Jump to content


Mass Effect - Almost here.


  • Please log in to reply
179 replies to this topic

#1 QuantaCat

QuantaCat

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1995 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted 25 May 2008 - 08:50 AM

Who's getting it? Who can run it? (coming on the 28th of may)
QC.


avatar courtesy of James Grimlee.

#2 PeopleLikeFrank

PeopleLikeFrank

    Uberspewer

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2690 posts
  • Location:The Republic of Soviet Canukistan
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 25 May 2008 - 09:24 AM

This was on my 'reasons to get an Xbox' list before I heard it was coming to PC, so yeah, I'll be getting it. My PC should handle it fine.
The dork formerly known as nobody
---
MBP: C2D @ 2.66 Ghz | GeForce 9600M GT 256Mb | 8GB RAM | 120GB SSD + 500GB HD | 10.6.2 / W7 x64
PC: Q9550 | 6950 2GB | 8GB RAM | 80GB SSD + 750GB HD | W7 x64

#3 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 25 May 2008 - 10:27 AM

i guess the only good things about the trend of making a game from X360 and then porting it to PC a few months later is that the PC version is usually better. It inevitably has more content, better graphics potential (aka, running at more than 1080p), a few more of the bugs ironed out etc. etc.

the only downside is that youve got to wait for a few months.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#4 QuantaCat

QuantaCat

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1995 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted 25 May 2008 - 11:39 AM

Also, another added bonus, there was some content released afterwards, which you had to replay old saves in order to experience it. This won't be a problem anymore, since you can replay it anyway on the PC..
QC.


avatar courtesy of James Grimlee.

#5 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 25 May 2008 - 12:06 PM

huh? that doesnt make sense... couldnt you just, you know, play the game again with the new content?
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#6 QuantaCat

QuantaCat

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1995 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted 26 May 2008 - 12:21 AM

Yes, but for those who finished it already, the content came like, a month too late. Meaning that new players won't have this problem. Poor sentencing, I know.
QC.


avatar courtesy of James Grimlee.

#7 charmin

charmin

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 26 May 2008 - 12:54 AM

By the time I'd completed the 360 version, I wasn't too interested in the new content. If you're a completionist style player, you'll find that a lot of your time in the later parts of the game will be spent doing nearly identical missions, and I was expecting the new content to be more of those missions. If you're not, then you won't feel the same repetition, but then would you even want the new content?

I could be wrong, the new content could be amazing. But I doubt it. And I'm certainly not paying for it on the 360.
15"MBP@2.4/250/2/256 (This space saving format should be an international standard)
I'm actually TOO good at both TMFPPG and Fable:TLC.
I sleep in a BBEdit T-shirt, but I'm a TextMate user.

#8 AussieMacGamer

AussieMacGamer

    Owner, 2nd Largest Topic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3087 posts

Posted 26 May 2008 - 12:58 AM

System Requirements if you needed them:

Quote

Minimum System Requirements:
Operating System:
Windows XP or Vista
Processor:
2.4+GHZ Intel or 2.0+GHZ AMD
Memory:
1 Gigabyte Ram (XP)
2 Gigabyte Ram (Vista)
Video Card:
NVIDIA GeForce 6 series(6800GT or better)
ATI 1300XT or better (X1550, X1600 Pro and HD2400 are below minimum system requirements)
Hard Drive Space:
12 Gigabytes
Sound Card:
DirectX 9.0c compatible sound card and drivers

Recommended System Requirements:
Operating System:
Windows XP or Vista
Processor:
2.6+GHZ Intel or 2.4+GHZ AMD
Memory:
2 Gigabyte Ram
Video Card:
NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GTX or higher.
ATI X1800 XL series or higher
Hard Drive Space:
12 Gigabytes
Sound Card:
DirectX 9.0c compatible sound card and drivers 5.1 sound card recommended

Looks like I'm under minimum req for vid hardware... although that passage was rather confusing "ATI 1300XT or better (X1550, X1600 Pro and HD2400 are below minimum system requirements)" maybe it's those specific cards?

IMG Resident Crackpot
"What you need is a dog or a girlfriend, or both, or one in the same!" -Gary Simmons Aka. The Battle Cat
15" Macbook Pro C2D 2.16Ghz ATI X1600 3Gb Ram w/Samsung 840 SSD R.I.P

2015 Mbp 13", 256gb SSD

Windows popsnizzlebox with a 5400rpm HD and a GTX 1060

Now Playing: Player Unknown's Battlegrounds/CS:GO/Rising Storm 2/The Witcher 3 Blood and Wine/Shenmue 1


#9 QuantaCat

QuantaCat

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1995 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted 26 May 2008 - 01:35 AM

There ARE only those specific cards above the x1300, aside from the high end last last gen.
I bet it'll run on my MBP with x1600. Assassins creed did too.


Although, assassins creed said it would support it. Still, I'm counting on cool drivers to actually make my x1600 run better than the regular kinds.
QC.


avatar courtesy of James Grimlee.

#10 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8102 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 26 May 2008 - 01:53 AM

The important part is this: "X1550, X1600 Pro and HD2400 are below minimum system requirements", meaning they are not supported.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#11 QuantaCat

QuantaCat

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1995 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted 26 May 2008 - 10:41 AM

Yes yes, I got it from the start. I'm still hoping for it. :D
QC.


avatar courtesy of James Grimlee.

#12 Atticus

Atticus

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 947 posts
  • Location:Sternum's Ribcage

Posted 26 May 2008 - 05:31 PM

Oo! Oo! Me! Me!

Will run it on my self-built monster gaming PC.

Atticus
"I'm standing in the middle of life with my pants behind me."

#13 AussieMacGamer

AussieMacGamer

    Owner, 2nd Largest Topic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3087 posts

Posted 27 May 2008 - 05:45 AM

View PostAtticus, on May 27th 2008, 09:31 AM, said:

Oo! Oo! Me! Me!

Will run it on my self-built monster gaming PC.

Atticus

No :angry: It will run Double on my macbook pro!

IMG Resident Crackpot
"What you need is a dog or a girlfriend, or both, or one in the same!" -Gary Simmons Aka. The Battle Cat
15" Macbook Pro C2D 2.16Ghz ATI X1600 3Gb Ram w/Samsung 840 SSD R.I.P

2015 Mbp 13", 256gb SSD

Windows popsnizzlebox with a 5400rpm HD and a GTX 1060

Now Playing: Player Unknown's Battlegrounds/CS:GO/Rising Storm 2/The Witcher 3 Blood and Wine/Shenmue 1


#14 Atticus

Atticus

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 947 posts
  • Location:Sternum's Ribcage

Posted 27 May 2008 - 07:54 AM

View PostAussieMacGamer, on May 27th 2008, 07:45 AM, said:

No :angry: It will run Double on my macbook pro!

Spurious lies and malfeasance!

Atticus
"I'm standing in the middle of life with my pants behind me."

#15 AussieMacGamer

AussieMacGamer

    Owner, 2nd Largest Topic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3087 posts

Posted 27 May 2008 - 10:21 AM

View PostAtticus, on May 27th 2008, 11:54 PM, said:

Spurious lies and malfeasance!

Atticus

Compensation for inner failure and Pretentious use of big words! We all know atticus that if you actually had this "self-built monster gaming PC." then it would be in you signature... but it isnt, hence you are lying about this and lying that you could beat me in this particular situation! I would beat you in a fight sir! Fistycuffs now!! :angry:

Ouch WTF! :cool:
OUch! :blink:
OWWWWWWWWWW! :mellow:
PLEASE NO MORE SIR :unsure:

IMG Resident Crackpot
"What you need is a dog or a girlfriend, or both, or one in the same!" -Gary Simmons Aka. The Battle Cat
15" Macbook Pro C2D 2.16Ghz ATI X1600 3Gb Ram w/Samsung 840 SSD R.I.P

2015 Mbp 13", 256gb SSD

Windows popsnizzlebox with a 5400rpm HD and a GTX 1060

Now Playing: Player Unknown's Battlegrounds/CS:GO/Rising Storm 2/The Witcher 3 Blood and Wine/Shenmue 1


#16 Atticus

Atticus

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 947 posts
  • Location:Sternum's Ribcage

Posted 27 May 2008 - 12:09 PM

View PostAussieMacGamer, on May 27th 2008, 12:21 PM, said:

Compensation for inner failure and Pretentious use of big words! We all know atticus that if you actually had this "self-built monster gaming PC." then it would be in you signature... but it isnt, hence you are lying about this and lying that you could beat me in this particular situation! I would beat you in a fight sir! Fistycuffs now!! :angry:

Ouch WTF! :cool:
OUch! :blink:
OWWWWWWWWWW! :mellow:
PLEASE NO MORE SIR :unsure:

OH NO YOU DID INT!

OK, here are specs of my "monster" gaming rig which I built back in January (and when I write "monster," I mean compared to the Flower Power iMac):

--Antec 900 ATX (in "black steel")
--Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX mobo (non-SLI)
--XFX 8800GTS 512MB (PVT88GYDD4) overclocked "Alpha Dog" edition (because that's how I roll, G)
--StealthXStream 600W PSU
--Intel E8400 (not overclocked--I'm not smart enough to figure that out)
--Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro CPU fan (but I have the fan!)
--4GB Crucial Ballistix RAM (and by "4GB" I mean the 3.5GB that XP actually recognizes)
--LiteOn 20x DVD burner (x2)
--Win XP Pro (w/SP 3)
--320GB Seagate Burracuda (x2) (non-RAID)

The first PC I've attempted to build, and I still can't believe it booted up on the first try, and runs rock-solid.

Atticus
"I'm standing in the middle of life with my pants behind me."

#17 QuantaCat

QuantaCat

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1995 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted 27 May 2008 - 03:27 PM

Why shouldn't it? I mean you obviously crossreferenced every part to see if they work with each other?
QC.


avatar courtesy of James Grimlee.

#18 Atticus

Atticus

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 947 posts
  • Location:Sternum's Ribcage

Posted 27 May 2008 - 07:08 PM

View PostQuantaCat, on May 27th 2008, 05:27 PM, said:

Why shouldn't it? I mean you obviously crossreferenced every part to see if they work with each other?

Because *I* put it together (read: n00b). :-)

I was literally learning as I went along ("Wait...what? The red wire has to go on which side?")

Atticus
"I'm standing in the middle of life with my pants behind me."

#19 XxtraLarGe

XxtraLarGe

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2324 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 28 May 2008 - 09:55 AM

I wonder how well it will run on the new iMac?

#20 Hoffer802

Hoffer802

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts

Posted 28 May 2008 - 11:30 PM

So.....had to sell the 360 to help pay for the new comp....This game was the only reason I kept my 360 around....sooooo cant wait to pick it up for pc.

PS~ Nobody, how is the quad core?  Was considering getting a quad in my pc, but decided to setting with dual, though my mobo supports quad cores for a future upgrade.
The Mac:  15.4" Macbook Pro, 2.33ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, ATI x1600 256mb, 3 gigs ram.
The PC :  3.0ghz Intel Core2Duo E8400, Asus P5N-D nForce SLI Motherboard, BFG GeForce8800 GT OC 512MB, 4gigs ram

-Shiny, lets be bad guys ~Jane
-If anything happens to her, anything at all, I swear to you, I will get very choked up, honestly there could be tears ~ Mal