Jump to content


Moving Files or Folder Between the Windows HD and Mac HD...


  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#21 archermitch

archermitch

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 728 posts
  • Location:California

Posted 26 August 2007 - 04:08 PM

So how do I move the files  now? Where do I put the folder I want moved, in the Windows HD? I can't find it when I put it in Program Files. Am I not looking hard enough?
Mac Tip of the Day is a podcast, blog, archive, e-mail subscription, etc. of for clever mac tip every day!
Also check out Mac Tip of the Day for the Iphone

Click Here and join Gamefly!

Current Comp:
Intel Mac Mini OS 10.4.10
1.66 GHz Intel Core Duo
2 GB DDR2 SDRAM

Correct me if I'm wrong. It happens often.

#22 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 26 August 2007 - 06:16 PM

um... it should be ending up where you put it...

try creating a new folder beginning in a 1 on the root level of the windows HD... that way you should be able to find it pretty easily.

alternatively find the route to the desktop and drop things there...
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#23 archermitch

archermitch

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 728 posts
  • Location:California

Posted 03 September 2007 - 08:44 AM

View Postteflon, on August 24th 2007, 12:43 PM, said:

nothing i can think of. FAT32 is really the way to go for something 32Gb or under...

just make sure youve got the right size partition from the outset, cos if you need to change it, then youre going to have to start all over again...
geez... And here I am, with no enough space. I have 10GB on my Wiindows partition. The next option is 32 GB. Why is there such a big gap? I can't even install a demo without running out of disc space. Any tips? Archives, installing into Mac HD...?
Mac Tip of the Day is a podcast, blog, archive, e-mail subscription, etc. of for clever mac tip every day!
Also check out Mac Tip of the Day for the Iphone

Click Here and join Gamefly!

Current Comp:
Intel Mac Mini OS 10.4.10
1.66 GHz Intel Core Duo
2 GB DDR2 SDRAM

Correct me if I'm wrong. It happens often.

#24 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 03 September 2007 - 09:12 AM

those are just the default options... you can drag the slider around and set as much as you want really...

i did tell you to make sure...

ok, so um... i would.... either start over again, or get an external HDD, or use a little program called MacDrive which allows you to read HFS+ in windows.. unfortunately, all bar the first suggestion cost money.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#25 archermitch

archermitch

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 728 posts
  • Location:California

Posted 03 September 2007 - 09:43 AM

I know you can drag it around. I took that into account. It still stops you at 10 GB. Am I wrong? (hopefully yes...)I didn't expect the os and the games to be so big.
Mac Tip of the Day is a podcast, blog, archive, e-mail subscription, etc. of for clever mac tip every day!
Also check out Mac Tip of the Day for the Iphone

Click Here and join Gamefly!

Current Comp:
Intel Mac Mini OS 10.4.10
1.66 GHz Intel Core Duo
2 GB DDR2 SDRAM

Correct me if I'm wrong. It happens often.

#26 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 03 September 2007 - 05:57 PM

the minimum would be 10Gb, yes, so that you can install the OS, have a small number of files and still have a bit of space left over for the swap...
then the maximum for FAT32 is 32, and that too is a default option so that you can drag and drop from OSX to the windows drive with minimum hassle.
but aside from that, drag it around to get your desired size. personally i have 120Gb for OSX and 28Gb for XP, and now an external HDD with 160 Gb in FAT32 (windows artificially limits you to 32Gb) which i can use in both.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#27 archermitch

archermitch

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 728 posts
  • Location:California

Posted 03 September 2007 - 06:29 PM

Wow! you have a lot of space! I have a 500gb hd, but it works over the wifi, which means everything is slower... and with my integrated graphics I can't  take any performance hits...
Mac Tip of the Day is a podcast, blog, archive, e-mail subscription, etc. of for clever mac tip every day!
Also check out Mac Tip of the Day for the Iphone

Click Here and join Gamefly!

Current Comp:
Intel Mac Mini OS 10.4.10
1.66 GHz Intel Core Duo
2 GB DDR2 SDRAM

Correct me if I'm wrong. It happens often.

#28 archermitch

archermitch

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 728 posts
  • Location:California

Posted 03 September 2007 - 06:59 PM

Awww.... Found why it limited me to 10gb. Because I didn't have enough space for my Mac HD. So I just needed to clear up some space on my mac hd for my windows hd...
Mac Tip of the Day is a podcast, blog, archive, e-mail subscription, etc. of for clever mac tip every day!
Also check out Mac Tip of the Day for the Iphone

Click Here and join Gamefly!

Current Comp:
Intel Mac Mini OS 10.4.10
1.66 GHz Intel Core Duo
2 GB DDR2 SDRAM

Correct me if I'm wrong. It happens often.

