Jump to content


Call of Duty 4, When?


  • Please log in to reply
192 replies to this topic

#181 strangemax

strangemax

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 95 posts

Posted 01 October 2008 - 05:46 PM

View Postteflon, on October 1st 2008, 07:15 PM, said:

strangemax: sounds good!

J'nathus: sounds bad :(

to both of you, are you running with or without shadows?
and thanks for putting the effort in.

I'm not sure about shadows. I play both versions with whatever the default settings are.

I also want to say, I appreciate Aspyr making this port. And it's a very solid port I might add. Unlike some of the cider games out there. I've had no crashing issues or hiccups at all. This is a version behind the PC version, but if you're just picking this up you won't miss much. 1.7 adds 3 or 4 maps, but not much else. Like I said earlier there are still plenty of servers out there running 1.5.  I hope Aspyr makes some money on this port. I'd hate to see the mac gaming market die. And no I don't work for or even know anyone at Aspyr. I'm just an old time mac gamer, since 1988 actually, and I infinitely prefer playing on the mac side rather than the windows side.
_____________________________________
"Who wants a president that will knowingly, repeatedly tell you something that he knows is not true?"
-Bill Clinton, Nov 5, 2012 before a crowd in Philadelphia

#182 J'nathus

J'nathus

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 559 posts

Posted 01 October 2008 - 08:26 PM

View Poststrangemax, on October 1st 2008, 07:46 PM, said:

I'm not sure about shadows. I play both versions with whatever the default settings are.
Ditto here.

#183 kongjie

kongjie

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 03 October 2008 - 05:51 PM

any word yet on multiplayer--with PCs or separate Mac realm?

#184 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 03 October 2008 - 06:17 PM

the multiplayer is cross platform, so you can play against PCs
But, the mac version is shipping at version 1.5, whilst the PC is now on version 1.7. So you will only be able to play against PCs at patch 1.5 until the mac version gets the patch...
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#185 Sargiel

Sargiel

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 909 posts
  • Location:West Sussex, England

Posted 04 October 2008 - 05:28 AM

View Poststrangemax, on October 1st 2008, 05:54 PM, said:

OK, I finally had time to do a couple of simple FPS tests between the mac version and the windows version running under bootcamp. The 24" iMac I have is a 2.33 GHz Intel core duo with 4 gigs of ram and the NVIDIA GeForce 7600GT with 256 video ram.

Thanks strangemax - that's the imac I've got (only with 3GB) so it's good to know I'll be able to run COD 4 ok when I eventually upgrade from Tiger.

#186 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3707 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 04 October 2008 - 07:04 AM

Just remember people, it is around the baseline for the graphics requirements. ;)

By the way, if anyone knows, when did the 1.7 patch arrive for PC (in correlation to the 1.5 patch and when CoD 4 shipped for Mac) ?

Liberator HD 1.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 16GB RAM | 10.10.5 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State


#187 MonsterPatrol

MonsterPatrol

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts

Posted 04 October 2008 - 07:37 AM

The 1.7 patch for PC came out june 27, or sometime near that date.

#188 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3707 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 04 October 2008 - 07:32 PM

Then because of the fact, would Aspyr be able to ship CoD 4 for mac with the 1.7 patch or not? If so, then why did they not?

Liberator.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 16GB RAM | 10.10.5 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State


#189 MonsterPatrol

MonsterPatrol

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts

Posted 05 October 2008 - 10:56 AM

Same reason as it took Aspyr almost twice as long to port the game as they said it would: chronic laziness.

#190 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 05 October 2008 - 02:04 PM

yeah, cos they'd rather watch Big Brother than port a game quickly and make money...

sure.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#191 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3707 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 06 October 2008 - 01:12 AM

Then from this I assume they were not able to, or were able to, but it would make even more problems and/or more delays.

Liberator.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 16GB RAM | 10.10.5 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State


#192 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 06 October 2008 - 04:47 AM

yeah probably. They may have prioritised and said "lets get the game gold, and then work immediately on the 1.7 patch so it comes out 2 weeks after release" that way, the game ships and people can play it, then the patch comes out and everything is just fine and dandy.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#193 The Liberator

The Liberator

    Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3707 posts
  • Steam Name:Meriones
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 06 October 2008 - 05:16 AM

Yes, well, I agree with your assumption. That would make a lot of sense, as that is what I would have done, although I would have told everyone buying the game that the multiplayer cross-platform patch was coming within weeks.

Liberator.

iMac: 2.8GHz i7 | 16GB RAM | 10.10.5 | ATI Radeon HD 4850M | 512MB VRAM

Custom: 3.4 GHz i5 | 16GB RAM | Win 7 SP 1 | nVidia GeForce GTX 660 OCII | 2GB VRAM


We hang in D.C. with them CIA killers

Baraka Flacka Flames - Head of the State