Jump to content


Have you upgraded to leopard?


  • Please log in to reply
57 replies to this topic

Poll: Select one of the choices below (67 member(s) have cast votes)

Have you upgraded?

  1. Yes, on my main machine. (34 votes [50.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 50.00%

  2. Yes, but on a machine other than my main/production system. (3 votes [4.41%])

    Percentage of vote: 4.41%

  3. Waiting until 10.5.1 (8 votes [11.76%])

    Percentage of vote: 11.76%

  4. I'm just fine with Tiger. (9 votes [13.24%])

    Percentage of vote: 13.24%

  5. Other. (14 votes [20.59%])

    Percentage of vote: 20.59%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 Lemon Lime

Lemon Lime

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2227 posts
  • Location:California

Posted 28 October 2007 - 09:29 PM

Just thought it would be interesting to know.

#2 Fendersrule

Fendersrule

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 130 posts
  • Location:Central Washington

Posted 28 October 2007 - 10:24 PM

I've already bought it. But it's still sealed in it's packaging until I figure out of Gaming is any faster for the PPC Macs.

Otherwise, I'll put it on my MBP...sometime this week.
2.2GHz MBP 7200 RPM
2.8GHz MP 1.5TB RAID & 8800 GT
1.5GHz G4 Mini
23" Cinema Display

#3 Dark_Archon

Dark_Archon

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1792 posts
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Posted 28 October 2007 - 10:42 PM

I've removed all the haxies that could possibly mess with Leopard, and organized all my files. The only thing holding me up is that my campus bookstore as of Saturday still didn't have Leopard in. If they don't have it in Monday when I check, I'm going to be really annoyed. I really miss ShapeShifter. I hate how Tiger looks by default. The stripes on contextual menus, the REALLY UGLY dock background, the brushed aluminum...

I use my dock on the left, so I won't need to deal with the horrible perspective of the 3d dock view, the transparent menubar with a black stripe behind it looks exactly like my menubar looked with ShapeShifter.
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 7 GB RAM SONY DW-D150A SuperDrive

#4 charmin

charmin

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 29 October 2007 - 04:11 AM

"Other". I'm waiting for the SuperDuper! update. I was going to wait for .1, but Leopard seems to be pretty stable, and I'll only be upgrading a machine that I can do without. My 867 is never getting Leopard.
15"MBP@2.4/250/2/256 (This space saving format should be an international standard)
I'm actually TOO good at both TMFPPG and Fable:TLC.
I sleep in a BBEdit T-shirt, but I'm a TextMate user.

#5 AussieMacGamer

AussieMacGamer

    Owner, 2nd Largest Topic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3087 posts

Posted 29 October 2007 - 04:34 AM

"Other" i have no money left for it...and if i cantget my orange box working by tonight i might just not be aliave by tommorow.

IMG Resident Crackpot
"What you need is a dog or a girlfriend, or both, or one in the same!" -Gary Simmons Aka. The Battle Cat
15" Macbook Pro C2D 2.16Ghz ATI X1600 3Gb Ram w/Samsung 840 SSD R.I.P

2015 Mbp 13", 256gb SSD

Windows popsnizzlebox with a 5400rpm HD and a GTX 1060

Now Playing: Player Unknown's Battlegrounds/CS:GO/Rising Storm 2/The Witcher 3 Blood and Wine/Shenmue 1


#6 Whaleman

Whaleman

    High Priest of Bork

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5632 posts
  • Steam ID:holybork
  • Location:The Land of Bork
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 29 October 2007 - 06:59 AM

I've upgraded all my machines, once I tested that Matlab worked. Only gaming issue I've seen so far is that WoW occasionally freaks out drawing single colored triangles over the full screen on my G5.. something that only happened on the MBP before. It's extremely rare though... like 3 times over the full weekend (with Kara raids and all)... so it's close to impossible to figure out what triggers it.
You shouldn't ask yourself such worthless questions. Aim higher. Try this: why am I here? Why do I exist, and what is my purpose in this universe?

(Answers: 'Cause you are. 'Cause you do. 'Cause I got a shotgun, and you ain't got one.)

***END MESSAGE***

#7 jgwdoc

jgwdoc

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 997 posts
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 29 October 2007 - 07:00 AM

I'm waiting. Maybe for even 2 updates. It's sitting on my shelf tempting me but it's going to continue to sit there for now. The posts over on the Apple forums are just too disturbing.
Home: MacPro 2x3.0 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon/16GB RAM/ATI HD5770,1GB VRAM/Snow Leopard/Windows 7
Travel: MacbookPro 2.9GHz Quadcore i7/16GB RAM/1TB SSD/Radeon Pro560 with 4GB VRAM/Sierra/Windows 10

Beach: iMac 3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo-boost to 3.9GHz/16GB RAM/Sierra/Windows10/GeForce GTX 780M 4GB

#8 PeopleLikeFrank

PeopleLikeFrank

    Uberspewer

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2690 posts
  • Location:The Republic of Soviet Canukistan
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 29 October 2007 - 07:53 AM

Preordered, installed on the first day. Everything runs well for me so far, but that mostly means text editors and Adobe apps. TFPPW runs great though!
The dork formerly known as nobody
---
MBP: C2D @ 2.66 Ghz | GeForce 9600M GT 256Mb | 8GB RAM | 120GB SSD + 500GB HD | 10.6.2 / W7 x64
PC: Q9550 | 6950 2GB | 8GB RAM | 80GB SSD + 750GB HD | W7 x64

#9 Lemon Lime

Lemon Lime

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2227 posts
  • Location:California

Posted 29 October 2007 - 09:05 AM

View Postjgwdoc, on October 29th 2007, 06:00 AM, said:

I'm waiting. Maybe for even 2 updates. It's sitting on my shelf tempting me but it's going to continue to sit there for now. The posts over on the Apple forums are just too disturbing.
Two kernel panics and a few miscellaneous problems here, I think you are right.

