Jump to content


C&C 3 report


  • Please log in to reply
80 replies to this topic

#1 Tracer Bullet

Tracer Bullet

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 24 August 2007 - 02:53 PM

I just installed it on my comp, runs GREAT with all settings on highest.

Mac Pro 2 x 3 Ghz Dual-Core

2 GB RAM

OS 10.4.10

#2 PeopleLikeFrank

PeopleLikeFrank

    Uberspewer

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2690 posts
  • Location:The Republic of Soviet Canukistan
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 24 August 2007 - 03:21 PM

View PostTracer Bullet, on August 24th 2007, 04:53 PM, said:

I just installed it on my comp, runs GREAT with all settings on highest.

Mac Pro 2 x 3 Ghz Dual-Core

2 GB RAM

OS 10.4.10

X1900?
The dork formerly known as nobody
---
MBP: C2D @ 2.66 Ghz | GeForce 9600M GT 256Mb | 8GB RAM | 120GB SSD + 500GB HD | 10.6.2 / W7 x64
PC: Q9550 | 6950 2GB | 8GB RAM | 80GB SSD + 750GB HD | W7 x64

#3 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 24 August 2007 - 04:00 PM

the X1600 runs it well with settings on high, but not highest...
the 7300 is practically on par with the X1600 in many things...

so it could be either. bearing in mind that tracer may not be far into the game yet...
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#4 Tracer Bullet

Tracer Bullet

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 24 August 2007 - 05:59 PM

View Postnobody, on August 24th 2007, 05:21 PM, said:

X1900?

yes X1900

#5 ozzy

ozzy

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 435 posts
  • Steam Name:ozzy
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 25 August 2007 - 04:30 PM

Hmm...I am not having the same success.  I can run settings at high (not very high) well, but when there is tiberium on screen it really slows down (maybe 1/3 - 1/2 the speed of normal).  This is at 1024x768 with settings on high.  Decreasing shaders seems to help some, but it's only when I take them to low that it really speeds up, but then it's so fugly.

BF:2142 on the other hand runs like gravy at the highest settings at 1600x1200.

Mac Pro 2.6, 10.4.10, x1900, 3 GB RAM.

I also tried them briefly on a MacBook Pro 2.16 w/x1600 128 and 2 GB RAM.  BF:2142 ran well at 1024x768 and settings on medium (didn't try bumping them up).  C&C suffered from the same tiberium shader problem.

#6 apsinnott

apsinnott

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 200 posts
  • Location:Slightly off to the right

Posted 26 August 2007 - 12:02 PM

Anyone try it on the new iMacs with the 2600 card in native resolution?

#7 DoreanGrae

DoreanGrae

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts

Posted 28 August 2007 - 11:47 AM

Is there a verdict on whether this is worth picking up? It seems from what I've read that it'll run on my MBP, but what about the game itself? Is it worth it if you're a fan of C&C? Or does it surround itself in suckitude?
DoreanGrae

MacBook Pro 15.4" 2.16 GHz Core 2 Duo, 2 GB RAM, X1600, OS 10.4.10
8GB iPhone

#8 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 28 August 2007 - 12:37 PM

its nothing overly special, but its supposed to be a pretty solid rts. not to mention that they brought back the live action cut scenes, and have a pretty all star cast!

my mates verdict was that its pretty good, but can get a bit tedious towards the end, and the aliens were not worth playing as at all...

of all the EA games though, this is the one that id probably end up buying.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#9 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8102 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 28 August 2007 - 02:24 PM

View PostDoreanGrae, on August 28th 2007, 07:47 PM, said:

Is there a verdict on whether this is worth picking up? It seems from what I've read that it'll run on my MBP, but what about the game itself? Is it worth it if you're a fan of C&C? Or does it surround itself in suckitude?
I played it on Windows some time ago (before it was even announced for Mac) and was not very overwhelmed. It looks great and is not a bad RTS, but absolutely not very special. It does basically for the C&C series what AoE III did for the AoE series: a graphical update, not much more.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#10 DoreanGrae

DoreanGrae

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts

Posted 28 August 2007 - 02:33 PM

View PostJanichsan, on August 28th 2007, 04:24 PM, said:

I played it on Windows some time ago (before it was even announced for Mac) and was not very overwhelmed. It looks great and is not a bad RTS, but absolutely not very special. It does basically for the C&C series what AoE III did for the AoE series: a graphical update, not much more.
Hm. The big question for me is does it more like a graphical update of Red Alert II? Or Generals?
DoreanGrae

MacBook Pro 15.4" 2.16 GHz Core 2 Duo, 2 GB RAM, X1600, OS 10.4.10
8GB iPhone

#11 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8102 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 28 August 2007 - 03:07 PM

Neither, nor. Both in plotline and in gameplay, it's a direct successor to Tiberian Sun.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#12 DoreanGrae

DoreanGrae

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts

Posted 28 August 2007 - 04:11 PM

Installing now. Hope I'm not disappointed.
DoreanGrae

MacBook Pro 15.4" 2.16 GHz Core 2 Duo, 2 GB RAM, X1600, OS 10.4.10
8GB iPhone

#13 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 28 August 2007 - 04:25 PM

let us know how the performance is, and more importantly of any issues you have with excessive load times, processes still running after the game has been quite (cider_nuoi was one i believe).
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#14 ozzy

ozzy

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 435 posts
  • Steam Name:ozzy
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 28 August 2007 - 04:33 PM

I had some fun with it last night...it was good to get back to NOD vs. GDI and have Kane involved.  I forgot to mention that the game does take a long time to launch for me (probably 2-3 minutes).  Once it is launched the level loading is actually very quick (maybe 5-10 seconds).  I haven't checked to see if C&C leaves behind the same processes that BF:2142 does for me (wineserver and cider_noui).

#15 DoreanGrae

DoreanGrae

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts

Posted 28 August 2007 - 05:52 PM

View Postteflon, on August 28th 2007, 06:25 PM, said:

let us know how the performance is, and more importantly of any issues you have with excessive load times, processes still running after the game has been quite (cider_nuoi was one i believe).
Well it played like a dream. I had it on 1440x900 resolution with mostly medium settings, some things on high (model detail, a few others that escape me). No framerate issues or slowdowns at all. It did take a long time to launch (2-3 minutes as has been reported), but once it launches it's quite snappy. 15-20 second load times on missions, which is right about how long it takes to read the text briefing that displays on the load screen.

I only played through the first two GDI missions. I'll get back to it after I watch my Yanks beat up on the Sawx.  :D
DoreanGrae

MacBook Pro 15.4" 2.16 GHz Core 2 Duo, 2 GB RAM, X1600, OS 10.4.10
8GB iPhone

#16 myamid

myamid

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Location:Montreal, QC

Posted 28 August 2007 - 09:25 PM

Well I've been playing a little more... and yeah, once in a while (not everytime), wineserver process fails to quit when I exit the game, which causes the main App to stay open eating up 50% of both CPU cores...  slightly annoying ;)

Now, for load times, opening the game is a biatch... as others have said it takes between 1-3 minutes (haven't timed it), once in the game however, the only thing I noticed was that the menus were alittle sluggish at first but they speed up after you started using the interface.

Level load times are quite decent...  not snappy by any means, but nothing worse that other RTS games.

Stability wise I'm actually quite impressed... the game hasn't crashed on me once!! (which is more than I can say for other AAA titles from the past few years).

Overall I'd say it's a decent port (if you can call it that).  If EA & transgaming keep tweaking the game and Cider over time, then I'll be a happy camper, but I'm far from disappointed as it is.  I may be a pessimist, but i was expecting worse ;)

#17 DoreanGrae

DoreanGrae

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts

Posted 29 August 2007 - 08:24 AM

Anybody figure out how to do the patch? They're all .exe.
DoreanGrae

MacBook Pro 15.4" 2.16 GHz Core 2 Duo, 2 GB RAM, X1600, OS 10.4.10
8GB iPhone

#18 atari

atari

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 243 posts
  • Location:Vienna,Austria

Posted 29 August 2007 - 08:50 AM

View PostDoreanGrae, on August 29th 2007, 01:52 AM, said:

Well it played like a dream. I had it on 1440x900 resolution with mostly medium settings, some things on high (model detail, a few others that escape me). No framerate issues or slowdowns at all. It did take a long time to launch (2-3 minutes as has been reported), but once it launches it's quite snappy. 15-20 second load times on missions, which is right about how long it takes to read the text briefing that displays on the load screen.

I only played through the first two GDI missions. I'll get back to it after I watch my Yanks beat up on the Sawx.  :D

Thanks for your report,planning to pick it up once it is actually AVAILABLE. :)
27 inch quad beastie ordered :)

#19 DoreanGrae

DoreanGrae

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts

Posted 29 August 2007 - 10:29 AM

View Postatari, on August 29th 2007, 10:50 AM, said:

Thanks for your report,planning to pick it up once it is actually AVAILABLE. :)
It is available. I picked it up at Apple 5th Ave yesterday.
DoreanGrae

MacBook Pro 15.4" 2.16 GHz Core 2 Duo, 2 GB RAM, X1600, OS 10.4.10
8GB iPhone

#20 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 29 August 2007 - 10:59 AM

dude, hes in austria, vienna... same place as where im half from. though ive not been back there for a few years.

these games are only out in north america so far.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor