Jump to content


Have you upgraded to leopard?


  • Please log in to reply
57 replies to this topic

Poll: Select one of the choices below (67 member(s) have cast votes)

Have you upgraded?

  1. Yes, on my main machine. (34 votes [50.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 50.00%

  2. Yes, but on a machine other than my main/production system. (3 votes [4.41%])

    Percentage of vote: 4.41%

  3. Waiting until 10.5.1 (8 votes [11.76%])

    Percentage of vote: 11.76%

  4. I'm just fine with Tiger. (9 votes [13.24%])

    Percentage of vote: 13.24%

  5. Other. (14 votes [20.59%])

    Percentage of vote: 20.59%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#41 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 14 November 2007 - 02:28 PM

View PostDark_Archon, on November 9th 2007, 05:55 AM, said:

Has anybody else had issues with leopard becoming somewhat unstable after a few days of uptime? I used to never restart Tiger, but after 5 days, Leopard started getting a bit temperamental, with Finder and a few other applications crashing.

not really, but i had my first leopard kernel panic this morning. put it to sleep after A2DP stopped working with my bluetooth headphones last night while watching on front row, and using the 'hold play/pause on remote for 6 seconds to sleep' trick. Then upon waking the machine up i was greeted with the kernel panic message...

upon rebooting, the system was dog slow for a good few minutes (i think safari took about 3 minutes to boot), but since then its been pretty plain sailing.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#42 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3301 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 14 November 2007 - 07:29 PM

View PostDark_Archon, on October 28th 2007, 11:42 PM, said:

I use my dock on the left, so I won't need to deal with the horrible perspective of the 3d dock view, the transparent menubar with a black stripe behind it looks exactly like my menubar looked with ShapeShifter.

Didn't shape shifter require application enhancer? If so delete application enhancer before you install 10.5 cuz it messes things up severely (you get the blue screen of death after you restart after the install, i had to go into single user mode and manually delete a couple of application enhancer stuff, then re-install leopard, after that it worked fine)

just a heads up cuz it sounds like you haven't installed leopard


-Snake
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#43 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3301 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 14 November 2007 - 07:37 PM

View Postteflon, on November 14th 2007, 03:28 PM, said:

not really, but i had my first leopard kernel panic this morning. put it to sleep after A2DP stopped working with my bluetooth headphones last night while watching on front row, and using the 'hold play/pause on remote for 6 seconds to sleep' trick. Then upon waking the machine up i was greeted with the kernel panic message...

upon rebooting, the system was dog slow for a good few minutes (i think safari took about 3 minutes to boot), but since then its been pretty plain sailing.

I haven't had that problem but I've had a problem with changing ownership of files, pics, everything, etc. My iMac has 4 users (2 of them are admin) my hard drive is set to read and write for both of the admins but for some reason they aren't a loud to access the files unless they are the former owners. When I hit "Get Info" on the file and then try to change the ownership I hit the "+" button to add a new owner but then the Get Info window crashes. It's a real pain cuz i'm constantly moving stuff around between users.

-Snake


PS: i can change the ownership of the massive folders (like the applications folder) and the entire drive but not little stuff like a pic or something  :blink:
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#44 Huntn

Huntn

    Verbal Windbag

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4074 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 15 November 2007 - 08:21 AM

No problems noted with Leopard from a system stability standpoint.

#45 JetOver

JetOver

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts

Posted 15 November 2007 - 10:31 PM

I chose "Other".  I have a few items that need to be updated (i.e., SuperDuper) so I plan to buy it early next month.  I also have a lot of older, no longer supported, games I've picked up cheap over the last year or two, so it will be interesting to see what blows up and what surprises me.

JetOver

#46 Lord Brixton

Lord Brixton

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1629 posts
  • Location:London, England

Posted 01 December 2007 - 10:49 AM

I think Time machine is the villain: Every now & then my system grinds to a halt, can't launch any apps (not even Activity Monitor) and if I check in a new window there's always some backing up going on.

Fancy as it is I think I might ditch TM & go back to using Backup, which just got on with the job and didn't fool around

Tower MacPro 2x2.66GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon / 4gb RAM / Radeon X1900 XT 512 / 20" Cinema Display.
MacBook Pro 1.8 gHz Core Duo  / 1gb RAM / Radeon mobility X1600 128 / 15" LCD
PowerBook G4 1x1.67ghz / 1gb RAM / Radeon mobility 9700 128 / 15" LCD

723rd kicks wussy Nar butt!




