real test will be the career mode (where I spent most of my time on 2016). I've only tried a few time trail laps round Spa so far in a modern car and a classic one as I get used to the revised handling and far more prominent force feedback. I'm working on adjusting the settings to my liking but I still might not quite manage all assist off if I want to keep it fun as I do still find it very easy to spin out of slow corners with only the slightest throttle. It could of course just be me but I think this might also be partly because my Logitech Momo only has one axis shared for brake and accelerator.

The only glitch so far was actually with the audio which one time went silent/off as I started a lap. I've not seen anything obviously wrong with video. I left most settings on the defaults of low/medium - just changed the resolution to my native 1440p and turned on some effects that were set to off and mirrors to high. I am on the latest web drivers however.
Mac Pro 09 (now a 5.1, 2 x 3.06GHz Xeon X5675, 24GB, RX580 8GB, 480SSD, 16TB HD, MacOS 10.13.1

#2408 DirtyHarry50

DirtyHarry50

    Special Snowflake

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1583 posts
  • Steam Name:DirtyHarry
  • Steam ID:dirtyharry2
  • Location:North Carolina, USA

Posted 26 August 2017 - 01:44 PM

View Postmattw, on 26 August 2017 - 03:34 AM, said:

Well I decided to risk it after Feral confirmed there is no block - just an unsupported warning.

I'm glad to hear you are having good luck with this so far. I hope it keeps up where you love this series so much.
“The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.” — Bertrand Russell

#2409 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 837 posts

Posted 26 August 2017 - 04:14 PM

Thanks - the game is a step forward graphically from 2016 and there are many little improvements that really do look to enhance what was already very good gameplay.

I'm still getting used to the cars and may have to drop the AI difficulty somewhat as I'm really struggling so far to do anywhere near the times they are doing in practice at Australia. With 2016 after a couple of rounds and the car upgrades I'd chosen I found I could win fairly easily on "hard" with an upper mid-field car but on "Expert" I was nowhere. No idea how anyone manages to play on the higher difficulty levels with the assists off!

The audio issue has cropped up again, at first I thought it was the sample rate so I changed that in Audio Midi setup from 24bit 48,000 to 16bit 48000 but then it happened again - it always happens going from the menus/pre-recorded audio to the engineer speech or in car engine with a slight pop sound from the speakers. It may actually be because I have my system audio output set to use my Z5500 speakers over optical but also have a USB headset left attached (G330). I was using that just for the microphone. Switching between them for the audio output even with the game paused has got the audio back for me so it could be the game is just confused when there are multiple options connected.

I will try without the headset attached but using the microphone in my web cam for voice commands is tricky as it picks up too much noise from the speakers.

Of course with the amazing effort to do a day one Mac release we are effectively getting version 1.0 PC code so there could well be some bugs to be fixed from Codemaster's end. Feral's port has all the usual Mac pre-game options and features and looks to be the usual high standard we have all come to expect.
Mac Pro 09 (now a 5.1, 2 x 3.06GHz Xeon X5675, 24GB, RX580 8GB, 480SSD, 16TB HD, MacOS 10.13.1

#2410 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 837 posts

Posted 27 August 2017 - 03:16 PM

Well the audio issues (sound going off) persisted even with the USB headset disconnected so guess it isn't down to that. It is actually easier to fix it with the headset connected as then I can pause the game and command tab to go into system preferences and switch between the headset and optical out until I get sound back.

I'd report it as a bug as I don't have sound issues elsewhere but I guess none of the supported Macs models have an optical out (without an adaptor) nowadays anyway? It's a shame as even when I get a new Mac I'd like to take these Z5500 speakers with me and optical is the only way to get 5.1 for movies.

On the plus side I found a discounted price to pre-order a Sapphire 8GB RX580 Pulse which apparently is supported natively in 10.12.6 and High Sierra so should bring me closer to the latest iMac and almost make me "supported" so that should keep me going for gaming until we know about a new Mac Pro (fingers crossed).
Mac Pro 09 (now a 5.1, 2 x 3.06GHz Xeon X5675, 24GB, RX580 8GB, 480SSD, 16TB HD, MacOS 10.13.1

#2411 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 837 posts

Posted 30 August 2017 - 10:27 AM

Looks like audio might be a bug based on patch notes from codemasters:

http://forums.codema...atch-1-05-notes
Mac Pro 09 (now a 5.1, 2 x 3.06GHz Xeon X5675, 24GB, RX580 8GB, 480SSD, 16TB HD, MacOS 10.13.1

#2412 DirtyHarry50

DirtyHarry50

    Special Snowflake

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1583 posts
  • Steam Name:DirtyHarry
  • Steam ID:dirtyharry2
  • Location:North Carolina, USA

Posted 30 August 2017 - 05:36 PM

View Postmattw, on 30 August 2017 - 10:27 AM, said:

Looks like audio might be a bug based on patch notes from codemasters:

http://forums.codema...atch-1-05-notes

Who knew that would be good news but in this context it is. Hopefully they sort it soon so you can enjoy the full experience. :)
“The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.” — Bertrand Russell

#2413 Mr Pink

Mr Pink

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 396 posts

Posted 31 August 2017 - 05:01 AM

'BioShock Remastered' is now out on the Mac App Store now and the original 'BioShock' also remains on the MAS.
How about 'BioShock 2 Remastered', Feral?

