Jump to content


Civ4 Gold Edition Shipped by Aspyr


  • Please log in to reply
61 replies to this topic

#1 dojoboy

dojoboy

    DJJ is the greatest!

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3449 posts
  • Steam ID:dojoboy65
  • Location:Tanasi (USA)
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 25 March 2009 - 03:42 AM

Wonder if it's a prelude to BtS?

I know, I know.  Who am I kidding.  :glare:

link
"There is no end to sorrow."  ---Van Gogh

#2 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8102 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 25 March 2009 - 06:17 AM

How "Golden" can that edition be without BtS?



To be fair: The PC Civ4 Gold Edition also only contains of the main game and Warlords. The complete edition is aptly called Civ 4 Complete.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#3 Hansi

Hansi

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1785 posts
  • Steam ID:hansroberth
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 25 March 2009 - 06:27 AM

View PostJanichsan, on March 25th 2009, 12:17 PM, said:

How "Golden" can that edition be without BtS?

A true Mac Golden ripoff?

#4 digt

digt

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts

Posted 27 March 2009 - 10:05 PM

Gold is the new bronze.  :mellow:

BtS? Maybe in Platinum or Diamond editions.

#5 Ranger_Joe

Ranger_Joe

    Legendary

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 682 posts
  • Steam Name:rangerjoe79
  • Location:Ontario
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 27 March 2009 - 10:14 PM

The PC side has the original game plus Warlords in it's gold edition.  I'm actually surprised that Firaxis hasn't yet created a retail bundle which includes all 3 Civ 4 titles into a platinum edition.

#6 Sargiel

Sargiel

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 909 posts
  • Location:West Sussex, England

Posted 28 March 2009 - 03:01 AM

It's always positive to see premium editions come to the Mac rather than be left having to buy everything singly even years down the line. So well done to Aspyr!

However as someone who bought the original game plus Warlords expansion as soon as it was available I'm more interested in a port of BtS ... pretty please ? :)

#7 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8102 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 28 March 2009 - 08:32 AM

View PostRanger_Joe, on March 28th 2009, 05:14 AM, said:

I'm actually surprised that Firaxis hasn't yet created a retail bundle which includes all 3 Civ 4 titles into a platinum edition.
There is such a bundle called the "Complete" edition. I don't know why it's not on Fireaxis' site, but you can find it for instance at Amazon.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#8 Rev-O

Rev-O

    BANNED

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1215 posts
  • Location:Colorado

Posted 28 March 2009 - 09:22 AM

If Civ4: Gold Edition = Civ4 + Civ4: BtS, then by my reckoning Civ4: Gold Edition = Civ4: Incomplete

#9 AlanH

AlanH

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts

Posted 29 March 2009 - 05:21 AM

View PostJanichsan, on March 28th 2009, 03:32 PM, said:

There is such a bundle called the "Complete" edition. I don't know why it's not on Fireaxis' site, but you can find it for instance at Amazon.
Yes, I have it here, bought 18 months ago from Play.com in the UK. It cost UKP 17.99 then, and is now UKP 9.99 with free delivery (under US$15). Maybe there's some real "Gold" in Aspyr's package to make up for the price difference?

#10 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3821 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 29 March 2009 - 06:29 AM

I wonder if its an updated version..
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#11 AlanH

AlanH

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts

Posted 29 March 2009 - 09:09 AM

View PostThain Esh Kelch, on March 29th 2009, 01:29 PM, said:

I wonder if its an updated version..
There's no indication that it is.

I am not aware of any new releases of Vanilla or Warlords from Firaxis that would prompt an update to the actual game software, and if it had new features for Mac users, eg mod capabiliities, then surely Aspyr would be promoting them to the skies.

Aspyr have recently released a free update of both executables to handle problems with Quicktime compatibility introduced with QT version 7.6, so that may be included, but I can't see that being worth US$50, or whatever they are charging, since you can download them for free.

#12 Sargiel

Sargiel

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 909 posts
  • Location:West Sussex, England

Posted 30 March 2009 - 11:44 AM

Basically it's great news for people that haven't bought the title yet as they can get the expansion at the same time :)

Also the gold edition on PC only includes Warlords as well - so there's no real difference between the PC Gold Edition and the Mac Gold Edition.

#13 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3821 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 04 April 2009 - 02:30 AM

But... But.. If Gold sales are good.. We get BtS, right?? Right???  :unsure:
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#14 dojoboy

dojoboy

    DJJ is the greatest!

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3449 posts
  • Steam ID:dojoboy65
  • Location:Tanasi (USA)
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 04 April 2009 - 05:52 AM

View PostThain Esh Kelch, on April 4th 2009, 04:30 AM, said:

But... But.. If Gold sales are good.. We get BtS, right?? Right???  :unsure:

Yea, but don't forget about the "sloppy" code comment.
"There is no end to sorrow."  ---Van Gogh

#15 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 04 April 2009 - 06:01 AM

That is to say that the PC's code was difficult to port to Mac because of the manner in which it was written. Apparently it wasnt much fun to do...
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#16 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8102 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 07 April 2009 - 02:22 PM

View PostThain Esh Kelch, on April 4th 2009, 10:30 AM, said:

But... But.. If Gold sales are good.. We get BtS, right?? Right???  :unsure:
Until know, I was sure we wouldn't. Then I saw this:
Posted Image

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#17 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3304 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 07 April 2009 - 02:33 PM

:blink:  you had to have made that image up
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#18 dojoboy

dojoboy

    DJJ is the greatest!

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3449 posts
  • Steam ID:dojoboy65
  • Location:Tanasi (USA)
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 07 April 2009 - 02:34 PM

View PostJanichsan, on April 7th 2009, 04:22 PM, said:

Until know, I was sure we wouldn't. Then I saw this:
Posted Image

How long has that been there, though?  Isn't that just a rating placement?
"There is no end to sorrow."  ---Van Gogh

#19 Rev-O

Rev-O

    BANNED

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1215 posts
  • Location:Colorado

Posted 07 April 2009 - 04:56 PM

View PostJanichsan, on April 7th 2009, 02:22 PM, said:

Until know, I was sure we wouldn't. Then I saw this:
Posted Image

Man... that's just downright mean and heartless, getting our hopes up like that.
Cruel.
Cruel cruel cruel.

#20 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8102 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 08 April 2009 - 10:41 AM

View PostSneaky Snake, on April 7th 2009, 10:33 PM, said:

:blink:  you had to have made that image up
Look for yourself. Search for "Macintosh" as platform. ;)

View Postdojoboy, on April 7th 2009, 10:34 PM, said:

How long has that been there, though?  Isn't that just a rating placement?
Yes, it's just the rating. That's admittedly no guarantee for it to be coming – there are quite a few Mac versions of EA titles rated that never saw the light of day, but (as far as I know) not a single Aspyr title – but it could be a hint. I'm not (yet) 100% convinced myself that BtS actually is being ported.

But to answer your first question, too: this was when I took the screenshot yesterday actually the most recent rated Mac game.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"