Jump to content


Woah! Mac Games Arcade – The Gamerhood done right?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8103 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 14 November 2008 - 03:19 AM

I don't know if anyone has noticed this yet, but there's a new little link at the very top of this page: "Mac Games Arcade".

Basically, this seems to be more or less what originally was planned for Aspyr's Gamerhood (which then turned out to be the crappy GameAgent): a stand-alone iTunes style application to buy games not completely unlike Steam.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#2 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17440 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 14 November 2008 - 07:41 AM

All your dollar are belong to us!
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#3 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4265 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 14 November 2008 - 08:12 AM

Looks like MGA will support far more games though, than just a smidge of hand-picked games. Its a nice thing for casual gamers. Since Apple is so anti-gaming in their own endeavors, I guess someone had to step up and make a app version of a mac game store :D

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#4 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3707 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 14 November 2008 - 10:38 PM

I still don't have a new version of it, therefore Mac Games Arcade is still broken for me.

Liberator.

P.S. I am sure you guys are onto it, but I thought that maybe I should say in on the forums anyway. :)

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 16GB RAM | 10.10.5 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State


#5 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17440 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 15 November 2008 - 09:46 AM

View PostThe Liberator, on November 14th 2008, 08:38 PM, said:

I still don't have a new version of it, therefore Mac Games Arcade is still broken for me.

Liberator.

P.S. I am sure you guys are onto it, but I thought that maybe I should say in on the forums anyway. :)
Not sure what "it" is.  Beta 118 was just released, if that helps.  It runs great for me, there are lots of little bugs though.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#6 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4265 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 15 November 2008 - 10:55 AM

"IT" was in the beta email sent to accepted beta testers. Please look to that email for further details. If you didn't receive the latest email, then PM tuncer over on the MGA forums and he will set you up.

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#7 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3304 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 15 November 2008 - 12:00 PM

Great little app.

they should throw AAA game demos in there however, just to wet everyone's appetite for them



-Snake
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#8 Mr. Selvetarm

Mr. Selvetarm

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 713 posts
  • Location:Faerűn or Tel'aran'rhiod

Posted 15 November 2008 - 02:02 PM

Are you saying that that Bob the Builder Can Do Zoo isn't an AAA title?

Gosh it's been a while... Sold the Green Monster and the iPad for a truly amazing new beast.

THE RAINBOW GREMLIN: i5-760 @ 3.2ghz, ASUS H57 Mobo, EVGA 470 GTX (1280mb) , 8gb OCZ Reaper HPC, 60gb OCZ Vertex 2 SSD, 2tb Samsung F3, 800 Watt Corsair PSU



#9 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4265 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 15 November 2008 - 02:37 PM

View PostMr. Selvetarm, on November 15th 2008, 03:02 PM, said:

Are you saying that that Bob the Builder Can Do Zoo isn't an AAA title?
Sacrilege.

Some of those DDLs are actually really freakin fun. I love mixing some of those in with the heavy-gpu-hog type games. I can only stand so much photorealism with lacking gameplay before I want to play something with good gameplay and simple graphics. :D

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#10 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3707 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 15 November 2008 - 04:08 PM

View Postthe Battle Cat, on November 16th 2008, 02:46 AM, said:

Not sure what "it" is.  Beta 118 was just released, if that helps.  It runs great for me, there are lots of little bugs though.
Ah, thanks. I'll try that.

Liberator.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 16GB RAM | 10.10.5 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State