#29 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 04 September 2007 - 03:29 AM

ah, thats makes sense....

how big is your HDD in the first place? you could consider upgrading it for very little.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#30 archermitch

archermitch

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 728 posts
  • Location:California

Posted 04 September 2007 - 08:26 AM

Well, I have a Mac Mini... and ever  since I upgraded the RAM, I vowed never to open my Mac up again...
Mac Tip of the Day is a podcast, blog, archive, e-mail subscription, etc. of for clever mac tip every day!
Also check out Mac Tip of the Day for the Iphone

Click Here and join Gamefly!

Current Comp:
Intel Mac Mini OS 10.4.10
1.66 GHz Intel Core Duo
2 GB DDR2 SDRAM

Correct me if I'm wrong. It happens often.

#31 Huntn

Huntn

    Verbal Windbag

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4074 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 30 October 2007 - 06:32 AM

View Postteflon, on August 24th 2007, 02:43 PM, said:

nothing i can think of. FAT32 is really the way to go for something 32Gb or under...

just make sure youve got the right size partition from the outset, cos if you need to change it, then youre going to have to start all over again...

My wife will be playing 2nd tier mystery games like Scratches (approx 500MB install size) on her MacBook so I'm thinking that a 32MB partition will do the job.

#32 Huntn

Huntn

    Verbal Windbag

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4074 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 31 October 2007 - 11:15 AM

This may have all ready been mentioned somewhere, but I want to verify for Windows running on your Intel Mac, that if you download a file to your Mac partition, Windows should be able to see the partition, the file, and read and write to it?

I've not done it lately, but as I recall my Windows box can see my Mac on the network. But for some reason when I upgraded to XP (from Win98) I lost the ability for my Mac to see my Windows box.
Thanks!

#33 bobbob

bobbob

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3347 posts

Posted 31 October 2007 - 04:33 PM

View PostHuntn, on October 31st 2007, 10:15 AM, said:

if you download a file to your Mac partition, Windows should be able to see the partition, the file, and read and write to it?
You'd need MacDrive to do that. You could use FUSE/NTFS3g to download it to the Windows partition.

#34 Huntn

Huntn

    Verbal Windbag

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4074 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 01 November 2007 - 07:51 PM

View Postbobbob, on October 31st 2007, 05:33 PM, said:

You'd need MacDrive to do that. You could use FUSE/NTFS3g to download it to the Windows partition.

I need to check my network again. I could swear running XP, I could see my Mac drives and connect to them without any 3rd party software, but obviously it's been a while. Thanks for the pointer at MacDrive!

#35 bobbob

bobbob

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3347 posts

Posted 01 November 2007 - 09:54 PM

View PostHuntn, on November 1st 2007, 06:51 PM, said:

I need to check my network again. I could swear running XP, I could see my Mac drives and connect to them without any 3rd party software
I was talking about Windows being able to mount your Mac partition, not network shares. Those should still work, I think.

#36 Huntn

Huntn

    Verbal Windbag

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4074 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 02 November 2007 - 07:12 AM

View Postbobbob, on November 1st 2007, 10:54 PM, said:

I was talking about Windows being able to mount your Mac partition, not network shares. Those should still work, I think.

On a Windows capable Mac, let's say your going to download a PC demo and you do that within the MacOS. Then you boot into Windows and it can see this file, could you launch the file and install it into your Windows partition? Or maybe it's a situation where you download stuff to your Mac partition for storage, but when you want to install it you copy over to your Windows partition, install it, then erase the install file on the Windows side? My goal it to keep my Windows partition of minimal size.
Thanks!

#37 Dark_Archon

Dark_Archon

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1792 posts
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Posted 02 November 2007 - 08:00 AM

View Postbobbob, on October 31st 2007, 06:33 PM, said:

You'd need MacDrive to do that. You could use FUSE/NTFS3g to download it to the Windows partition.

I've been using MacFUSE with NTFS-3G, but it seems to work intermittently. It often just won't mount the partition no matter what I do while other times it works fine. The data transfer rates are also pretty bad.
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 7 GB RAM SONY DW-D150A SuperDrive

#38 bobbob

bobbob

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3347 posts

Posted 02 November 2007 - 11:51 AM

View PostHuntn, on November 2nd 2007, 06:12 AM, said:

could you launch the file and install it into your Windows partition?
Yes. If the Mac partition can be mounted.

#39 Huntn

Huntn

    Verbal Windbag

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4074 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 03 November 2007 - 06:05 AM

I've got Vista installed on my MBP and it definitely does not see the Mac partition. So the solution becomes find a Windows program allowing it to see the Mac drive or a Mac program that allows it to write to the Windows drive.

#40 bobbob

bobbob

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3347 posts

Posted 04 November 2007 - 04:02 PM

View PostHuntn, on November 3rd 2007, 06:05 AM, said:

I've got Vista installed on my MBP and it definitely does not see the Mac partition. So the solution becomes find a Windows program allowing it to see the Mac drive or a Mac program that allows it to write to the Windows drive.

MacDrive or FUSE/NTFS3g...?