Posted Image


#47 ehuelga

ehuelga

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 309 posts
  • Steam Name:El Spud
  • Location:Mill Valley, CA

Posted 01 December 2007 - 11:29 AM

Using 10.5.1 on a new MBP now that most of the kinks with Adobe CS3 have been ironed out. Time Machine is interesting, but the external drive can't be unmounted, so I tend to turn TM on and off, only do backups on command. There's a Time Machine Scheduler out there, but it seems a bit not ready for prime time. I also would prefer the ability to do full restore of a hosed disk rather than the cherry-picking it's only capable of now.
The commute from Mill Valley to Cupertino is a real bitch.

#48 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 01 December 2007 - 06:47 PM

ehuelga:
simply wait for that particular backup to finish and you can unmount the drive just like any other.

it helps to have a lightning fast external drive in addition to a fast internal drive to get the backup time down as far as possible, but really my backups dont take any more than 10 minutes so long as its not trying to do something ridiculously massive.
if, however, its the first such backup, its best to set it to go and walk away for a few hours.

finally, you can do a full restore, but you need to use the Leopard install disk to do so. its in disk utility somewhere i believe.

LB:
obviously the reason for the grind to a halt is because its using your full disk speed to perform the backup as quickly as possible. It wouldve been great had apple managed to do a kind of 'nice' function with the HDD usage, like with RAM usage, in this instance, but it seems they didnt.

so, as ehuelga pointed out, there is the Time Machine Scheduler, and id suggest setting it to back up every 6 hours or something.
or, turn time machine off, but have it in the dock, and whenever you want to back up your data, right click the dock icon and select back up now. simple and effective and all encompassing.

that all basically sums up how ive learnt to live with time machine. unplug the drive when its not needed, and perhaps once a day (more often if mucking around with lots of files/changes), plug it in, turn it on, immediately right click the time machine icon and make it back up. once its done, eject, unplug, turn off.

sorted.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#49 Dark_Archon

Dark_Archon

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1792 posts
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Posted 02 December 2007 - 03:30 AM

View PostSneaky Snake, on November 14th 2007, 08:29 PM, said:

Didn't shape shifter require application enhancer? If so delete application enhancer before you install 10.5 cuz it messes things up severely (you get the blue screen of death after you restart after the install, i had to go into single user mode and manually delete a couple of application enhancer stuff, then re-install leopard, after that it worked fine)

just a heads up cuz it sounds like you haven't installed leopard
-Snake

I always make a point of removing ALL haxies before big updates even if there aren't any known problems. I was talking about shapeshifter with 10.4 and how I modified my menubar.
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 7 GB RAM SONY DW-D150A SuperDrive

#50 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 02 December 2007 - 08:17 AM

heres my main problems with 10.5

firstly, the fact that now you cannot set a window to a certain view setting consistently without going into the view preferences. its stupid and counter intuitive, unlike in 10.4 where it was automatically always the way you set it to last (apart from in drag and drop where you navigate through the file hierarchy). Not to mention that it doesnt always work. if you use the forward and back buttons in the finder window, then it will break this until you arrive at that window without using them. stupid and really annoying.

secondly, and this one is more frustrating, is the fact that quite often, waking my MBP from sleep will result in a plain black screen. I have no idea what the cause is, and it doesnt always happen. but when it does i have to force restart my computer which i hate... after that it doesnt happen for a while and then suddenly... aaaaarGH!!!!!

thirdly, and this may have been the fault of an old version of steermouse being installed (now updated), every once in a while, after waking from sleep, both my revolution vx and the trackpad will not track properly, and skip across the screen. making it very difficult to navigate properly. only a restart will fix this, and its bleeding annoying.

finally, though, occasionally the laptop will stop recognising inputs from various interface points. While it was in 10.4 that the right USB port simply refuses to recognise my logitech mouse dongle, its always worked with everything else, and that dongle works fine on the other side (no biggie, i prefer it there anyway). but in the last couple of days its will occasionally stop recognising the dongle in the left port as well, which a restart fixes, and just now the FW800 refused to recognise my iomega RAID... now i dont think its a hardware issue because they worked fine in 10.4, and its always fixed by restarting, and i cant think of any haxies or pref panes or anything that can be causing this... theyre all updated to their 10.5 versions anyway, or have been deleted...

so 10.5 is still pretty buggy in its .1 release, but overall im still loving it...


except that damned 3D dock! (ive set it to 2D, but even that styling grates, why cant i just make the background invisible??)
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#51 ehuelga

ehuelga

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 309 posts
  • Steam Name:El Spud
  • Location:Mill Valley, CA

Posted 02 December 2007 - 10:58 AM

RE: the dock, try Docker. I've found that a near black dock color with bright green "lights" to identify running apps is pleasant. YMMV

There are a dozen Menu Bar hacks, I've had no problems with Leopaque, and Opaque Menu Bar. Ars Technica figured out Tiger's menu bar was exactly .62.