#10 charmin

charmin

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 29 October 2007 - 09:17 AM

I've given up. Since Shirt Pocket haven't announced a timeframe for SD! (though it's no doubt soon), and because I have nothing else to do today, I'm starting to install now :) Full backup of Tiger at the ready - the worst that will happen is losing a few hours.
15"MBP@2.4/250/2/256 (This space saving format should be an international standard)
I'm actually TOO good at both TMFPPG and Fable:TLC.
I sleep in a BBEdit T-shirt, but I'm a TextMate user.

#11 Whaleman

Whaleman

    High Priest of Bork

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5632 posts
  • Steam ID:holybork
  • Location:The Land of Bork
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 29 October 2007 - 10:10 AM

View PostLemon Lime, on October 29th 2007, 04:05 PM, said:

Two kernel panics and a few miscellaneous problems here, I think you are right.


Forums attract people with problems though. If an as large portion of the people without any issues woud post compared to the ones with problems, the problems would be out-flooded and more or less disappear in the storm of positive reports.
You shouldn't ask yourself such worthless questions. Aim higher. Try this: why am I here? Why do I exist, and what is my purpose in this universe?

(Answers: 'Cause you are. 'Cause you do. 'Cause I got a shotgun, and you ain't got one.)

***END MESSAGE***

#12 dojoboy

dojoboy

    DJJ is the greatest!

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3449 posts
  • Steam ID:dojoboy65
  • Location:Tanasi (USA)
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 29 October 2007 - 11:25 AM

Nope, can't afford it right now.
"There is no end to sorrow."  ---Van Gogh

#13 Dark_Archon

Dark_Archon

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1792 posts
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Posted 29 October 2007 - 12:47 PM

Picked it up at my campus bookstore. I just need to wait until 8 tonight when I get out of lab.
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 7 GB RAM SONY DW-D150A SuperDrive

#14 Lemon Lime

Lemon Lime

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2227 posts
  • Location:California

Posted 29 October 2007 - 05:01 PM

View PostWhaleman, on October 29th 2007, 09:10 AM, said:

Forums attract people with problems though. If an as large portion of the people without any issues woud post compared to the ones with problems, the problems would be out-flooded and more or less disappear in the storm of positive reports.
I think the fact that technically savvy people, may be quicker to point out the flaws in product.

#15 Rev-O

Rev-O

    BANNED

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1215 posts
  • Location:Colorado

Posted 29 October 2007 - 05:25 PM

Y'know, I just haven't jumped on it. I figure I will because I've priced it (my government discount drops it to $107ish), but I wasn't it  a rush to pick it up. My MBP and G5 are organizational cesspools right now, and I always think I'm going to clean 'em up with a nice tidy archive and install. or better yet a clean install, but they always end up as cesspools right away. My solution is not buying the new OS so I don't feel the need to organize. ;)

Maybe I'll pick it up in a month or so.

#16 Dark_Archon

Dark_Archon

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1792 posts
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Posted 29 October 2007 - 07:02 PM

Leopard is working great!
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 7 GB RAM SONY DW-D150A SuperDrive

#17 Peripherus

Peripherus

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Location:off to the side

Posted 30 October 2007 - 06:12 PM

Selected "Waiting until 10.5.1," but I'm also looking for assurance that Quake 3 will still run on my old 1GHz G4. The memory of taking a five month "break" from NOLF2 after upgrading to 10.3 will haunt me for the rest of my days.
17" iMac, 1GHz G4, 1GB, 64MB GeForce4 MX, Logitech MX500, 10.3.9.

#18 Huntn

Huntn

    Verbal Windbag

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4074 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 30 October 2007 - 06:33 PM

I like the new way folders open up in the Dock now, displaying content. I don't like how running apps are displayed in the dock. Where there used to be a crisp black triangle, there is now this hard to see white oval under the running app.

#19 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 30 October 2007 - 09:17 PM

the dock is turning out to be incredibly simple to mod... head over to tuaw and do a search and youll see how to replace the background colour, the open blob, and also how to kill the 3D effect...
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#20 Huntn

Huntn

    Verbal Windbag

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4074 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 31 October 2007 - 04:24 AM

View Postteflon, on October 30th 2007, 10:17 PM, said:

the dock is turning out to be incredibly simple to mod... head over to tuaw and do a search and youll see how to replace the background colour, the open blob, and also how to kill the 3D effect...

Thanks for the heads up! Here is a link. Although most of the comments there were by people who like the lights indicating which app is running, I prefer the black triangles cause they are easier to see.