Jump to content


Call of Duty 4, When?


  • Please log in to reply
192 replies to this topic

#41 mattyb

mattyb

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts

Posted 19 June 2008 - 03:35 AM

Saw this at Amazon.co.uk :

Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare (Mac) (2008) (Mac OS X)
Buy new: £39.99 £32.98
You save: £7.01 (18%)
Available for pre-order. This item will be released on 29 Aug 2008.
Eligible for FREE Super Saver Delivery.

#42 philz

philz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Location:Tokyo, Japan + Scottsdale, Arizona

Posted 19 June 2008 - 08:12 PM

View Postmattyb, on June 19th 2008, 04:35 AM, said:

Saw this at Amazon.co.uk :

Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare (Mac) (2008) (Mac OS X)
Buy new: £39.99 £32.98
You save: £7.01 (18%)
Available for pre-order. This item will be released on 29 Aug 2008.
Eligible for FREE Super Saver Delivery.

Woo!  About time... Amazon pretty good at guesstimating release dates, IMHO.  Thats shortly after i get back from a trip, so that will be nice.  Though not sure if I want to by it for the third platform  :bleedingeyes:
Notebooks:  Powerbook 12 in, G4 1.5 ghz  ---> Black Macbook 2.0ghz, 2gb ram  --->"Early '08" Macbook Pro 2.5ghz, 4gb ram, 512mb 8600gt
Desktops:  Custom #1 ---> Custom #2 ---> Quad q6600, 4gb Ram, 2900XT 512mb ---> ^Macbook Pro^
I've been walking on both sides of the fence so long, I finally found my happy place right by the Apple Tree.

#43 mattyb

mattyb

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts

Posted 20 June 2008 - 08:50 AM

I've not bought it for Winblows so to finally pwn fellow clan members will be such fun.

#44 charmin

charmin

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 20 June 2008 - 09:30 AM

View Postphilz, on June 20th 2008, 03:12 AM, said:

Amazon pretty good at guesstimating release dates, IMHO.

That is the polar opposite of my experience.
15"MBP@2.4/250/2/256 (This space saving format should be an international standard)
I'm actually TOO good at both TMFPPG and Fable:TLC.
I sleep in a BBEdit T-shirt, but I'm a TextMate user.

#45 Headrush69

Headrush69

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 06 July 2008 - 10:11 PM

Since this is a Cider port, and apparently a simple 3D patch applied to Wine already runs CoD4 great, (according to reports), why such a delay.

If someone knew how to compile an xserver with Wine, (like Crossover Office does), we could be playing our Windows copies already. :)

#46 AussieMacGamer

AussieMacGamer

    Owner, 2nd Largest Topic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3087 posts

Posted 06 July 2008 - 10:44 PM

View PostHeadrush69, on July 7th 2008, 02:11 PM, said:

Since this is a Cider port, and apparently a simple 3D patch applied to Wine already runs CoD4 great, (according to reports), why such a delay.

If someone knew how to compile an xserver with Wine, (like Crossover Office does), we could be playing our Windows copies already. :)

It isnt a Cider Port.

IMG Resident Crackpot
"What you need is a dog or a girlfriend, or both, or one in the same!" -Gary Simmons Aka. The Battle Cat
15" Macbook Pro C2D 2.16Ghz ATI X1600 3Gb Ram w/Samsung 840 SSD R.I.P

2015 Mbp 13", 256gb SSD

Windows popsnizzlebox with a 5400rpm HD and a GTX 1060

Now Playing: Player Unknown's Battlegrounds/CS:GO/Rising Storm 2/The Witcher 3 Blood and Wine/Shenmue 1


#47 Headrush69

Headrush69

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 07 July 2008 - 04:52 AM

View PostAussieMacGamer, on July 7th 2008, 12:44 AM, said:

It isnt a Cider Port.
You're right.
Forgot since I've been so annoyed with Apple's X11/opengl linking problems and not being able to play now like Linux friends! ;)

#48 MonsterPatrol

MonsterPatrol

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts

Posted 13 July 2008 - 04:11 PM

Going off topic a little bit, what will multiplayer be like?  Will we only be able to play online with other Mac players or can we join in with PC users?