My main gripe about the new implementation of Find and Spotlight is that using the search field in a window doesn't default to restricting the search to what's IN that window in the first place, I've always got to click the little frickin button to narrow the search every frickin time. Tiger worked perfectly, but Leopard thinks I want to search my entire hard drive and/or external drives even though I've started the search from within a specific area anyway. Example: I want to edit the Doom3 cfg, it's in this Library folder somewhere… but no, I get results of .cfg from every hard drive everywhere first and have to maneuver the mouse and click "search in Library" to make it behave properly. It ought to have a preference: do I always want to search everywhere, or just where I'm pointing?
</rant>
The commute from Mill Valley to Cupertino is a real bitch.

#52 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 02 December 2007 - 11:46 AM

no, you misunderstand, i dont wan any background to my dock at all. i want just the app icons floating there, just like using the cleardock haxie via APE in 10.4. ive already got docktop on the left side with this kind of thing, so i want that at the bottom too. its what im used to and it works just great for me...
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#53 ehuelga

ehuelga

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 309 posts
  • Steam Name:El Spud
  • Location:Mill Valley, CA

Posted 02 December 2007 - 11:54 AM

View Postteflon, on December 2nd 2007, 12:46 PM, said:

i dont wan any background to my dock at all.
Some hacking to get a transparent dock here.
The commute from Mill Valley to Cupertino is a real bitch.

#54 PeopleLikeFrank

PeopleLikeFrank

    Uberspewer

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2690 posts
  • Location:The Republic of Soviet Canukistan
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 02 December 2007 - 12:51 PM

View Postteflon, on December 2nd 2007, 09:17 AM, said:

finally, though, occasionally the laptop will stop recognising inputs from various interface points. While it was in 10.4 that the right USB port simply refuses to recognise my logitech mouse dongle, its always worked with everything else, and that dongle works fine on the other side (no biggie, i prefer it there anyway). but in the last couple of days its will occasionally stop recognising the dongle in the left port as well, which a restart fixes, and just now the FW800 refused to recognise my iomega RAID... now i dont think its a hardware issue because they worked fine in 10.4, and its always fixed by restarting, and i cant think of any haxies or pref panes or anything that can be causing this... theyre all updated to their 10.5 versions anyway, or have been deleted...


I've had something like this happen a couple of times. Seems to be on waking from sleep for me - one time the keyboard totally stopped responding, and the other it was the trackpad and the USB mouse. Both required a restart.

I quite like the look of the new dock though, or at least the 2D version, which it defaults to anyway since I put it on the side of the screen.
The dork formerly known as nobody
---
MBP: C2D @ 2.66 Ghz | GeForce 9600M GT 256Mb | 8GB RAM | 120GB SSD + 500GB HD | 10.6.2 / W7 x64
PC: Q9550 | 6950 2GB | 8GB RAM | 80GB SSD + 750GB HD | W7 x64

#55 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 02 December 2007 - 02:20 PM

yeah, theres just issues with the sleep...

ok, so the clear dock is great and all, but now i want to do away with reflections, and the command given there just gives me the 2D dock...

oh, and without the app icon shadows too...
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#56 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 02 January 2008 - 08:48 AM

finally my prayers have been answered!!!! its a clear dock!!! huzzah!!!!!!!!!!!
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#57 Dark_Archon

Dark_Archon

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1792 posts
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Posted 02 January 2008 - 12:58 PM

I actually don't mind the 2d Leopard dock. The Tiger dock however, I couldn't stand.
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 7 GB RAM SONY DW-D150A SuperDrive

#58 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 02 January 2008 - 01:19 PM

I just wanted floating icons. I didnt like the Tiger dock that much either, which is why i got rid of it very quickly. but then i didnt like the 3D dock one bit, so resorted to the 2D one which jarred with its general size and border, and then to the 3D one without any bottom, so that its just a reflection...

but now i finally have my oh so beloved clear dock back once again. yay!
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor