Jump to content


Feral ports Tomb Raider Anniversary


  • Please log in to reply
95 replies to this topic

#21 edddeduck

edddeduck

    Feral Interactive

  • Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1229 posts
  • Location:London, England, UK

Posted 27 November 2007 - 04:30 AM

View Postrampancy, on November 26th 2007, 01:01 PM, said:

What about the X3100 on the latest MacBooks? Doesn't that support hardware T&L?

NoteBook Check - Graphics Cards Webpage

The plain fact is the X3100 card is designed to allow you to run all of your nice effects built into the OS like Quartz Extreme and Aeroglass and it is not targeted at gaming. As such getting high end new games on this card is not always easy or even possible as the card is often less powerful than the rest of the graphics card you are targeting.

That being said we might be able to have some more games running on the X3100 which did not run on the GMA 950 variant.

Edwin

#22 Matt Diamond

Matt Diamond

    Master Blaster

  • IMG Writers
  • 2453 posts
  • Location:Holland, PA; US
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 27 November 2007 - 05:57 AM

Not to rain on anyone's parade, but you can buy a used GameCube PLUS a copy of TR:Legend on eBay for $50 or less. (This route would also let you cheaply play all the recent Prince of Persia games.) So I'm not sure it's worth Feral's while to port it. Good game though.

Congrats to Feral for their announcement. I played TR 2 but not the original, so this is a pretty good announcement for me if the PPC version is released.
Matt Diamond - www.mindthecube.com
Measure twice, cut once, curse three or four times.

#23 Eric5h5

Eric5h5

    Minion Tormentor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7160 posts

Posted 27 November 2007 - 11:25 AM

View PostMatt Diamond, on November 27th 2007, 06:57 AM, said:

Not to rain on anyone's parade, but you can buy a used GameCube PLUS a copy of TR:Legend on eBay for $50 or less.

Right...you can make arguments like that about virtually any game.  But there are still people don't want to buy a freakin' console, or build a gaming PC, or BootCamp, or whatever.  Otherwise there would be no Mac ports of any games at all.  Obviously TR:Legend is getting to be an older game, relatively speaking, and since Aspyr didn't bother and Feral skipped to the most recent TR game, the odds aren't terribly high at this point, but you never know...weirder things have happened....  (How old is Colin McRae 2005 Mac, now?)

--Eric

#24 iRolley

iRolley

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 752 posts
  • Location:Antibes - France

Posted 28 November 2007 - 01:56 AM

edddeduck any idea when will Feral make a release date announcement ? Since the UB patch is said to be after new year, should we expect the first release (intel only) BEFORE new year ? Or am I being overly optimistic ?

Thanks again

#25 edddeduck

edddeduck

    Feral Interactive

  • Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1229 posts
  • Location:London, England, UK

Posted 28 November 2007 - 10:42 AM

View PostiRolley, on November 28th 2007, 12:56 AM, said:

edddeduck any idea when will Feral make a release date announcement ? Since the UB patch is said to be after new year, should we expect the first release (intel only) BEFORE new year ? Or am I being overly optimistic ?

Thanks again

Yes I have a good idea, :)

Edwin

#26 iRolley

iRolley

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 752 posts
  • Location:Antibes - France

Posted 28 November 2007 - 01:19 PM

View Postedddeduck, on November 28th 2007, 10:42 AM, said:

Yes I have a good idea, :)

Edwin

:glare: ... careful, I bite.

#27 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3318 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 28 November 2007 - 03:39 PM

I could play the PC version (which requires a 100% DirectX 9.0c compatible 64MB 3D Accelerated Card with TnL (GeForce 3Ti/Radeon 9 series)
) on a GMA900 that was on the laptop I tried it on. I had to shut off a few things and run it at 640x480 but it did run and I could do her acrobatics and stuff. Most of the effects like the water effects, depth of field and bloom worked albeit slow. I had to turn on and off each thing to see which thing impacts it the most. So unless the Mac version is programmed differently or it's due to OS X having a larger overhead than other operating systems it should run on a wide variety of Macs. I noticed the PC LEGO Star Wars II would run on that same laptop but it wouldn't on my Mac Mini G4 with Radeon 9200 with the Feral version. Although that could be simply because there was more VRAM (shared or otherwise) available on the laptop. :P

BTW, the old Duke Nukem 3D ran with no hardware acceleration whatsoever not just lacking T&L. Pretty much all games before the Quake 3 Arena era ran without T&L or even shaders and that didn't make them 2 1/2D or software only like Duke3D. It just meant that lighting and transformations had to be done on the CPU so then they couldn't do as much due to both CPU and 3D Accelerator so you had games like Quake II and below. But still you could get away with not having hardware T&L as long as you have the CPU to back it up. Later on Serious Sam and the Max Payne games ran fine with software T&L... and I don't mean under 10FPS is fine. A lot of people where beefing up their CPUs to make up for the lack of T&L on pre-Radeon\GeForce cards (mostly with 3Dfx cards).
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#28 placy

placy

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 900 posts
  • Location:Eastern Washington state

Posted 15 December 2007 - 11:04 AM

A new chapter in the series (TOMB RAIDER UNDERWORLD) is coming in 2008-ish:

http://www.tombraide...dlines3364.html

I hope Feral is keeping an eye on this one too...

#29 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6075 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 15 December 2007 - 02:36 PM

This game looks like it has a lot of hardware T&A.

EDIT: A review from my favorite reviewer.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#30 iRolley

iRolley

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 752 posts
  • Location:Antibes - France

Posted 17 December 2007 - 02:35 PM

View PostFrost, on December 15th 2007, 02:36 PM, said:

This game looks like it has a lot of hardware T&A.

EDIT: A review from my favorite reviewer.


Beautiful, excellent.. clap clap clap...  :lol:

#31 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3783 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 29 December 2007 - 12:02 PM

Looks like this is gonna be my first serious venture into the Tomb Raider world... Really looking forward to it! :)
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#32 placy

placy

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 900 posts
  • Location:Eastern Washington state

Posted 15 January 2008 - 10:44 PM

"We have received a lot of questions about PPC support for Tomb Raider Anniversary...
so to clarify our plans, the Intel-Only version of Tomb Raider will be released shortly
before Christmas, with an update following in the new year to add Universal support."

Guess they should update their front page...

#33 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8076 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 16 January 2008 - 01:51 AM

View Postplacy, on January 16th 2008, 05:44 AM, said:

"We have received a lot of questions about PPC support for Tomb Raider Anniversary...
so to clarify our plans, the Intel-Only version of Tomb Raider will be released shortly
before Christmas, with an update following in the new year to add Universal support."

Guess they should update their front page...
They haven't said Christmas 2007. ;)

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#34 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3318 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 16 January 2008 - 02:37 AM

Good thing because they'd have to hop in the time machine and go back in time to release it. :lol:

I gotta say again I enjoyed it on the PC and I am happy that it's coming to the Mac, even if I can't play it on my current Mac.
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#35 placy

placy

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 900 posts
  • Location:Eastern Washington state

Posted 17 January 2008 - 10:23 AM

View PostSmoke_Tetsu, on January 16th 2008, 08:37 AM, said:

Good thing because they'd have to hop in the TIME MACHINE and go back in time to release it. :lol:

Then I guess it must only run under Leopard... :)

#36 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 828 posts

Posted 24 January 2008 - 12:38 PM

I purchased my copy in the UK today :) . It is now sat on top of my games pile next to my machine waiting for the Universal patch as I'm still using my G5. Hopefully it won't be too long before it arrives and this way I can support Feral's efforts. Worse case it will be a case of waiting until I can move to a Mac Pro and to me a good game is a good game regardless of when you get to play it.
Mac Pro 09 (now a 5.1, 2 x 3.06GHz Xeon X5675, 24GB, R9 280X 3GB, 480SSD, 16TB HD, MacOS 10.12.6

#37 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 25 January 2008 - 06:03 AM

so wait... its out in the wild?? woot!
thats the only problem I have with Feral, they release things really quite quietly, and it takes a while for things to proliferate across the globe... though admittedly, im in the UK, so its not that big a problem for me.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#38 edddeduck

edddeduck

    Feral Interactive

  • Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1229 posts
  • Location:London, England, UK

Posted 25 January 2008 - 08:34 AM

View PostSmoke_Tetsu, on January 16th 2008, 01:37 AM, said:

Good thing because they'd have to hop in the time machine and go back in time to release it. :lol:

Give us a bit more time, it take a long while to train our cheetah to run at 88 miles an hour. But with some
help from Dr E Brown and the guys at Balco we should be able to do it!

Doc Brown informed us the delay is because the HD size required is even bigger than 1.2 Gigawattsbytes
used on the Delorian.

Hope all you Intel people enjoy the game. If you pre-ordered from our site you should have the game in the next few days
as we shipped them all out on Wednesday.

Edwin

#39 Eric5h5

Eric5h5

    Minion Tormentor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7160 posts

Posted 25 January 2008 - 12:04 PM

View Postteflon, on January 25th 2008, 07:03 AM, said:

thats the only problem I have with Feral, they release things really quite quietly

Yeah, what's up with that, Feral?  Make some noise!  ;)

--Eric

#40 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 828 posts

Posted 25 January 2008 - 02:31 PM

View PostEric5h5, on January 25th 2008, 06:04 PM, said:

Yeah, what's up with that, Feral?  Make some noise!  ;)

--Eric

I think it was the same when I purchased Lego Star Wars 2 and Colin McRae Rally they were both "coming soon" and then suddenly arrived without much warning of a specific release date. Both are solid ports so I'm looking forward to being able to play Tomb Raider Anniversary.
Mac Pro 09 (now a 5.1, 2 x 3.06GHz Xeon X5675, 24GB, R9 280X 3GB, 480SSD, 16TB HD, MacOS 10.12.6