#49 AussieMacGamer

AussieMacGamer

    Owner, 2nd Largest Topic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3087 posts

Posted 14 July 2008 - 05:52 AM

It would be criminal for them to sell a game like Call Of Duty 4 with OS X to OS X only multiplayer.

IMG Resident Crackpot
"What you need is a dog or a girlfriend, or both, or one in the same!" -Gary Simmons Aka. The Battle Cat
15" Macbook Pro C2D 2.16Ghz ATI X1600 3Gb Ram w/Samsung 840 SSD R.I.P

2015 Mbp 13", 256gb SSD

Windows popsnizzlebox with a 5400rpm HD and a GTX 1060

Now Playing: Player Unknown's Battlegrounds/CS:GO/Rising Storm 2/The Witcher 3 Blood and Wine/Shenmue 1


#50 MonsterPatrol

MonsterPatrol

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts

Posted 19 July 2008 - 08:45 AM

http://www.aspyr.com/

Look at the right hand side, on the games calender!  It says that CoD 4 is already in stores!  I've checked at other places online, and it still says pre-order, but maybe I'm just super early and they just started shipping recently.  At least, that's what I hope; it's earlier than anticipated, and i'm keeping my fingers crossed that it's not too good to be true.

#51 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8075 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 19 July 2008 - 11:48 AM

View PostMonsterPatrol, on July 19th 2008, 04:45 PM, said:

http://www.aspyr.com/

Look at the right hand side, on the games calender!  It says that CoD 4 is already in stores!  I've checked at other places online, and it still says pre-order, but maybe I'm just super early and they just started shipping recently.  At least, that's what I hope; it's earlier than anticipated, and i'm keeping my fingers crossed that it's not too good to be true.
Don't get your hopes too high. Unfortunately, Aspyr's calender has been rather unreliable in the past, announcing several times that games are "in stores" that aren't actually. You should rather rely on the News, on the left hand side. When this says "CoD 4 hits the stores" (or whatever), it really does.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#52 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8075 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 21 July 2008 - 01:51 PM

Just what I said: it's back on "Coming Soon".

However: the system requirements are there.

Quote

Minimum System Requirements:
Operating System: Mac OS X 10.5.4 (Leopard)
CPU Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo
CPU Speed: 2.0 GHz
Memory: 1 GB RAM
Hard Disk Space: 8.0 GB + 1 GB Swap File
Video Card (ATI): Radeon X1600
Video Card (NVidia): GeForce FX 7300
Video Memory (VRam): 128 MB
Media Required: DVD-ROM
Peripherals: Macintosh mouse and keyboard

Multiplayer Requirements:
Internet (TCP/IP) or LAN (TCP/IP) play supported
Internet plays requires broadband connection

Supported Video cards:
NVIDIA GeForce 7300, 7600, 8600, 8800
NVIDIA GeForce Quadro FX 4500
ATI Radeon X1600, X1900, HD 2400, HD 2600

Recommended System Requirements:
Operating System: Mac OS X 10.5.4
CPU Speed: 2.4 GHz
Video RAM: 256 MB

NOTICE: This game contains technology intended to prevent copying that may conflict with some disk and virtual disk drives.

NOTICE: Intel integrated video chipsets are not supported.

NOTICE: Apple Intel Chipsets only. Power PC Processors (G4 and G5) are not supported.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#53 Mr. Selvetarm

Mr. Selvetarm

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 713 posts
  • Location:Faerūn or Tel'aran'rhiod

Posted 21 July 2008 - 03:11 PM

9 GBs of memory. Doesn't that seem a little excessive?

Gosh it's been a while... Sold the Green Monster and the iPad for a truly amazing new beast.

