Jump to content


HOI3


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 Fundin

Fundin

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts

Posted 04 August 2009 - 12:47 PM

So its finally out for PC, how long till we get our version your think? Not seen any announcements from VP yet.

#2 Rubel

Rubel

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 914 posts
  • Location:Mountain View, HI

Posted 04 August 2009 - 12:55 PM

VP has been pretty steady about the Paradox ports, so I have high hopes! Looking forward to this game, although a lot of it is going to hinge, for me, on how well they handle all the added complexity. I'm one of those people who loved all of Paradox's games until EU3.
I left my heart in Port Montyhaul.

#3 dojoboy

dojoboy

    DJJ is the greatest!

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3449 posts
  • Steam ID:dojoboy65
  • Location:Tanasi (USA)
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 04 August 2009 - 03:35 PM

I'm looking forward to this one myself.
"There is no end to sorrow."  ---Van Gogh

#4 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3707 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 05 August 2009 - 05:53 AM

Hmmm, I think I might add that to my list of games to play (and buy) after the exams.

Liberator.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 16GB RAM | 10.10.5 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State


#5 Mac-Gamer

Mac-Gamer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 06 August 2009 - 11:50 AM

Suppose it's only a matter of time. HOI3 uses the same graphics engine as Europa Universalis III does and VP already ported that one successfully to Mac. Could be that they're watching the sales of the pc version first though, since HOI3 is sort of a new approach to the series.

My love: iMac G4, OS 9.2.2 / 10.4.11, 800 Mhz, 768 MB RAM, 60 GB HD


#6 dojoboy

dojoboy

    DJJ is the greatest!

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3449 posts
  • Steam ID:dojoboy65
  • Location:Tanasi (USA)
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 06 August 2009 - 12:21 PM

View PostMac-Gamer, on August 6th 2009, 01:50 PM, said:

Suppose it's only a matter of time. HOI3 uses the same graphics engine as Europa Universalis III does and VP already ported that one successfully to Mac. Could be that they're watching the sales of the pc version first though, since HOI3 is sort of a new approach to the series.

VP has already announced the Mac version.  I imagine they need a source drop from Paradox, since the Windows version just shipped.  If they've already received a source drop, it wasn't too long ago.  Either way, it'll take an amount of time to write some code (aka port).
"There is no end to sorrow."  ---Van Gogh

#7 WarpMooN

WarpMooN

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 189 posts
  • Location:Behind the moon

Posted 09 August 2009 - 05:06 AM

Looks like it's a CPU hog on the Windows side. I'm worried. :(

#8 Rubel

Rubel

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 914 posts
  • Location:Mountain View, HI

Posted 10 August 2009 - 04:02 PM

View PostWarpMooN, on August 9th 2009, 04:06 AM, said:

Looks like it's a CPU hog on the Windows side. I'm worried. :(
It has to simulate millions of dairy farmers! I'm sure the new iMacs will have their quad i7s to keep up.
I left my heart in Port Montyhaul.

#9 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8100 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 11 August 2009 - 02:38 AM

View PostWarpMooN, on August 9th 2009, 01:06 PM, said:

Looks like it's a CPU hog on the Windows side. I'm worried. :(
I guess Paradox's new engine isn't very well optimised. EU3 is also notorious for CPU hogging.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#10 A.Cole

A.Cole

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Location:Arkansas - soon moving away

Posted 11 August 2009 - 10:39 AM

I got to say, I respect you all for playing Paradox games.  I tried HoI2, EU3, Crusader Kings and Victoria (my roommate was obsessed with these)... couldn't get into any of them.  Just a little too high of a learners curve for me.  Guess I will go back to my Civ 4.   :nods:

However, props to you all!
15" Macbook Pro, 2.80ghz, 4GB DDR3, 9600M 512mb
Time, Truth, Hearts

#11 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3707 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 25 August 2009 - 07:35 PM

I cannot wait to play this game now, all of this talk is making me anxious to play it. I think I would love a game that is ridiculously in depth.

Liberator.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 16GB RAM | 10.10.5 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State


#12 dojoboy

dojoboy

    DJJ is the greatest!

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3449 posts
  • Steam ID:dojoboy65
  • Location:Tanasi (USA)
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 25 August 2009 - 07:39 PM

View PostThe Liberator, on August 25th 2009, 09:35 PM, said:

I cannot wait to play this game now, all of this talk is making me anxious to play it. I think I would love a game that is ridiculously in depth.

Liberator.

You cannot even begin to imagine. ;)  I've got a nice game developing in HOI2: Armageddon as the Soviets.  Gearing up for the 'Winter War' with Finland.
"There is no end to sorrow."  ---Van Gogh

#13 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3707 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 27 August 2009 - 06:46 AM

Ha, you are right. I cannot really begin to imagine, but I think I have an idea of what your game would be entailing.

:sabber:

Liberator.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 16GB RAM | 10.10.5 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State


#14 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3707 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 17 October 2009 - 05:25 PM

View Postdojoboy, on August 26th 2009, 12:39 PM, said:

You cannot even begin to imagine. ;)  I've got a nice game developing in HOI2: Armageddon as the Soviets.  Gearing up for the 'Winter War' with Finland.
You should instead go as Finland! That would be fun.

I wonder when the Mac version will be coming out. I hope it is not too far away.

Liberator.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 16GB RAM | 10.10.5 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State


#15 Sargiel

Sargiel

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 909 posts
  • Location:West Sussex, England

Posted 18 October 2009 - 01:47 AM

It does sound intriguing .. and I fancy playing as Romania and trying to hold onto liberated Basarabia etc :) It's good you can command literally everywhere that interests you and see if you can do a better job.

#16 Felix Saturnus

Felix Saturnus

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 20 October 2009 - 09:11 PM

You should instead go as Finland! That would be fun.



I did play HOI as Finland once. Actually kind of interesting, in a minor-power kind of way. Just research, and hope the Soviets don't invade.

#17 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3707 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 20 October 2009 - 11:55 PM

View PostFelix Saturnus, on October 21st 2009, 02:11 PM, said:

You should instead go as Finland! That would be fun.
I did play HOI as Finland once. Actually kind of interesting, in a minor-power kind of way. Just research, and hope the Soviets don't invade.
Even if they do, think about the Winter War, they did not win.

Liberator.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 16GB RAM | 10.10.5 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State


#18 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8100 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 21 October 2009 - 01:14 AM

Conquer Europe as Luxembourg.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#19 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3707 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 22 October 2009 - 12:10 AM

Ha ha ha. :rotfl:

Is that even possible?

Liberator.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 16GB RAM | 10.10.5 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State


#20 Ranger_Joe

Ranger_Joe

    Legendary

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 682 posts
  • Steam Name:rangerjoe79
  • Location:Ontario
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 17 November 2009 - 05:13 PM

Any bets as to when this is coming out? It would be nice if VP would give us a release date.