Also, 'X-COM 2: War of the Chosen' will be released for Mac some time during September, according to Feral on twitter/facebook.

#2414 jeannot

jeannot

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts

Posted 31 August 2017 - 02:15 PM

View PostMr Pink, on 31 August 2017 - 05:01 AM, said:

'BioShock Remastered' is now out on the Mac App Store now and the original 'BioShock' also remains on the MAS.
How about 'BioShock 2 Remastered', Feral?

Also, 'X-COM 2: War of the Chosen' will be released for Mac some time during September, according to Feral on twitter/facebook.
It's out now.

#2415 Mr Pink

Mr Pink

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 396 posts

Posted 31 August 2017 - 02:33 PM

One day early. Well played Feral... well played.
Congratulations!

Well, now that the Radar is basically void of any Mac projects...
...can we get some word on 'Mankind Divided', 'DiRT Rally' (...and 'BioShock 2 Remastered')?

#2416 MrUNIMOG

MrUNIMOG

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Location:Hamburg, Germany

Posted 31 August 2017 - 03:10 PM

View PostMr Pink, on 31 August 2017 - 02:33 PM, said:

One day early. Well played Feral... well played.
Congratulations!

Well, now that the Radar is basically void of any Mac projects...
...can we get some word on 'Mankind Divided', 'DiRT Rally' (...and 'BioShock 2 Remastered')?

Aaaaand Mankind Divided is on sale again. Anyway, still holding off.
MacBook Pro (13-inch, Late 2016, 4 TBT3) — 3.1 GHz i5-6287U | Iris 550 | 16 GB RAM | 512 GB Flash | Space Gray
iMac (27-inch, Late 2012) — 3.4 GHz i7-3770 | GTX 680MX | 8 GB RAM | 1 TB Fusion Drive
iMac (Flat Panel) — 700 MHz PPC 7450 (G4) | GeForce2 MX | 640 MB RAM | 40 GB HDD
iMac (5 Flavors)— 333 MHz PPC 750 (G3) | ATI Rage Pro | 512 MB RAM | 6 GB HDD | Tangerine
iMac— 233 MHz PPC 750 (G3) | ATI Rage Pro | 128 MB RAM | 4 GB HDD


iPad Pro (10.5-inch) — 256 GB | Space Gray
iPad Air 2 — 64 GB | Space Gray
iPhone 5s — 32 GB | Space Gray
iPad — 16 GB
iPod touch (3rd generation) — 32 GB

iPod touch — 8 GB

Apple Watch (1st generation) — 42 mm | Stainless Steel

Plus some other old Macs and iPods not used for current or legacy games...

#2417 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 837 posts

Posted 31 August 2017 - 03:49 PM

View PostMrUNIMOG, on 31 August 2017 - 03:10 PM, said:



Aaaaand Mankind Divided is on sale again. Anyway, still holding off.

Got an alert from Steam but ditto
Mac Pro 09 (now a 5.1, 2 x 3.06GHz Xeon X5675, 24GB, RX580 8GB, 480SSD, 16TB HD, MacOS 10.13.1

#2418 Mr Pink

Mr Pink

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 396 posts

Posted 31 August 2017 - 04:30 PM

"If you’re coordinating the resistance from a Mac, then please be aware that it is available from Steam and the Feral Store, but not from the Mac App Store (MAS).
If you’ve bought XCOM 2 from the MAS and want to play War of the Chosen, then please email our team at support@feralinteractive.com and await further instructions."

#2419 Laurensvo

Laurensvo

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Steam ID:laurensvo
  • Location:Aberdeen, GB

Posted 05 September 2017 - 11:43 AM

Ok, bit random. What is going on with Deus Ex: Mankind Divided?

#2420 Mr Pink

Mr Pink

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 396 posts

Posted 07 September 2017 - 01:10 AM

View PostEllieFeral, on 22 August 2017 - 04:05 AM, said:

We did indeed announce Mankind Divided for macOS a while ago. I wish we could've got it to you waaaay sooner, but unfortunately it just hasn't worked out that way. We've communicated everything we can about the game, but we want to get you a bit more detail, same as we did when Warhammer was delayed. Stay tuned, we're working on what we can say.