THE RAINBOW GREMLIN: i5-760 @ 3.2ghz, ASUS H57 Mobo, EVGA 470 GTX (1280mb) , 8gb OCZ Reaper HPC, 60gb OCZ Vertex 2 SSD, 2tb Samsung F3, 800 Watt Corsair PSU



#54 MonsterPatrol

MonsterPatrol

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts

Posted 21 July 2008 - 03:38 PM

Actually, I thought the memory requirement would be more than that.  The demo itself is 1.37 GBs, believe it or not, and that's just one level.

Target says that it comes out July 25th, which is this Friday; Amazon says it's the 25th of August, so someone has the date wrong.  I really hope it's Amazon.

#55 charmin

charmin

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 21 July 2008 - 03:28 PM

Heh. Thought you meant RAM.

Well apparently the PC version has the same 8GB req., which doesn't seem out of place for a DVD9 with all the fancied-up graphics for the PC's capabilities, and after uncompressing in the install process. Swap space is just common sense and 1GB seems like a very low number to specify, but then nobody specifies it anyway.
15"MBP@2.4/250/2/256 (This space saving format should be an international standard)
I'm actually TOO good at both TMFPPG and Fable:TLC.
I sleep in a BBEdit T-shirt, but I'm a TextMate user.

#56 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 21 July 2008 - 07:10 PM

1Gb would be the absolute minimum swap space youd want to have. the more the better (I believe that HDDs are supposed to start slowing down once 80% full... so in a 500Gb drive you should be keeping around 100Gb free). anyway, lets look at numbers:
Supreme Commander - 12Gb
Unreal Tournament 3 - 8Gb
Gears of War - 12 Gb
Portal - 4Gb
Team Fortress 2 - 7Gb
Half Life 2 Episode 2 - 5Gb
Bioshock - 8 Gb

now those arent all official, its just what I vaguely remember being around about right. But as you can see, 9Gb is very much middle of the road. textures are getting bigger, texture variety is getting bigger, audio quality is getting better, the number of maps and map size is getting bigger. All the time, people have so much surplus HDD space these days (well, usually anyway), I doubt theyre really pushing to keep the game under 6Gb or anything like that.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#57 Mr. Selvetarm

Mr. Selvetarm

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 713 posts
  • Location:Faerūn or Tel'aran'rhiod

Posted 21 July 2008 - 08:41 PM

Well, on a laptop (sorry notebook :P) 9 Gbs is a lot when you only have a 160 Hard Drive. Looks like the time for an external drive has finally come for me.

Gosh it's been a while... Sold the Green Monster and the iPad for a truly amazing new beast.

THE RAINBOW GREMLIN: i5-760 @ 3.2ghz, ASUS H57 Mobo, EVGA 470 GTX (1280mb) , 8gb OCZ Reaper HPC, 60gb OCZ Vertex 2 SSD, 2tb Samsung F3, 800 Watt Corsair PSU



#58 Jarmo

Jarmo

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts

Posted 22 July 2008 - 03:09 AM

Pretty low requirements actually. I've tried the PC demo on athlon64 3800+ with 7600gs graphics and it didn't run all that great.
Maybe I'll try the demo if there's one.

#59 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3707 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 22 July 2008 - 04:51 AM

Well, I guess that is the extremely low end of the requirements.

Liberator.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 16GB RAM | 10.10.5 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State


#60 Mr. Selvetarm

Mr. Selvetarm

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 713 posts
  • Location:Faerūn or Tel'aran'rhiod

Posted 25 July 2008 - 08:54 PM

I saw a little kid buy this game for PC today at Bestbuy, and I just thought to myself "mR.sELvETaRM, I really hope that kid can run that game on his probably integrated graphics machine."

Gosh it's been a while... Sold the Green Monster and the iPad for a truly amazing new beast.

THE RAINBOW GREMLIN: i5-760 @ 3.2ghz, ASUS H57 Mobo, EVGA 470 GTX (1280mb) , 8gb OCZ Reaper HPC, 60gb OCZ Vertex 2 SSD, 2tb Samsung F3, 800 Watt Corsair PSU