Jump to content


StarCraft Sound Files


  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 Jeyl

Jeyl

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Steam Name:Jeyl
  • Steam ID:jeyl1984
  • Location:Asheville, NC. USA

Posted 15 October 2008 - 02:47 PM

This is a pretty low beat question, but does anyone know a way to extract the sound effects from the original StarCraft? I just found a way to do it with WoW through "MPQ Exractor" and I'm all of a sudden addicted to getting these files. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
- J
Processor: 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Memory: 14 GB 800 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Vid Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 285
Mac OS X Version 10.7.3

#2 dojoboy

dojoboy

    DJJ is the greatest!

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3449 posts
  • Steam ID:dojoboy65
  • Location:Tanasi (USA)
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 15 October 2008 - 03:07 PM

Just do a search.  There online in several places.  I use them for my Mail and iChat.
"There is no end to sorrow."  ---Van Gogh

#3 Jeyl

Jeyl

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Steam Name:Jeyl
  • Steam ID:jeyl1984
  • Location:Asheville, NC. USA

Posted 15 October 2008 - 03:14 PM

View Postdojoboy, on October 15th 2008, 03:07 PM, said:

Just do a search.  There online in several places.  I use them for my Mail and iChat.

Can't seem to find any. I can find alternative files that that is used to replace some of the sound effects, but no way to get the files themselves.
Processor: 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Memory: 14 GB 800 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Vid Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 285
Mac OS X Version 10.7.3

#4 QuantaCat

QuantaCat

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1995 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted 16 October 2008 - 12:41 AM

You need starcraft, and use the MPQ extractor on it.
QC.


avatar courtesy of James Grimlee.

#5 Jeyl

Jeyl

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Steam Name:Jeyl
  • Steam ID:jeyl1984
  • Location:Asheville, NC. USA

Posted 16 October 2008 - 08:38 AM

View PostQuantaCat, on October 16th 2008, 12:41 AM, said:

You need starcraft, and use the MPQ extractor on it.
I did. I installed it and found that all the data files are in "Unix Executable File" format. The ones that have the gray screen icon with the word "exec" in green on the top left.

However, when the "SC-1.15.2-enUS" was downloaded and I installed the game, I did find two .mpq files called "Installer Tome" and "Installer Tome 2". I tried extracting those but the only "sound" folder I found was a "COMPAQ.HTM" file in a sound folder. Am I missing something?
Processor: 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Memory: 14 GB 800 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Vid Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 285
Mac OS X Version 10.7.3

#6 bookman

bookman

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1580 posts

Posted 19 October 2008 - 09:55 AM

Thanks for bringing this idea up. I have a windows partition, so used the easy as dirt Starcraft Sound Utility from FileFront.com. Now, instead of purr or sosumi, I'll be alerted to weekly meetings with the sound of a tank going into siege mode, or a hydralisk saying "marley...."  :)
Work: MacBook - 2.4 Ghz Core 2 Duo - 4GB RAM - X3100 graphics.
Home: Mini - 2.0 Ghz Core2Duo - 2 GB RAM - GeForce 9400 graphics.

#7 Jeyl

Jeyl

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Steam Name:Jeyl
  • Steam ID:jeyl1984
  • Location:Asheville, NC. USA

Posted 19 October 2008 - 11:27 AM

View PostQuantaCat, on October 16th 2008, 12:41 AM, said:

You need starcraft, and use the MPQ extractor on it.
What MPQ files? The only MPQ files I can locate are the Installer Tomes and they don't have any of the in-game sound files. What do you do different?

View Postbookman, on October 19th 2008, 09:55 AM, said:

Thanks for bringing this idea up. I have a windows partition, so used the easy as dirt Starcraft Sound Utility from FileFront.com. Now, instead of purr or sosumi, I'll be alerted to weekly meetings with the sound of a tank going into siege mode, or a hydralisk saying "marley...."  :)
Dangit. So I need a Windows machine to do this now? This is going to take a while.
:(

Anyone else have any ideas?
Processor: 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Memory: 14 GB 800 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Vid Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 285
Mac OS X Version 10.7.3

#8 QuantaCat

QuantaCat

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1995 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted 19 October 2008 - 03:06 PM

Strange, I didn't know there was such a difference between the OS X version and the Windows version. I, obviously, did this under Windows back when I was still PlaCebo. You could try a free trial Crossover Games on that utility. Should work if you point it to the files? (I assume bookman used the utility on his installed OS X version)
QC.


avatar courtesy of James Grimlee.

#9 Jeyl

Jeyl

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Steam Name:Jeyl
  • Steam ID:jeyl1984
  • Location:Asheville, NC. USA

Posted 19 October 2008 - 05:48 PM

Ok. I'm going to lay down what I've got.

I downloaded Starcraft from Blizzard's shop. When opened, it contained a folder called "SC-1.15.2-enUS" folder that had the installer on it along with three other items.

Installer Tome.mpq: MoPaQ Archive
Installer Tome 2.mpq: MoPaQ Archive
Installer.app: Application
Installer.ece: Plain Text

Once installed, it created the StarCraft game folder which contained (Along with their file types):

Battle.net (Carbon): Unix Executable File
Brood War Archive: Unix Executable File
Brood War Data: Unix Executable File
EditLocal: StarEdit Localized data
License: Unix Executable File
Local: StarEdit Localized data
Maps: Folder
Read Me (Carbon): Unix Executable File
SEditUNE: StarEdit localized data
Standard (Carbon): Unix Executable File
Starcraft: Application
StarCraft Archive: Unix Executable File
StarCraft Data: Unix Executable File
StarCraft Data (Carbon): Unix Executable File
StarCraft Install Log.html: HTML document
Starcraft Mac Data: Unix Executable File
Starcraft Mac Patch: Unix Executable File
StarCraft Manual.pdf: Adobe PDF document
Starcraft Patch: Unix Executable File
StarEdit: Application (Classic)
StarEdit Help: Unix Executable File
Storm: Shared Library
Storm (Carbon): Shared Library

So it looks like the data I'm looking for is in EXE (Unix Executable File) files and not MPQ files. Any suggestions or thoughts?
Processor: 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Memory: 14 GB 800 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Vid Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 285
Mac OS X Version 10.7.3

#10 bobbob

bobbob

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3367 posts

Posted 19 October 2008 - 09:37 PM

View PostJeyl, on October 19th 2008, 04:48 PM, said:

Unix Executable File
I really doubt most of these are actual executables; you're looking at the wrong info. The data and archive ones are probably the ones to look at.

#11 Jeyl

Jeyl

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Steam Name:Jeyl
  • Steam ID:jeyl1984
  • Location:Asheville, NC. USA

Posted 20 October 2008 - 05:00 AM

View Postbobbob, on October 19th 2008, 09:37 PM, said:

I really doubt most of these are actual executables; you're looking at the wrong info. The data and archive ones are probably the ones to look at.
Here is a screenshot.
Posted ImagePosted Image
Processor: 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Memory: 14 GB 800 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Vid Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 285
Mac OS X Version 10.7.3

#12 bobbob

bobbob

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3367 posts

Posted 20 October 2008 - 07:44 PM

View PostJeyl, on October 20th 2008, 04:00 AM, said:

Here is a screenshot
Try the mpq extractor on them anyway.

#13 Jeyl

Jeyl

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Steam Name:Jeyl
  • Steam ID:jeyl1984
  • Location:Asheville, NC. USA

Posted 20 October 2008 - 09:24 PM

View Postbobbob, on October 20th 2008, 07:44 PM, said:

Try the mpq extractor on them anyway.
I am currently using "MPQ Extractor" made by MacStorm.

http://www.devklog.n...q-extractor-10/

I tried using the extractor in the game folder, but none of the files show up as selectable items to extract. Even when I put a .mpq behind the names, the files it extracts contains no items at all.

Thoughts?
Processor: 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Memory: 14 GB 800 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Vid Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 285
Mac OS X Version 10.7.3

#14 Nail

Nail

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 136 posts
  • Location:Winnipeg, Canada

Posted 21 October 2008 - 12:09 PM

data you want is in storm.dll afaik, you can use MPQ Viewer to check star dat.mpq and extract audio as needed

#15 Jeyl

Jeyl

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Steam Name:Jeyl
  • Steam ID:jeyl1984
  • Location:Asheville, NC. USA

Posted 21 October 2008 - 01:10 PM

View PostNail, on October 21st 2008, 12:09 PM, said:

data you want is in storm.dll afaik, you can use MPQ Viewer to check star dat.mpq and extract audio as needed
Thanks, but there is no Storm.dll file. The only storms I got are "Storm" and "Storm (Carbon)" and they're nothing but 1mb sized "Shared Library" type files.

Where is the storm.dll that you're reffering to?
Processor: 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Memory: 14 GB 800 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Vid Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 285
Mac OS X Version 10.7.3

#16 bobbob

bobbob

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3367 posts

Posted 21 October 2008 - 03:53 PM

View PostJeyl, on October 21st 2008, 12:10 PM, said:

Where is the storm.dll that you're reffering to?
The Windows version puts the extensions on.

#17 Jeyl

Jeyl

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Steam Name:Jeyl
  • Steam ID:jeyl1984
  • Location:Asheville, NC. USA

Posted 21 October 2008 - 05:10 PM

View Postbobbob, on October 21st 2008, 03:53 PM, said:

The Windows version puts the extensions on.
Shoot! SHOOOOOOOOT! Not Windows again!

Rawr!

/destroysdesk

So is it now impossible for Mac users to extract the files from the game that don't have Windows?
Processor: 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Memory: 14 GB 800 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Vid Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 285
Mac OS X Version 10.7.3

#18 Eric5h5

Eric5h5

    Minion Tormentor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7160 posts

Posted 21 October 2008 - 10:51 PM

The file types you see are meaningless if the operating system doesn't know what the files actually are.  It has to put something there, so it just guesses.  Hence, all the "Unix executables" and "Shared library" files aren't any such things.  For example, my Mac says Storm is a "Bryce 5 Library" file.

--Eric

#19 Jeyl

Jeyl

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Steam Name:Jeyl
  • Steam ID:jeyl1984
  • Location:Asheville, NC. USA

Posted 22 October 2008 - 04:43 AM

View PostEric5h5, on October 21st 2008, 10:51 PM, said:

The file types you see are meaningless if the operating system doesn't know what the files actually are.  It has to put something there, so it just guesses.  Hence, all the "Unix executables" and "Shared library" files aren't any such things.  For example, my Mac says Storm is a "Bryce 5 Library" file.

--Eric
So I should put a ".dll" behind it and than check it out? Let me try that out.

Darn. Nothing happened. What did you do to the file to make it work?
Processor: 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Memory: 14 GB 800 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Vid Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 285
Mac OS X Version 10.7.3

#20 Eric5h5

Eric5h5

    Minion Tormentor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7160 posts

Posted 22 October 2008 - 08:51 AM

View PostJeyl, on October 22nd 2008, 06:43 AM, said:

What did you do to the file to make it work?

Me?  I didn't do anything.  I was just making an observation.  :)

--Eric